What I did on Valentines Day

9 42
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago

Every year, since the day I decided to become a home baker, I never kept myself idle in some occasions. Birthdays, Christmas, New Year and Valentines day or even regular days. I always think of different baked goods to sell.

Few weeks before the day of hearts I bought ingredients and containers for my little business idea. So, three weeks before the expected date, I took time to practice melting chocolates. A week before, cake balls were already prepared and frozen. I was afraid these cake balls would go to waste but I have seen how home bakers practice freezing cakes even a month before it is served to costumers. Some would bake in advance and wrap them in plastic and put everything in the freezer. Dates of when they are baked are written because just like other kinds of food they expire, too. I guess, this is also done in big cake stores.

Going back to my cake balls, I froze them for a week since newly baked cakes will easily crumble. Of course I tasted one before and after coating them with chocolates. They tasted even better, indeed.

Within a week I received enormous orders of cakes and I was happy because I have been worried for weeks if this idea would actually work. It's totally worth the risk. I only had Php 500 left in my pocket and I spent Php 300.00 for the additional ingredients. The money left was used for our one week budget, it's not enough but I was able to find a way to stretch it before weekend.

On Sunday, February 13th I woke up as early as I could. I started at 7:30 a.m. baking cakes in foil. While cooling them, I started melting the chocolates. My big problem in tempering my chocolates is that they just won't smoothen and I was like dealing with mud. I was so frustrated because I only bought enough ingredients. No extra at all and I don't want to waste any of this as much as possible.

Good thing I found a remedy for my chocolates and nothing is wasted after hours of getting stressed and brain drained with it. The cake balls were successfully coated and they turned out really nice. Thank God, I almost gave up on it and planned to cancel the orders.

The working time lasted 13 hours straight, no food intake, only water while I was working. All I have in mind is to finish the job and I can completely take a rest after this. This made me think "I would never want to do this again!" . 😅😅

After the long tiring day, my ankles were sore of standing for hours and I felt the back pain when I was about to go to bed.

February 14

I woke up with a heavy heart. A droplet of tear fell from my eyes. I just had a really bad dream. It was heartbreaking, actually. I don't know what and where it came from but I dreamed of my husband kissing another girls because I allowed him to have two girlfriends. I was right in front of him and I was okay with it at first. When I saw that he was enjoying the privilege, I kind of felt awkward and it started to hit me and so I begged him to break up with them and just be with me but he refused. I was crying so hard in my dream that I woke up in tears.

That started my bad mood. I told my husband about it and he just laughed at it and I got really pissed off with him because I couldn't forget the details. And since it's February 14th, everything I see on social media are bouquets for flowers and chocolates. Friends posting boxes of chocolates in their walls and stories.

I have seen my guy friend's story and I was like.. woooow! Haha! I'm not really expecting things like this but you know, it would give me a nice feeling to receive gifts. Even though I don't really like to eat chocolates anymore and even if it's my favorite, I wouldn't want one at all. Still, the thought of receiving such gifts for a special occasion would be precious.

A funny convo with my friend as I react to his story - a box Ferrero Rocher

I don't need any of this on this day, I just want my husband to say sorry for my bad dream..hahahaha! 😂😂😂 Crazy right?? Is that even his fault? I kept texting him, I said I would just want to go back to sleep in peace (without a heartache), and that I will just take cetirizine for me to feel relaxed 'coz maybe I'm being anxious again because of yesterday's stress. I keep seeing posts on Facebook so I quit scrolling my phone. (bitter ka ghorl??) Lol! I couldn't write a thing that's why I am writing this right now. Because I was really tired since February 13...

An officemate offered to buy pizza to celebrate Valentines with us. Then she went out to have lunch with someone so I was left alone and I continued working on my computer.

During lunch time, I just kept myself busy with work. The door opens and I see my youngest bringing a heart shaped balloon, then he greeted me "mama, happy Valentine's day!", the eldest came in next with a stalk of red rose and said the same. I was so touched knowing that it's all my husband's idea. Hubby came in last with loads of food they bought from McDonalds. I was so surprised and confused. Confused of where he got the money to buy all these.. hahah!

As I said before, my husband collects coins and so he told me he exchanged his coins with our eldest's Christmas cash gifts, then spent all of it for our family's lunch and for the flowers. Isn't that sweet? But really, it's fine without it... but I appreciate it very much. This is what I love about my husband. He makes things possible in his own way. He makes little simple surprises to make me smile.

They spent rest of the afternoon in my office. We talked about our friends receiving surprises and those who are bitter in their posts and laughed about the funny memes we see on Facebook and Tiktok.

After working hours we planned on going out but seems like the city is overcrowded. I didn't like to walk in a place with so many people so I told my husband to just send us home. He wanted to visit his mom so I asked him to drop me home as I am very tired. Dressed up and went to bed as I wait for them. I also planned for a simple dinner when they come back but I fell asleep waiting for them, when I woke up my husband told me they have already eaten. I was a bit disappointed knowing that they kept me waiting and I was hungry. I went back to sleep without a word. The day is over and it's all good so I'm okay with that.

My cake pops were all sold out and so many customers even tried to request for additional orders but I couldn't accept rush orders anymore because I'm on duty. My Valentines day is all good with so many greeting text messages received. My children also handed me their hand written greeting card and it just melts my heart. I'm so happy. 🥰🥰🥰

5
$ 1.10
$ 1.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Your husband is so sweet sis. ❤️ He gave you a surprises then he let it to the kids to. So sweet. You are both lucky each other. I'm really happy for you sis. God bless you always and to your family also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank u.. I'm grateful to have them pati mga anak ko napaka sweet nila kasi yan ang turo ng papa nila..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome sis. Sobrang grateful sis. 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakss...Sana all naman dito sis. Ako, simpleng araw lang. Valentines day na naging Laundry day. Haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Mga ganyan lang din dapat plan ko.. Gusto ko lang talaga matulog magpahinga kaso may duty.. Hahaa! Medyo nabawasan sakit sa katawan sa simpleng surprise..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all may pasruprise ang husband eh.. Pero naloka ako sa oanaginip mo hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Tapos dapat pa pala magsorry yung natutulog lang.. Haha! Di ako makaget over 😂.. Chinika pa talaga nya sa mama at kapatid nya yun tawanan sila lahat.. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung pizza naaagaw attention ko HAHAHAHA jusme nagutom bigla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Laki ng pizza na to.. Nabusog ako sa isa

$ 0.00
2 years ago