Creative Writing: Tips For the Novice Writer

3 36
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago
Topics: Lifestyle, Free write, Food, Diet, Diary, ...

Sometimes original ideas can be hard to come by. Even more so when you are stuck with the same story in your head and can’t seem to fight your way out of the creative black hole of a single trope. It’s important to understand that creativity, just like any other thing can be natured and can grow with tender love and care. This article will be focusing on some tips on how to become more creative in your writing.

 

Free Writing Helps

When I talk about free writing I mean trying to write without any plans. Just open your note pad or computer and write anything, write a fanfiction, write a short story or even poetry. This helps exercise your creativity a tone. You’ll find that you’ll find inspiration almost instantaneously.

 

Get Rid of the Electronics.

Okay I know that in my past articles I have talked about using series or movies as inspiration points but sometimes it’s also important to shut of the electronic devises and dream, sit by the fire, or a window, lay in a field and just let your mind wonder of to different places. The most authentic ideas come from this method.

A Notebook Is your Friend.

I do agree that sometimes ideas can find you in the most random places and often times you get absolutely excited about it, then you find yourself forgetting the idea a short while later. To avoid this, try and pack a notebook wherever you go. At night a dream journal can be an amazing way to keep track of your sleep patterns and dreams, even dreams can act as inspiration, remember that.

Create a List.

This is a tip for when the ideas just simply keep on coming and you want to keep track of every little one. Creating a list of the things or ideas you want to add on within your writing is a good way of doing this. This can also be used as tasking, outlining your story of novel.

Music makes you dream.

Music has a way of carrying us into a different world where we are the main characters. (Or am I the only one who does this?) listening to new music will open up your mind to new ideas and emotions, after all stories are built on emotions, moral code or injustice. Whichever way music evokes a sense of wonder and understanding so do try it out.

Tidy Up your Workplace,

  Often times your brain fails to work at full capacity when around an untidy or unclean area, your thoughts become interrupted and you cannot function the way you would like too. Your brain works better in comfortable environment so why don’t you try and switching things up in your writing space, move your desk near the window, if your most comfortable in bed then make your work station to the bed. Anyplace where you feel most comfortable is the place you need to be at when writing.

 

Keep Learning New things.

There is so much that you can learn from others after all, no one knows everything but everyone e knows something you don’t. try to read through other authors achievements and advice, research on ways to make your writing better or just practice a new form of writing. There is always room to grow in any case so keep on perusing what you deserve.

 

Just Relax.

As much as it is important to focus on your work and betterment of your writing, It's also important to learn how to just take a step back and relax sometimes even if its just for a little while. Often you can bet overwhelmed by it all and get confused, tired and impatient. Just know that Rome was not built in a day and neither will you story.

Hi!

I'm a writer who will be sharing lots (And I mean Lots of writing tips on here so if you liked this article please subscribe, I'll be writing a lot of these types of articles.

I also enjoy reading so if you have a story or an article please share the link on the comment section and I will absolutely read it. Until next time!

 

4
$ 4.49
$ 4.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Sequoia
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for justanny
2 years ago
Topics: Lifestyle, Free write, Food, Diet, Diary, ...

Comments

Yeees! I will agree with the tips. Proven and tested talaga. I've been doung this tips and I am glad that you wrote this. Doing this things make me more productive in writing aspects. I always accompany myself with music whenever I write and staying away from electronics will really help us think faster and without any distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am far from a novice writer, but I think you are writing well and express your topic in a good way. I have mentored many authors; what you write here and in your other articles is right. I don't hesitate to recommend them to young aspiring authors. If later I write another retrospection with focus on recommended reading by other authors, I will consider including you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank You so much...... I honestly try my best to have and write things that I really like

$ 0.00
2 years ago