You need not to be perfect. Just start.

Avatar for joow
Written by
2 years ago
Image from https://pin.it/4xNilLN

I think that I am one of those people who don't get to finish a lot of things because of constant worrying. I don't draw because I am worried it might just turn awful, I don't talk to someone because I worry that I might just end up annoying them, and I don't write because I am worried that my vocabulary is bad. That my writing is not good enough and that it doesn't fit the area of writing articles.

But, something kind of poked me in my head. Something urged me to take a step back and just observe the things in front of me. To examine the choices I make and the paths that I wal on.

So I did, I took a step back. And quite unsurprisingly, there is nothing to look at. There are no things to observe because I didn't get to start anything. I was worrying too much, I was wanting for things to be perfect, to be flawless. But it's something quite impossible and so now I am here with nothing to look at. What I see is a path with no continuation becaus ethere is a minimum requirement needed before passing. And the requirement reads: ONE MUST BE FLAWLESS.

I didn't get to draw a simple stick man, or a silly comic because I don't like it when my cirlces aren't smooth, therefore I cannot pass, I did not meet the requirement.

I didn't get to talk to someone, to the teacher who was looking for an Editor in Chief, and now the spot I was hoping to have is now taken by someone else. In my head I thought it was fine. My writing was not good enough, it was not perfect, therefore I cannot pass, I did not meet the requirement.

And I do not want to write because seeing my words looking so plain and so far away from how JK Rowling would write. I wanted to write like how a publsh and famous author would write. But I can't. I obvioulsy lack the experience, and so I can't. And this just left me empty handed. It left me standing at the very beginning of the path, because I am not perfect and perfection is a requirement. It is painted in red and huge angry streaks, a huge reminder for me that I am not it, therefor I cannot pass.

image from https://pin.it/2LJxABq

All these things made me realize that my aim for perfection stops me from doing things. The emptiness I have right now taught me that this is worse than starting a crooked line. That it is okay if my circle is a little rough, if my little plan of a comic is not even close to those on the Webtoon site. And it is also okay if my voice shakes whenever I'll try to start a conversation with someone. Imperfection is okay, that is the phrase inside my head as I kick down the huge signage in me which requires me to be perfect.

A lot of things will require practice and we will not be doing things perfectly in the first try. I should learn to realize that baby steps are okay no matter what your age is. I should also learn that I shouldn't put too much emphasis on the expectations of other people on me. I should just start.

I should breathe in and out. And just start moving, and then from that point forward, things will be okay. Things will get better and better. Just keep going.


Lead image: https://pin.it/33p32Ep


Hello everyone! My name is Joow and this will be my introductory article in this site. Hehe~ I've been planning to post an article here since last week, but I got sick so I just had the chance now!

I hope that you will gett to start doing things without too much worry. If you wanna start something, just do it and ignore the worries!

See you in my next article~

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @BCH_LOVER
Sponsors of joow
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for joow
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Hi joow, nice to meet. Welcome sa read.cash. Hope mag enjoy ka dito

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you po for welcoming here TT and yes po, I am currently enjoying my stay here! mababait mga tao : D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan, mababait at mapagbigay ang mga tao dito...You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago