Tabouli - My New Favourite Salad

0 11
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Just the weekend I have been very blessed to try this salad that I have never tried before in my life - Tabouli, a middle eastern salad that me and my friends tried out during a small outdoor cooking gathering.

Ever since Covid-19 struck with all the S.O.P (Standard Operation Procedures) of minimal human contact, I was very blessed to have enjoyed a good meal with friends I have not seen in months; some even for almost 2 years.

And to top it all, this dish!

I actually shamelessly asked to take home some for my parents to try when there was leftover, and today I still get to have them for breakfast!

What makes a Taboli?

So I checked through the internet and found these were the crucial ingredients:

  • Bulgur

  • Flat-leafed parsley

  • Tomatoes

  • Scallions

  • Lemon juice

  • Salt and pepper

  • Olive oil

This is totally vegan, but it is not gluten free though.

For my elderly parents who have some gluten sensitive, I might replace Bulgur with Quinoa or Brown Rice. This would have pretty much turn it into a gluten free vegan dish as well.

So what are the measurements for the recipe?

Bulgur : Lemon Juice : Olive oil is 0.75:0.5:0.5 or 1.5:1:1 ratio

I feel this is the base ratio that we need to look into, and add the rest of the greens like finely chopped parsley and scallions (you can add red onions too) with Tomatoes.

Salt and pepper is to taste. Some might not like the peppery taste for zero spice tolerant; but basically I believe it is quite a simple dish to prepare.

I have a friend who could devour an entire bowl of Tabouli, and I think this is a great low carb substitute, especially for quinoa seeds it will become Keto friendly diet.

What do you think?

Have you tried Tabouli before? Would you try to make this dish as a different salad added to your family meal?

3
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of littlenewthings
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for littlenewthings
3 years ago

Comments