We are the ones who care for our thoughts.

Avatar for joow
Written by
2 years ago

GIF from https://pin.it/7fybXyc

I have so many things I want to do. I want to start reading a book, I wanna look for a new recipe to cook, I want to sleep, to exercise, I want to do a lot of stuff! But, the problem here is that I don't know what to start?

I don't know where to start even if I should know where.

I have classes on Wednesday and one of the things I should be doing is studying. And not just studying, but reviewing because I have an exam on that day. But look again at the things I want to do. None of those are studying, and this is another problem, I don't know how to prioritize! You can lay down huge tasks in front of me, but without the little routine I do before working, I will not be able to tell you which among these chunks are the most important.

Now, since I don't and can't seem to make an impromptu list in my head, what I do is I grab a paper and do a physical to-do list instead. Before I get to finalize my list though, there are a few things that I must do first.

1. I sit down and stare at nothing.

Yes, staring at nothing helps me calm down. I run away from my screaming thoughts and stare at nothing. My breathing evens out, and my tummy would no longer feel as if it is in knots.

2. I write on my journal so that I can rant there and untangle my thoughts.

I journal in a way like I am talking to someone. Like I am making a script for a podcast or a vlog for YouTube. That way, I could imagine that someone is listening to me.

3. I scribble on a piece of paper all the things I wanna do.

All things I wanna do, even the ones that I can't do yet, I write them down. I just let my mind do a word vomit so that my thoughts will quiet down later.

4. I take all the important things from the scribble.

5. I finalize my to-do list.

GIF from https://pin.it/7lyvLJr

After all that, I will post my list on the shelf where I always see and then my head would clear. It would feel like a cloud has been cleared away from on top of my head and then I can finally go on my day.

Before the to-do list, i would feel too energized. Like I can bounce off walls. Like I can't sit still. But after writing down my thoughts, I would calm down, like I am back to being a normal human being going on with their day.

It seems like a long process to calm myself down, but it helps! How about you, what do you do to gather yourself together?


Previous article

https://read.cash/@joow/you-need-not-to-be-perfect-just-start-939a450b

Hello guys, this article about me managing my thoughts is my second article. I really am trying to become active here. Let's hope that this inspiration surge will keep coming!

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Duvinca
Sponsors of joow
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for joow
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I think it's good to observe our own thoughts, to have some time to reflect and to express ourselves... it can be almost a therapy and although we are the ones who care, we can always share them here or on other platforms, maybe someone will read your thoughts...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes find it scary to share our thoughts to other people. Because some people are so great at reading others, and then they'll know and understand why we think in a certain way. It kind of makes me feel vulnerable for some reason TT so when i share my thoughts, I make sure that they'll have a hard time using it to analyze my whole being :D

And thank you very much for the tip!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah I think that I understand what you mean... but language is rich and imagination too so there are many different ways maybe to express yourself, just we need to find the most suitable for us in order to not feel vulnerable as you mentioned... You're welcome, I liked your text!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah we need to think and care of our thoughts by our own

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, and journaling is one way to do that. It's nice to see your thoughts all laid out in front your eyes. That way we can examine the things that we think of~

$ 0.00
2 years ago