A Hero in You.

10 33
Avatar for ladyhanabi
3 years ago

Hello everyone, today I , @ladyhanabi will be sharing you my thoughts regarding the making of heroes.

Let's start by defining a hero.

What is a HERO?

The mind is built up from the instruction of the DNA just as surely the body is. Since each person has different blueprints hence each one of us has different minds. It is true that we all have different perceptions, ideology and definition of a certain thing. Just like the term “hero”, it is defined in accordance with the principles and concepts that a certain person is practicing in his life.  

For Christians, they see heroes in accordance to the terms of God in Romans 15:12 which states that We who are strong ought to bear with the failings of the weak and not to please ourselves. Each of us should please our neighbors for their good, to build them up.” This verse describes the different characteristics of what heroism should be. First, helping those who are in need. Second, buttressing the weaknesses of others with our strengths and vice versa. Lastly, contributing to the welfare of neighbors. To sum it up, for the believers of Christ, a hero means being a helper, supporter and friend.

For Historians, heroes are those who act voluntarily in service to others or in defense of an ideal. Moreover, heroes act even knowing they’d risk their own health, reputation, as much as their lives without expecting of anything in return. In line with this, heroes are those who make their own mark to the people and be an inspiration to the present and future generation.

For Government Administrators, a hero is someone who would seek for the attainment of the common good, serving with one’s good will, integrity, compassion, excellence, orthodoxy and most especially serving with clear conscience is the key for a good leadership that would result to transformation of more efficient instrument in bringing about social, economic, and political reforms for the country. In general, a hero is an agent for social change.

For Environmentalists, a hero is someone who would make movements for the welfare of the Globe. Additionally, a hero is someone that is raising his voice for the earth, someone that is speaking in behalf of the planet despite the billions of people who considers earth as their home yet chooses to ignore it.

As a Filipino Citizen and a student, I would define a hero as someone who is morally upright, patriotic, and someone who did make an impact in my life and made me think, act and be the person that I am today. Considering all the definitions of a hero that I have emphasize above are simply my kind of a hero. I believe that anyone could be a hero, a friend could be a life saver, and you can be a life changer.

Next, we have to consider the personality if we are qualified of becoming heroes.

DEFINITION OF THE TERM PERSONALITY

Since everyone is different in their own ways, everyone’s unique. We can usually observe people’s personality in the clothes they wear, or how they look after their things or even how they behave with other people. Contemplating with what is the meaning of personality listed below are some definitions from different sources.

Conferring to the Britannica Encyclopedia (2019) personality is defined as a characteristic way of thinking, feeling and behaving. Furthermore, it embraces moods, attitudes, and opinions that is most clearly expressed in interactions with other people.

American Psychological Association referred personality as individual indifferences in characteristics, patterns of thinking, behaving and feeling.

According to Theil (2019) personality is what characterizes a person. Personality hardly changes and it is divided into different components and characteristics. Personality is something that is always present that affects our way of thinking, feeling and behaving.

On the authority of Randy Larsen and David Buss, American Psychologists stated that personality is a stable, organized collection of psychological traits and mechanisms in the human being that influences his or her interactions with and modifications to the psychological, social and physical environment surrounding them.

As defined by the Meriam Webster Dictionary, personality is the quality or state of being a person. It is a condition or fact of relating to a particular person.

Now, let us discuss about the factors which influence the development of an individual’s personality.

Psychology explains that there are top three factors affecting personality development.

A. Biological Factors

This includes genetic, heredity factors, physical appearance and physique and rate maturation.

B. Cultural Determinants of Personality

The most significant in these factors is his social environment. All human beings live in a society, an interacting group of people and each society has a distinctive culture, a body of stored knowledge, characteristic way of thinking, feeling, attitudes, goals, ideals and value system.

C. Family Influences

Socialization all started from the immediate environment and gradually from the wide range of extended environments.

I will be giving you an example of the different factors which have influenced the shaping of my own personality.

The Culture and family have greatly influenced me with my personality. Mainly my communicating skills and how I make decisions in life. I tend to always be formal, say only what’s necessary especially to the people that I barely know. Being rational at all times has been my habit but I somehow find it a flaw in myself since I tend not to feel the moment because I always ought to think of the future.

