Asparagus soup

9 40
Avatar for lea965
Written by
3 years ago

It’s asparagus season and I can’t get enough of it. Frying asparagus brings the best. The tips become a little crunchy in the oven, which I love, and the taste is more concentrated than it would be if you steamed or stewed it.

Baked asparagus is the perfect spring side dish, either for brunch or dinner. As a bonus, it’s easy to toss together while your main course is cooking on the stove.

You can keep fried asparagus as simple as you want. Below is a basic recipe, plus ideas for changing spices!

Our cook Love Love Food has arrived! Get your copy of thisLove Real Food

It’s asparagus season and I can’t get enough of it. Frying asparagus brings the best. The tips become a little crunchy in the oven, which I love, and the taste is more concentrated than it would be if you steamed or stewed it.

Baked asparagus is the perfect spring side dish, either for brunch or dinner. As a bonus, it’s easy to toss together while your main course is cooking on the stove.

how to store asparagus and how to tear off woody ends

For these photos, I garnished the asparagus with lemon, mint, red pepper flakes and the lightest parmesan razor.

You can keep fried asparagus as simple as you want. Below is a basic recipe, plus ideas for changing spices!

asparagus prepared for roasting

How to store asparagus

Pro tip: Put the asparagus in a thick-bottomed jar or drinking glass when you get home and add a few inches of water. You can put a plastic bag on top to keep maximum freshness.

Then store these asparagus in the refrigerator. This way it will stay cool for a few days longer!

How to prepare asparagus

The ends of the asparagus can be uncomfortably tough and woody. To remove these parts, bend the asparagus sharply near the base.

The asparagus will crack in the right place. I think this would be a fun evening project for the kids.

How to bake asparagus

Baking asparagus is super easy and fast! Simply pour the prepared asparagus with a light drop of olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. I like to do this on a large baking sheet in frames (associated link) lined with parchment paper for easier cleaning.

Bake until the asparagus is easily pierced with a fork, which will vary depending on the thickness of the asparagus. Pencil-thin asparagus, like the one shown here, will be done in just 10 minutes. Thick asparagus will take between 15 and 20 minutes. You will find all these details in the recipe below.

Our cook Love Love Food has arrived! Get your copy of thisLove Real Food

Perfect roasted asparagus

It’s asparagus season and I can’t get enough of it. Frying asparagus brings the best. The tips become a little crunchy in the oven, which I love, and the taste is more concentrated than it would be if you steamed or stewed it.

Baked asparagus is the perfect spring side dish, either for brunch or dinner. As a bonus, it’s easy to toss together while your main course is cooking on the stove.

how to store asparagus and how to tear off woody ends

For these photos, I garnished the asparagus with lemon, mint, red pepper flakes and the lightest parmesan razor.

You can keep fried asparagus as simple as you want. Below is a basic recipe, plus ideas for changing spices!

asparagus prepared for roasting

How to store asparagus

Pro tip: Put the asparagus in a thick-bottomed jar or drinking glass when you get home and add a few inches of water. You can put a plastic bag on top to keep maximum freshness.

Then store these asparagus in the refrigerator. This way it will stay cool for a few days longer!

How to prepare asparagus

The ends of the asparagus can be uncomfortably tough and woody. To remove these parts, bend the asparagus sharply near the base.

The asparagus will crack in the right place. I think this would be a fun evening project for the kids.

Preparation of asparagus soup - recipe

Start by melting the butter in a large pot. Add onion and garlic.

Melt the butter in a large saucepan.

Add garlic and onion.

Cook for about five minutes.

Trim the asparagus and slice and add salt and pepper.

Cook for about 20 minutes.

Mix the soup in portions in a blender.

Add back to the pot, add the lemon juice and grated cheese.

7
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Avatar for lea965
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I see asparagus, I don't dare to buy it, I'll just buy and prepare them, I hope it's a delicious soup.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried this soup, it is very tasty. Unfortunately, we do not have all the groceries we need to store it often

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks lovely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes asparagus is wonderful when ready to try

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've never tried asparagus! Like I always see it in the shop but since I don't know what to do with it or how do you eat it then I never really bother. But there are times that I want to go just put it in the cart and try but I didn't. After reading this I will surely buy asparagus on my shopping day and have it for our dinner! Gotta surprised my family for a new menu! 🥰 Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's never too late to try something new to cook, we just need to be a little imaginative and here's a wonderful recipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've never eaten asparagus, I'll have to try it, you gave me a great idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I tried it once, they are delicious, but they are also quite expensive, so it would be good to plant them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Asparagus is great, but I don't have a habit to prepare it so often. You gave me idea for some future meals.

$ 0.00
3 years ago