Papa Mai's Grill in Iligan City

8 97
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

I studied and worked in Iligan City for almost a decade, but I was able to taste the liempo of Papa Mai's Grill probably a month or two before I flew to Cebu City for my board exam review. My friend, Glen, was surprised to know I haven't eaten there. He was passionate about convincing me and my boyfriend that the two rides from the university were all worth it because the liempo was delectable. And so, we had our dinner in the liempo house.

When he asked me if I'll have double rice, I immediately responded one only. He laughed at me since he knew I'm a big eater, and then he told me that he was pretty sure I need extra rice. He was right. I added another rice because munching the liempo alone, without rice, felt odd. From one rice, I devoured three.

Before my flight, I was able to eat twice only. I tasted some in Cebu City and even here in Cavite, but my tongue always sought the taste of the liempo in Iligan City. It took me two years and eight months to eat it again. I went home last December 2021, but unfortunately, after three times going there, the store is always closed. When I went back home again, May 4-12, the store was open, finally!


Papa Mai's Grill is situated in Tubod, Iligan City, just a few-minute walk from Robinsons Place. The store is open-air, where you can enjoy the smell of the grilled pork while you wait for the order.


I arrived in Iligan City at past midnight. Morning came, and my high school classmate, Sheim, called me and said, "Where are you? Have lunch with me, and then treat me.". He wanted me to treat him in one of the restaurants in Robinsons Place, but my craving was strong, and told him I wanted to eat in Papa Mais. He was hesitant because he liked an airconditioned store - it was noon, no wonder it was hot.

When we arrived, I was ecstatic that it was not yet crowded. The store is not only selling the popular Liempo (Lechon Belly), but it also sells grilled Ilogon (Pork intestine) and Atay (Pork liver, not the cursed word hehe). They also offer soup and other viands. One of the popular viands is the Papait - composed of cow or goat innards.

I ordered 1/2 liempo, five rice, and three mountain dew. It's good for the three person, Antoni was with us. Sheim wanted Ilogon and Papait, but sadly, it was unavailable already. The two boys were at the table while I ordered the food. The cashier immediately served the rice and soft drinks.

After that, I went straight to the table and Sheim commented that it was crystal clear that I haven't been in Papa Mai's for a very long time because I didn't go to the grilling area, where I give the number and then have my ordered liempo. I even forgot that there was a free soup (sinigang) and a sauce for the liempo.

I was beyond excited as I watched the staff chop the liempo. I could hear and see how crispy the skin was and how juicy the meat was. When eating, it is best paired with the specially made Suka ni Papa Mai's (sauce/vinegar). Dipping the chopped liempo into the suka is definitely match-made. The spiciness was perfect for my taste, but the chili was given in case of an extra level of spiciness is needed. Though I love Suka Pinakurat of Iligan City, the suka of Papa Mai's is something else, too. Some would even mix the suka with soy sauce and calamansi extract before they dipped the liempo.


Papa Mai's opens from Monday to Sunday from 7:30 AM to 7:30 PM. However, it is best to eat there at lunch or have an early dinner to avoid being sold-out. As mentioned, Atay, Papait, and Ilogon were unavailable already and it was still noon at that time.


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me: Noise • Steemit •  Hive • Blurt • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

5
$ 4.06
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @itsmeCguro
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

ayee welcome back..daghan kaau backlogs for sure hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe salamat dai. Daghan jud kaayo dai, naglibug ko unsay unahon. Mura na rabag nakalimot ko unsaon pagsulat ug travel blog, jusmiyo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

t dai. Daghan jud kaayo dai, naglibug ko unsay unahon. Mura na rabag nakalimot ko unsaon pagsulat ug travel blog, ju

hahha aja dai

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aoooo, after seeing all these pictures I am eager to eat something and also I will order mountain dew

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully, you did buy and eat something after seeing/reading the article. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy I love liempo!!! And I haven't tried Papa Mai's yet. It's now included on my list!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nasa Iligan City palang ang Papa Mai's. But Iligan City is dubbed as the City of Waterfalls in the PH, kaya if mahilig ka sa chasing waterfalls, dito talaga sa Iligan City then kain ka narin diyan sa Papa Mai's. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhhh, sama ko yan sa bucketlist! 🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago