Happier

9 21
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Shortstory, Love, Series

We were once perfect together. Everyone loves to see us together. I play the guitar, she sings with all her heart. I play drums she's on keyboards and microphone. I have compiled some of her song writings. She'd been asking me to put a tune on it but I never had time. I hope she kept a copy of these, but I'm still gonna try to ask permission. I wanted to work on these someday, if she permits me to.

But how will I be able to reach her? I haven't seen her for six months. She walked away after returning all the stuffs I gave her. Ever since that day, she never showed up. I never saw her in school, but I heard she graduated. Actually, she and all of our other friends graduated last semester, but during end days of the semester I wasn't able to find her. Didn't even have the guts to see her on her graduation, I was too scared and ashamed for being left alone.

Saturday. My old friend Andy is inviting me to his birthday at one of the new famous KTV bars in town. I don't feel like going there but I'm getting really bored. I have stayed inside the house for months doing nothing. I guess, I'll just go see him, anyway.

At the bar. This new place is awesome. Looks really crowded, lots of young groups of people hanging around drinking beer and wine. Everybody's just enjoying and it looks so good to my eyes. I feel alive seeing this. I realized I have missed a lot for staying too long and being alone in the four corners of my room.

Tables are all over, there's full of lights and a big stage in the center. It looks really fun to be here. There's a live band playing and the crowd is singing along. I looked around to see the rows of exclusive KTV rooms. Andy told me he booked for room 4. This room looks big, so I guess he is having a couple of guests. I wonder who are his visitors. I'm kinda running late and even hesitated to come but Andy kept on calling me. I opened the door and heard a familiar voice. Everybody's cheering loud and some shouted.

photo taken from google

I tried to find Andy to greet him. There's several unknown people behind the door and I just kept hearing that familiar voice. Andy's got pretty much guests here. Well, too late for me to back out. I went inside and saw that girl in a very familiar voice. I knew it! Finally found her, thanks to this old friend Andy. They were friends, too. We used to be bandmates.

That voice, I have missed for a very long time. I missed her singing along with me. Memories flashed back as I heard her sing this song. We used to play this song in high school with our friends. We were a band, actually, and we invited her to be our lead singer. Oh! How good is that cold angelic voice. Everyone clapped and cheered at her. I couldn't help myself but do the same.

I walked towards her excitedly. Finally, this is a great chance for me to talk to her. Maybe this could be a good time to talk things over. The place is too crowded I couldn't get through easily but my eyes stuck on her. I couldn't get my eyes off her, don't want to lose sight of her anymore.

Just when I was about to call her name. "Deb!" A guy from behind her took her hand and hugged her. She smiled and everybody around shouted and cheered so loudly. As if they are the couple of the night. Some giggled around out of excitement. I was stunned to see him kiss her in the cheeks. Then the guy sings along with her, cheering went up louder. Then Andy tapped my shoulder. That's the time I lost sight of her.

"Dude! Happy Birthday!" I greeted Andy with a wry smile. He hugged me, "long time no see, dude! How have you been?!" He brought me to that mini bar on the corner and I started ordering and sippin' some drink.

After that song, people started dancing and the couple went to sit on the other side with another group of people. Might be some of Andy's friends from different places, schools, or office? Whatever! I couldn't believe she's with another guy who is not even her ideal man as she described it to me once.

Looking at them from a distant, she seemed so happy. But why? That guy doesn't look like the man she wanted to date. I'm confused! I know her. She would want a guy who would play a guitar, a sporty one. A man with a musical mind, a silent type. But this one is the opposite. He looked hard core. But she laughs at his jokes. I can see she's enjoying it. Everybody likes the humor of this guy, they are all laughing out loud. Andy looks at me with a grin. He sensed me looking at my girl.

photo taken from google

"She's seems really happy, eh?", tapped me in the shoulder and said "you look like you lost a diamond, stop looking at them, I'm single and lonely as well, I don't like seeing sweet couples" then laughed jokingly. I know he's trying to distract me. "Come on just drink up!". Andy tries to distract me and tried to talk about other things. I tried to ignore them but sometimes I get little chances to glance at them. She looked really different now. Her smile so genuine, I haven't seen her eyes sparkle that way before.

