Still Life with Crayons

4 36
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

This must be the best module for me and my son. I guess, we both love this subject. Obviously my kid is so focused when it comes to drawing. The thing is, you just have to give him a situation or a story for him to illustrate. His thoughts are all into online game characters and if you leave him alone, he makes a story of his own.

Today, we opened his Art module and topics are about the basics such as lines, colors , art materials and paintings. There's one activity where he has to draw a "still life" art. Then it brought me back to my time when I was his age. I already understood what a "still life" is and it has become my favorite subject in painting and drawing.

A little idea about STILL LIFE

STILL LIFE is a type of art where subjects for painting or drawing are usually common place objects like natural things such as flowers, animals, and trees; manmade things such as glasses, bottles, books, vases and the like.

So the pictures shown above are taken from random photo finder. These are sample subjects for still life.

photo taken from google
photo taken from google

The above shown paintings are good examples of still life.

When I was younger, I remember the easiest subject of still life for me is a basket of fruits. Roses are actually very attractive and I was too ambitious to make a rose and I failed so many times. It just made my work a great mess because it turned out to be too complicated for me. Lol! Until I reached high school, still I play safe with a basket of fruits every time we're told to make a still life painting.

Earlier, I gave my son a simple example which is sunflower. I told him to observe first the picture and look at the shadings. I was impressed with his work.

We used crayons since it's the only coloring material which is available and much better than coloring pens for a child.

While he was working, I was trying to attempt doing a rose. It turned out that we almost had the same strokes. This means that my work, if you rate it would belong to elementary level. Haha! Well, not bad since I have not done this for so long. It has been ten years since I graduated college and I don't remember what year I was in college when I stopped drawing things. Lol!

Here's my work:

A comparison of our drawings using crayons.

Almost the same, right? This means my 7 year old can improve as he was able to almost imitate my style. It looks like he's going to be better than me.

The youngest guy in the house also seemed to practice becoming a "muralist" (one who draws/paints in walls-this was also discussed on the module), that's what my eldest said. Just look what he did to our walls while we're working on our papers.

(The emojis below were made by the old tenants of the house)

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

good article dear, thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love how you're supporting your son so much! Even if it means having to scrub the walls clean soon 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm just gonna think about cleaning later.. haha! let them do things they like as long as it isn't harmful to them.. set them free and allow them develop their skills..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's pretty, your son got his art skills from you

$ 0.00
3 years ago