Invested, Disappointed, Motivated in Less Than a Month

7 46
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Work, Career, Memories, ...

All this time, my eyes have been set on finances, but when my sister, the second in the family, graduated from college in July this year, that was when the fire started to ignite. It is one of my goals to help my sisters finish their studies, and now that my two college sisters are down to one now, I've decided to do something for my career.

I started looking for jobs and went to interviews, but then I decided to stop it in the meantime. I stopped my job hunting quest for a greener pasture when my team leader resigned. His request to the management was to transfer me to the team more involved in electronics, specifically firmware.

Honestly, I got hyped about it. I've been praying for career growth since I achieved and got my license. After years of working, it is my first time wanting to achieve something in my career. I didn't even mind if my salary rate will downgrade as long as I'll achieve the career growth I've been yearning for, then it's good enough for me. Well, frankly, a salary that is good enough to send my sister to school.

It hasn't been a month since the transition ended. I can already feel the growth I've been wanting, but it's not inclined with electronics that much. It is more of web development and multiple repository and branch management. The only electronics that my job position is tackling is the documentation side - datasheet, manual, tutorials, stuff like that.

The initial plan of giving me a more technical role has been put aside since the workload of two is given to one. I am juggling with reading and checking raw documents, pull requests, and articles, fixing errors and conflicts, and communicating with almost everyone - the graphics team, engineers, marketing team, and even to the CEO. I am thrilled to be busy and needed.

When I received the news that someone will replace my role and I'll be transferred to the ECE team, it pumped my excitement. I was determined to start with the transitioning already so I even created an onboarding guide starting from installation. Then, this week, I received a contract and it contradicts the initial plan, more so, my expectation. Everything went downhill. I messaged my direct supervisor immediately and also asked HR both in China and the Philippines.

I do get the point with the delay but it's quite disheartening since my hopes are high. I slept early that night. The next day, the same feeling was heightened because of the response I received. I thought so hard about it. I cried, feeling heartbroken. Then I consulted Antoni. We had a good talk. After that talk, I decided to sign the contract as a team lead and emailed it back to HR at 1:00 AM. I even added to disregard my questions earlier.

I hope the growth I am experiencing at work right now will continue. I still have a long way to go, but I will brisk walk or maybe run if that is what it takes to catch up.

My September is like a rollercoaster of emotion. Nonetheless, I learn something from this ride:

  • Never set your expectation unless it has been sealed.

  • Plan from A to Z, it helps.

  • Cry, then stand again.

  • Look on the brighter side.

  • Wait, but keep swimming.

I know everything has a purpose. I may be confused now, but later on, I'll reach where I am supposed to be. My plans seem like the better plan, but God's plan will always be the best. I'll trust Him and accept whatever He will give me as of now.


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect with me here: Noise • Hive • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

7
$ 1.86
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
+ 2
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Experience, Work, Career, Memories, ...

Comments

Laban lang, Kneel. Sometimes I want to cry too because of pressure and stress but I always remind myself na kaya ko to. All the best, Kneel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Ji. Laban lang tayo nito!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aja dai! mao ni tong sa cebu na company? homebased lang japon?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kani ako work dai? Homebased ni dai pero dili ni sa cebu na company man dai.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True Yan sis. isipin mo nalang na God has a better plan for you ❤️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Oo nga sis eh. May darating pa talaga na mas magandang blessing. Soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True iyan Kaya trust His plan for you

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago