Living With My In Laws

3 32
Avatar for kinchai
3 years ago

I've been married 20 years now, and for the most part, I've been content with the life I've had. One thing is my bane, I can say, is that for all this time I've been living with my in-laws.

In our house, there's a total of 12 people. My mother-in-law, my unmarried sister-in-law, my husband's nephew who's around 22 years old now. My other sister-in-law, her husband and 2 kids (22 and 20 yrs old, girl and boy) and my own family. My husband, myself and our two children. Plus an overall helper who's their distant cousin. so you can imagine the chaos our house is generally always in, factor in 2 dogs and 2 cats, so the house is always in disarray.

I don't have nightmares over my in-laws. They are generally good people and we tolerate each other well, but as we are but human, there are times when a difference of opinion occurs and we don't have a shout fest or anything like that, mainly because I really don't answer back when they push their opinions on me. I tend to stay quiet and just let them voice out their opinion regardless of how different they are from mine. The thing with them is, you're only right when you're on their side, if not, then regardless, you are wrong. So I tend not to argue with them and just keep my opinion to myself. But yeah, it simmers and boils inside me until I'm about ready to burst. I know I can't say anything because that will mean war. You know what I mean, so I will just cry and let the tears carry away my hurt. I realize now that those things can be a heavy baggage to carry. For 20 years, I have carried it with me. Having no opinion, having no voice in any matter. Having to have everyone else approve of any plans before I can push through with anything. It is indeed a heavy baggage, especially for someone like me who's well opinionated in a lot of things.

Anyways, living with my in-laws although not an easy street to manage has given me a lot of lessons and even though, my plans have adjusted now, to include leaving this house which I've made my home for 20 years instead of just renovating our space within, I am thankful for the opportunity to grow because of them.

The opportunity to mature and learn to handle my emotions and expand my understanding for those who do not share nor agree with my thoughts and opinions. I will forever be thankful for the chance to expand my self by holding on to my temper when things don't go towards the direction I hope. I choose to look at things in a different angle and just learn to be grateful for the life I have lived here and for the lessons I have learned. But I am also honest enough to admit that it will be a wonderful goodbye when I finally bid adieu to this house I can never call home.

7
$ 0.28
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
Avatar for kinchai
3 years ago

Comments

Dear,really good family you have.. Good and appreciate you... One thing I advice write about #bitcoincash also💟

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The situation you are going through is really difficult. And to think that you've been going through it for 20 years, it's too long. Children go through situations that are difficult to erase, such as realizing that their parents are not the ones who set the rules of the home. And it is also admirable that you have so many years repressing your true feelings to favor others. I wish you to be able to get out of all that burden you carry inside you.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Indeed. Thank you for your vote of confidence. I feel the same, hopefully I can get out this situation soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago