Literature and Poetry: How they Collide in Harmony

2 39
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago
Topics: Hobby, Free write, Story, Movie, Alone, ...

I am aware that this is a complete shift from what I normally write, and yes for my past articles have been a little bit of a rant but this is different. I have to be honest with you I am not an expert when it comes to Poetry, I just really enjoy it and it has been a really beautiful guiding point for me in the past when I wanted to find inspiration for my writing.

When it comes to literature I lean mostly towards fantasy Dystopian Post-Apocalyptic, Science-Fiction and a little bit of Werewolf, it’s my taste genres. I like books that create a whole new world for me, to meet new creatures, new worlds new ways of society, basically anything with a bit of world reading I read, I prefer seeing characters and humans being framed in a different light.

So this may not come as a shock when I say that I like Poetry. To me poetry can open a writer’s mind in ways that no book can, Poetry appeals to one’s emotions, the words connect with something deep inside of a person and that connection, that grasping of the emotions within simple words is what builds you up as a character.

Everyone has a little bit of a poetic side within them, if You’ve ever fallen in love, loved someone, felt sad, felt overwhelmed, felt unappreciated, felt depressed, felt joy or even euphoria the you can connect with poetry.

The Key to becoming a good writer isn’t necessarily about good grammar and good flow. You can Have the best plot, you can create the best characters, the best world, the best everything but if you cannot connect with your readers through the words you write then your book is junk, absolute trash.

In my Previous Article I talked about Why I believe Dialogue is really important to the book and one of the points I wrote is that it conveys a character’s emotions, meaning that it brings the character to life, it brings the character’s emotions to life with his words.

Notice how Even in Dialogue the importance of actually grasping emotions with words, well this is the same with poetry. It’s not enough for a writer to simply explain an emotion, most often you need to show it, it’s even more hard to show.

Ironically despite my taste in books my favorite book that I love is not from the Fantasy or any genre that I had written above but it’s a Young-Adult novel called I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. It’s odd isn’t it that a girl who likes Fantasy so much is attracted to a book like that well let me add bellow a few paragraphs from the book and then you’ll know why.

 

  • “Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.”

  •  "Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you've been in before - you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

  •  “When people fall in love, they burst into flames.”

  • “His soul might be a sun. I’ve never met anyone who had the sun for a soul.”

  • “I close my eyes and drown in colour, open them and drown in light because billions and Billions of Buckets of Light are being emptied on our heads from above”

And those above are just but a few of the little Quotes I can bring out, If your book has this level of showing emotions and situations then you are an astoundingly amazing writer and you deserve to be the best, but if you are still stuck telling and haven’t found your own unique way of showing then you need more.

All in All, Poetry can open a writer’s eyes to a new way of writing, it can make you constantly ask yourself how to portray emotions better, how to make your writing better and how to see mistakes in your writing.

Hi!

I'm a writer who will be sharing lots (And I mean Lots of writing tips on here so if you liked this article please subscribe, I'll be writing a lot of these types of articles.

I also enjoy reading so if you have a story or an article please share the link on the comment section and I will absolutely read it. Until next time!

4
$ 8.47
$ 8.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago
Topics: Hobby, Free write, Story, Movie, Alone, ...

Comments

Interesting post. Poetry and literature are your forte. I have always loved to read. My favorite book, which I never get tired of reading is the bible. Whenever I read a passage from the bible it opens my senses and emotions. It is like a light for knowledge and wisdom. Your article is excellent, I liked it. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you I. Often try my best take my posts, thanks for your comment and kind words

$ 0.00
2 years ago