Some of our old bandmates came and what caught their sight was our vocalist who's with her new man. They teased me and I just smiled, joked around but I'm breaking deep inside.

Andy came in front and requested a set of instruments. He wanted to play along with the old band. He called us in front and the crowd were cheering again. That means she will sing as we play. Deb seemed shocked and glanced at me. She looked surprised to see me but let out a kind smile. I looked at her with so much longing. His guy looked at me, and then he squeezed and kissed her hand and smiled at her showing his full support. Everybody shouts again. Most of the crowd are our old friends and batchmates. So, they know she was my girl and I just laughed around as if I didn't care at all. We all went in front and started playing this song:

Darn! I feel so bad why did they even request for this song. I was looking at her while playing my guitar. Why am I recalling our memories with this song. And I watch her look at her guy as he never lose sight of her. I almost lost the exact keys to the song. My bandmates looks at me with teasing smiles. Pure evil! 😈 They're making fun of me while they're playing their respective instruments. That's how we used to be so it's not new to me.

My heart is silently bleeding right now... And I couldn't help but sing along to the last lines "please don't be in love with someone else!". But stopped right away when I saw some of our friends gave me a meaningful look.

I saw Deb's boyfriend cheered along with the crowd and gave her a teasing smile. She gave him an angry stare. He blinks ate her and gave her a flying kiss. Their friends were just jumping and cheering for them. He seemed cool and I think he knew about me. That's just amazing. It's my first time seeing a guy who doesn't get jealous having his girlfriend's ex around. Good, Deb will be fine with him, then.

Party went on until 2 a.m. I was able to shake hands with this new guy. They were cool, even Deb seemed to forgot about the past. She's blooming and more cheerful. A happier version of her makes her look more beautiful. This is still a great night for me. I was heartbroken the whole time but a couple of shots made me numb, though. I went home straight and cried under my pillow. 😭😭😭 ____________

Author's Note:

I know it's been a while but I tried listening to Taylor Swift's "Enchanted" for motivation. Lol! I've been struggling to finish one story and here it is. I was trying to imagine the set up for this story since this morning. Thankfully, with the help of this song which I kept hearing on Tiktok somewhat helped me construct a new article. πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚ I just couldn' t find a catchy title but I hope you liked it!

credits:

Song by Taylor Swift

Youtube channel (not mine) : Taj Tracks

Images from google for illustration purposes

6
$ 2.10
$ 2.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Shortstory, Love, Series

Comments

Quite a sad story but its good. I felt his pain Seeing her love on other guy's hands

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.. I don't know why i kept writing stories with sad endings πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka naman kasi totoo mo yang naramdaman eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! I don't know, happy naman ang married life ko.. siguro based na rin sa mga napapanood at naririnig ko na songs.. Nakakadala.. HeheheπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt the pain to the guy who's the ex of the girl. It's really painful when he saw his ex-girlfriend having with another guy and the worst is it was the time he will meet her again after a long months they didn't see each other.

I know someday he will meet a destined person to him. Sometimes we meet a person in our life to give us happiness, lesson and enjoyment but it's just a temporary only.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True.. people in our lives just come and go.. Some will stay and some would turn away. This story could be a continuation to the story I wrote before entitled "unfriend" nahiya lang ako i paste yung link kasi ang tagal na non.. Haha! But same pa rin ang name ni girl..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis and that's part of our life. Mostly of us experience those what we called temporary. Okay sis kaya pala.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko bigla kaibiga. Ko na lagi ko kasabayan kumanta noon, ngayon super busy nya na dina namin magawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, i missed the good old days.. Yung time na wala pang adultingπŸ˜…πŸ˜‚.. Pakanta kanta lang with friends.. Ambagan lang ng tig 20 pesos ang saya kaagad ng gabi.. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago