Our Weekend Getaway and My Random Thoughts on a Baby's Christening

3 30
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
1 year ago

Last last Saturday. I was busy with the continuation (part 2) of my story entitled "Outcast", my husband told me that we are going for an outing with the kids. I asked what was the occasion and he told me his bestfriend's wife and daughter arrived the other day from Cebu. They had planned to go for a pool party with us and the kids. I tried to maximize my time during the weekends since I have two orders of chocolate cakes. Good thing I baked the cakes a day ahead so I have time to chill the cakes then I thought of frosting them on the next morning the day after our pool getaway.

My husband busied himself with the things to bring. I cooked some chicken pops for the kids to enjoy. He ordered pancit canton guisado and bought some disposable utensils. When everything is ready, we immediately headed to the resort.

The kids were so excited that they couldn't wait to get a plunge. The hot weather makes them so excited to jump off the pool. The kids loved to stay at the riverpool because aside from the slide, it's big and safe for them to swim on since it's shallow. My 3 year old can even stand by himself there, but ofcourse I don't leave them there to swim by themselves. They both are relying on floaters. My eldest is still learning to swim, so one must look after them. This time I didn't get away with the pool.

One thing they are very excited to see and experience is the foam party. There's loud music and bubbles raining down the poolside for about, I think, 5 or 10 minutes. It's really nice and fun to look at. The children's happy faces are priceless.

That's my eldest enjoying the foam 😍

We spent the whole day in the pool. The resort closes at 6 p.m., so we immediately packed up our things and while they are not yet done drinking their beer, they decided to continue at my hubby's bestfriend's place. So we stayed there from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. The kids enjoyed playing while I enjoyed chatting with my husband's friends while he is at the vulcanizing shop coz unfortunately, the rear tire of our motorcycle was flat. 😅

I asked my husband to send me home along with the kids since it's getting really late. And I almost forgot that I have two orders of chocolate for the next day. When I arrived home, I prepared the kids for bed and focused on my cakes. It took me an hour to prepare my tools and ingredients. The cakes were baked ahead and chilled enough for frosting.

I finished frosting at 5 a.m. Hubby isn't home yet as he continued drinking with his friends. I was so worried and my mind is furious. We agreed that he should come home atleast at 2 a.m. but he arrived at 5 a.m.! I kept quiet the whole time and went to sleep. He cleaned up my mess and prepared food, fed the kids while I was asleep.

He slept a little but had to get up because we are attending a seminar for a baby's christening. But he didn't bother me and went with my youngest. I woke up and washed my office uniform. I was able to arrange things and clean up at our small apartment. It was 4:00 p.m. when they arrived and told me to hurry up coz they were only given 30 minutes to prepare for the baptismal ceremony.

I hurriedly took a bath and we went straight to the church, bringing nothing. We are running late so I ran inside the church and I almost slipped. 😂


During the ceremony, it was just me, my husband, one friend. The mom and sister of his bestfriend, the wife, the baby and my kids were there. It turned out that only 3 godparents arrived. The others were still drunk from last night. The christening went well despite of the changes of the schedule of seminar which pissed them off because the facilitator changed schedule 3 times. This also changed the mood of the priest.

He had to hurry up since he'll be having a mass at 5:00 p.m. The time is almost running out, it means no break for the priest. He talks at a very low voice but a little insulting. He even asked the photographer to hurry up and said "napakabagal mo naman" (you're very slow). Which sounded really offensive and insulting to the family. He even said to the godparents "wala pa naman kayong dalang regalo" (not bringing any present). 🙄🙄 Wait what?? Did we really have to show off our presents during the ceremony? It is like shaming the parents and the godparents in front of so many people. There are people already seated waiting for the mass to start. And they heard the priest.

The family paid for a special ceremony and was just ruined by the changes of schedule which also changed his mood and made him say unpleasant things.

For me, as I observed on the priest's behavior, it's so insulting to the family. And I thought maybe because our dresses weren't as good since there is no time for us to dress up, really. But we are in polo shorts and long sleeves.. I don't know. I just thought he treated us really badly from the way he looks and talks at us. Just because we're late, just because we're not in formal attire? 🤔. Did he said that because only few were able to come? Quite confusing but the way he said "walang dalang regalo" it's like he's implying that we can' t afford it. Quite true since we didn't have time to buy our presents but does he really have to announce it in front of so many people? I don't know why I was affected that I should not react this way but I find it really off for a priest to say.

Anyway, the baptismal went well, we were able to have dinner at 7:00 p.m. We waited for our friend to finish setting up his table and then they had another drinking session. This time I told my husband that we should get home early as I am going to report for work on the next day which he agreed.


So tell me, did I over react with the way the priest talked to us?? Is it just me who didn't like it?..

3
$ 1.67
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @Ching
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I could say a lot of things about the priest but never mind lol! Focus na lang tayo sa fun party. The photos tell how fun the party was!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi naman talaga kasi maganda. Hindi naman kailangan may regalo. Yung mga ninong at ninang nga ng anak ko di ko hinihingian eh. Ako pa nagbayad dun sa ibang inaya ko maging ninang at ninong.

Syempre naman, binigyan mo na nang responsibilidad yung mga taong yun eh, paggagastusin mo pa.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True.. Ewan ko lang talaga kay father mainit ulo nya. Parang kami pa may kasalanan nah nag iba ang schedule eh yung cathechist naman ang may kasalanan nun

$ 0.00
1 year ago