Path to Freelance or Not

2 40
Avatar for ladyanneclare
1 year ago

I’m currently at a very interesting point in my life, regarding career but also personally. So much has changed the way I live and do life and it’s easy to get caught up in the what ifs. Let me give you a slight catch up to how I’ve gotten to where I am professionally.

For about the past two months, I have been working at a new freelance job. My schedule has changed, I wake up earlier than I’m use to and have to go to bed earlier. Before this gig, I was a night owl. As it’s freelance, the job has an end time at some point and then I’m out to look for more gigs. It’s a new lifestyle I’m not use to. But I took a look at my curriculum vitae to update it and realized that I have been on this road for eight months! That’s practically almost a year. It amazes me that I have been able to sustain this interesting and at times intense lifestyle of feast or famine. I had to really give myself a moment and realize how proud of myself I was. It really felt like jumping off a cliff, from the safety of a secure full-time job that comes with benefits. But so far so good, I’ve been able to sustain myself and I have to say that the happier times have outweighed the sad times that came with being a full-time employee.

If you are curious about the joy I’m describing, here is where I ceremoniously announced quitting my last full-time job, memorializing it and all my cascading emotions. Describing the disappointment and the entire mental and emotional states of mind I was in.

I was given the news that my current gig is ending and I went into a bit of a tailspin. I suppose I had gotten into a routine and very use to being here after quite a bit of time, and there’s a bit of rejection and bruised ego going on. After pouting and going through some dark moments, I was able to come around the bend of my mental frustrations and get into action for my next gig. It was imperative I put on a professional attitude regarding moving forward to my next assignment.

I put out several emails and applied to a variety of positions. So far I have had one interview, set up a introduction call and an interview call for next week, and had great feedback for another gig and that my information would be sent to the senior people in charge. It feels great. I’m reminded that it’s possible and that I can do this if I just continue doing the tasks and work necessary to support my lifestyle and responsibilities.

I would say looking back on this journey, what really was a huge help was starting out with one company that has continued to reach out to offer me work. During my downtime, I continued to look for more opportunities and hopefully I’ll just build from there to finally discover what I want to be when I grow up.

Any others on this freelancer path or a part of the gig economy? What is your ultimate goal? Would love to hear other’s experiences.

3
$ 4.90
$ 4.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ladyanneclare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ladyanneclare
1 year ago

Comments

I hope you get a better and lasting job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you @Faa_day. I'm sure it's not long until I get something. Power of positive thinking.

$ 0.00
1 year ago