The Secret to a Fluffy Pancake

0 28
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Food

Most moms I know likes that fluffy and jiggly texture of cakes or even just a pancake.

Some of my friends kept complaining about their homemade pancake not perfectly achieved the way they want it to be. So, what they do is buy the ready to cook pancake mix but the downside is, it doesn't make that much.

Here is one I would like to share. I have been baking for quite long but I only realized this recently when my mom was on quarantine. She called to ask how to make pancake rise. And I told her to look for leavening agents such as baking powder, baking soda or yeast, but seems like she hasn't found any and she kept on calling me in the middle of my working hours. 😅

I also thought for a different solution for quite a while until I remembered the last sponge cake recipe I tried, no leavening agent was added. Only the egg whites did the trick. That was the easiest one I made so far, and no worries with how much amount of baking powder or soda I will be adding on.

Actually, baking is a little complicated without a small knowledge about it (that's my opinion) because you need to measure all your ingredients to get the right consistency and texture you needed. Especially with the leavening agents because it will change the flavor of your baked product if you put too much of it. Not adding any would result to a sticky cake that's not good at all.

However, the egg trick will not apply to all baked goods, though it works perfectly with the basic batter.

Why are we talking about baking when we only want to know about making pancakes? 😅😂

It is simply because a pancake batter is the same as making a cake batter. During my highschool days, we call pancake batters as cake downfall 😅 or cake scratch. This is because when we were not able to make our eggs fluffy, the batter goes down to scratch and it will never be placed in the oven since it will not rise the way it should be. Instead we cook them as pancakes. Then we have to do it again to achieve that spongy texture.

Going back to my pancakes, I never actually tried to do it when I told my mom to use egg whites. Lol! 😂😂 It was just my intuition. But when we were able to come home I tried doing it myself to see if it really works.

So here it is. With recipe. 😜

Fluffy Chocolate Chip Banana Pancake

Let us learn the basic batter first.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

2 pcs large egg

3/4 cup sugar (add or lessen based on your preferred sweetness)

1/2 cup melted butter / vegetable oil

1/2 cup milk

1 tbsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

.. with all these you can already make a pancake..

Here are some additional ingredients for the banana - chocolate chip:

1 pc ripe banana, mashed

1/2 cup chocolate chip

1 tsp cinnamon powder

If you wish to add a different flavor, just follow the first ingredient's list then alter the second with your preferred flavor.

Let's cook:

Separate egg whites from the yolk. Set aside.

Add melted butter or oil in the bowl with egg yolk, mashed banana, cinnamon powder, salt and sugar. Mix well.

Add vanilla extract and milk then continue mixing.

Sift flour over the mixture gradually while continuosly mixing the batter. Mix until well incorporated. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until fluffy. You can whip it manually using a whisk or even just a fork. But it would feel better and faster if you have electric hand mixer. 😉

You should achieve a foamy egg white forming soft stiff peaks like this.

Now, fold in the egg foam into the batter. Do not overmix so the foam will not break down.

Then start heating up the pan over low heat.

Brush it with butter or oil.

Scoop an amount of batter depending on the size of pancake you want to make.

Sprinkle with chocolate chip on top and cover.

Time to flip when bubbles starts to form on top.

Wait for less than a minute and your fluffy pancake is done!

Serve this with butter on top, drizzled with your favorite pancake syrup. 🥞

....

Best for breakfast or snacks! 😋

So as you can see, it's thick and that is actually very fluffy without using baking powder and baking soda.

Enjoy! 😉

Hope you have a great weeked. God bless and keep safe everyone! 😘😘

2
$ 3.03
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Food

Comments