DESCRIBE YOURSELF. See if you are an ideal citizen and if you are to be considered a hero.

Describing other’s personality is easier than describing your own self. In my understanding of myself, I am emotionally reactive, which means that I experience my emotions strongly and can be very passionate however I tend to be exposed to so much anxiety, anger and depression.  I have this attitude that I don’t just talk to anyone if I am not being addressed. I choose to be independent and reserve. Due to this, I am perceived as arrogant, unfriendly and intimidating for other people. In terms of making decisions, I always consider the future because I believe that whatever that is happening today has an equal load in the future. I prefer facts over fiction and security and stability over ambiguity and disorder.  

ASSES YOURSELF.

Do you see a need for improvement in your personality?

I believe that there must be always a room for improvement. As stated in my above answers that I somehow find it a ‘flaw’ whenever I think too much of my future that I tend to forget that I must enjoy present because this is the reality and everything is changing and that includes me and my personality.

I resolve that:

Present realities truly made difference in the making of heroes. As I asses and describe myself I determined that I should acknowledge a room for improvement to my personality in order to achieve the best version that I could be. Being a hero is way too high when you base on the standards on becoming one, but being an inspiration to any other ordinary citizens, being morally upright, and being the best that you could be is not that difficult to achieve.

REFERENCES:

American Psychological Association, Inc (2019). PERSONALITY. [Web log post]. Retrieve on October 27, 2019 from https://www.apa.org/topics/personality/

Bradley, A. (2016, November 11). We Need True Heroes More Than Ever. So How Does the Bible Define A Hero? Retrieved October 27, 2019, from https://tifwe.org/how-the-bible-defines-a-hero/

Geduld, M. (2019, March 19). Why are there different people with different minds? [Web log post]. Retrieved on October 27, 2019, from https://www.quora.com/Why-do-we-have-different-perspectives

Gutierrez, HG. (2019). MODERN TRENDS OF PERSONALITY. Encyclopedia. Retrieved on October 27, 2019 from, https://www.britannica.com/topic/personality/Modern-trends-in-personality-studies

Meriam Webster Dictionary (2019). Personality. Retrieved on October 27, 2019 from, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/personality

Palafox, QJ. (2012, December 29). RIZAL’S COGENT LEADERSHIP THOUGHT AS MODEL IN PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION. Retrieved on October 25, 2019 from,       

http://nhcp.gov.ph/rizals-cogent-leadership-thought-as-a-model-in-public-administration/

Walsh, B. (2007, October 17). Heroes of the Environment. Retrieved on October 24, 2019 from, http://content.time.com/time/specials/2007/article/0,28804,1663317_1672378_1672379,00.html

Wonderopolis. (2019). Who’s Your Historical Hero. [Web log post] Retrieved on October 27, 2019 from,   https://www.wonderopolis.org/wonder/whos-your-historical-hero

 

I hope this article would help you assess yourself and see the beauty of becoming an idol for everyone.

Special thanks to the person who encouraged me to join @Read.Cash , @Eymteen I am wishing more ink to your pen!

Also to my dearest sponsor @dexter , I will be doing my best to deserve your support.

If you love this article, don't forget to hit LIKE.

COMMENT below your thoughts regarding this article. (Comment to sub back)

SUBSCRIBE if you want more of my articles.

Sponsors of ladyhanabi
empty
empty
empty

Sponsors of ladyhanabi
empty
empty
empty

10
$ 0.00
Avatar for ladyhanabi
3 years ago

Comments

I remember the topic we discussed in Life and works of rizal hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yan talaga yon hahahhahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amo nga hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article and good job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. Subscribe to be updated with my next articles. thank youuu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok no problem. 👌👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Way to go dear! Keep it up😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow very informative. 😍 i hope more people will be reached by this article. I think this is a good motivation for everyone to assess their personality so that they'll be aware of what part of it still needs improvement. I'm so glad you're enjoying your stay here. I'm looking forward to seeing you succeed here on read.cash. Continue to write more quality articles and keep inspiring people. See you soon(est) 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for the support. I'm glad you enjoyed the content of this article. Let's succeed together here in read cash, if not for your encouragement I would not be here. See you sooooon!

$ 0.00
3 years ago