Have You Ever Thanked God the First Time He Broke You?

13 41
Avatar for jstjylrd_
1 year ago

Note: This is a work of fiction.

________________________

"Can you still remember the first time you were completely shattered?", asked by an old pastor. It was five years fast backwards when we had this annual youth fellowship, that we used to attend. The pastor smiled wide-open, and looked at each and everyone of us. Some teenagers laughed, and some were just waiting for his mouth to speak up again. "If yes, what did you do back then?", he added as he walked around the stage. He paused for a moment and again asked, "have you ever thanked God the first time He broke you?".

I had no idea what was the word 'broke' accurately meant during that exact moment. It was kinda confusing for me since, it could have pertained to any situations. All I knew back then was, I was happily living my life with less anxiety or worries about something. Little did I know, I will reach the point in life where, I can encounter the essence of this felicitous question asked by the pastor.

The smell of year 2019 is still a fragrant aroma for me. It was when I spent the last days of my life as a student, before the COVID-19 interfered what was supposed to be a perfect timeline. It was also the year where I firstly experienced the most tragic days of my life. That was also when, an unexpected accident happened to my father. I cannot truly imagined what was the exact emotion I felt that time, and all I did was to lock myself in a room. I wept all day long, imagining how a God could be so reckless in taking away my father's life after I have been so faithful to him. I cursed him, and questioned the point of life, and his existence. It was like losing my whole faith at that point of my life.

Weeks passed. Those were the hardest battles for me to conquer, I admit. Then, I realized that, crying all day long was not the solution and cursing God was an erroneous action we could ever do.I went outside and reflected through looking at the vastness of the sky. I was like a bird that was captivated in the cage for a very long time, and was freed. The brightness of the sun, the birds freely flying, and the grasses freely dance along with the wind. I realized that, if the sun still shines, why would I let darkness rule over myself? If the birds are still freely flying, why would not I free myself from pain, hatred and anger? And if the grasses still dance along with the whispers of wind, I would not I sway for a while and dance along with the rhythm of life?

The question of the pastor flashed back in my mind. "Have you ever thanked God the first time He broke you?". My answer would be no, because at first, I was ignorant enough to recognize him in the midst of the negativities in my life. I was devoured by ignorance, thinking that it was better to cry at all times and cursing was a satisfying to do. However, later on, I suddenly realized that I was alright. And yes, I thanked him for that. I was grateful enough to acknowledge his will after that heartbreak. There was an immense pain, but his love was always more intense.

The reality is that, most of us can never recognize God when we are at the weakest point of our lives. Although it is okay to weep, but what I learned suggests that what is wrong is when we let these emotion rule over ourselves. The reality also is that, we have different form of heartbreaks as we go through life. But that is not the case. What matters the most is how you handle those heartbreaks. Will you let ignorance freely consume you like what I have been? Or will you move on and face life with more courage? How about you? Have you ever thanked God the first time He broke you?

The spotlight is yours; share your words.

________________________

Hi. Thank you for reading. Stay safe and see you around.

Live long and prosper!

5
$ 0.28
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Sydney2
Avatar for jstjylrd_
1 year ago

Comments

I felt the same way, nuong time na nawLa ang buong pamilya ng uncle ko Dahil sah guinsaugon tragedy sa leyte, super talaga yung sakit,sometimes I question also neh God kung bakit nangyari lahat yun, pero mali pala ako nuong time nah yun, huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi. Tao rin naman talaga tayo, at normal lang talaga ma feel ‘yan. As long as you realized that you made a mistake, confessed and repented, God will forgive you.

1 John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Thanks for commenting. God bless you and your family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww, tama kah po, sabi nga ng Bible sah act 2:38 repent and be baptized, by the way salamat sa word of God hah? By the way and pala ang religion moh?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Walang anuman po. Isa po akong Missionary Baptist po. Ikaw po ba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh ok po, worldwide Pentecostal din po ako, pero para sah akin ibat iba man tayo ng religion pero we believe only 1 God, salamat din po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, okay. Marami akong kilala na Pentecostal din. Oo, tama naman na kahit magkaiba tayo ng relihiyon, iisa pa rin ang Diyos na sinasamba natin.

Pero always remember this verse in John 4:23-24 which states;

[23] But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for such the Father seeks to worship him. [24] God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth. "

Good morning and have a nice day ahead. God bless you and your family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I will remember that, salamat pala sah share, super bless even dito may nag share parin sa akin ng word of God, which is good for us, kasi for us to realise sa mga bagay² na akala natin tama ang ating pinaniniwalaan, truly our God lang talaga ang nakakaalam sah lahat, but tru our guide which is Bible malalaman natin ang tunay at dapat nating sambahin, salamat sayo, God Bless sayo and your family as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes yes. Kita kitss lang tayo dito sa read. cash haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahehe, yes kita kits lang tayo dito, whahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! This is a nice write-up I always believe that no one can question God. Just stay faithful and let God do his works. But it's so sad that some people who always claim to believe in God backslide and doubt him whenever they are going through a slight phase of struggle. I love this article, keep it up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello. It is truly sad to imagine that there are people who turned their back to God wherein they allowed those circumstances to completely swallow, rather than surrendering those problems to Him. I hope one day, they'll recognize the wrong step they have taken. Thank you so much for reading my article. I appreciate your comment and compliment. Stay safe, and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very well written and impressive article. I honestly always doubt God and I always have this question in my mind why He let other people suffer that way if he truly loves us. Something that we all can't stop thinking about even if we wanted to stay faithful there are always tiny doubts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for the compliment towards my article. While I understand your frustration, simultaneously, I feel sad knowing you used the word ‘always’ in doubting God. I may not know the struggle that you are going through, but I hope and pray that you'll restore the fire within yourself. God knows the pain we are all experiencing. He works in ways we cannot see, far from what we think is right. There's this song I used to listen to the Blessings by Laura, and the lyrics goes, ‘what if trials of this life, are your mercies in disguise? ” Always believe in Him! Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago