My Crypto Earnings (September)

10 43
Avatar for johnwege
1 year ago

September is officially coming to an end and that means that it is once again my favorite time of the month.  It's when I calculate all of my crypto-related earnings for the month.  If you are new, this is a part of an ongoing monthly series that tracks my own progress towards hopefully reaching financial freedom.  These articles have two purposes that I hope to achieve. The first is to track and be able to see my own results, which helps to keep me motivated throughout this journey that I am on.  The second purpose is that I hope many of you who read these articles will also begin your own journey towards reaching financial freedom.  If I can do it, then I have confidence that each and every one of you can do it as well.

Since the crypto market continues to be in a bear market while nearly all financial markets are reeling from macro conditions.  That also means that it has had a large effect on my crypto earnings for the month as well.  During the bull market, I had set a personal goal of reaching crypto earnings of $4,000 per month.  I was on the verge of achieving that, but not all good things last forever and the market turned against us.  While I am still thrilled with my monthly performance, it does however make that monthly goal of mine feel much farther in the distance. 

This month I continued to earn a majority of my earnings from cryptocurrency writing, lending, and staking.  I was also fortunate to receive multiple airdrops during the month as well.  While the crypto lending market has become a dangerous minefield that I wouldn't recommend anyone to use.  The fact is that when using Bitcoin as the unit of account, my earnings have never been higher.  But, I no longer have any confidence in this sector of the market.  Even though I am lending out Bitcoin to what is considered one of the safest exchanges in crypto, FTX.  I still am on the constant lookout for any possible FUD and ready to withdraw at any moment.

My writing results during the month were pretty par for the course.  This means that my results have been down during the bear market, and much higher during the bull market.  A majority of retail buyers have left the crypto market and no longer want to read about crypto.  Especially optimistic articles, which a majority of my articles tend to be.  Currently, I'm not concerned about these earnings at all, but instead am focused on trying to build my following.  Something that I believe will really help me later on when the market recovers.  Also keeping in mind that during the next bull cycle their value will likely increase by at least 5-10x.

During the last few months, I have been searching for new possible opportunities to earn even more.  While I have no results to speak of so far, I decided upon two new ventures I will be taking.  Both are long-term plays, that will take some time to see results.

#1

The first is that I have begun posting on Medium.  I'm not exactly sure why I ignored the platform since I began writing years ago. I tended to stick to crypto-focused websites. I view Medium as a similar venture to writing on Hive.  It is something that will take quite some time to build a following, and in Medium's case, gain enough followers to begin earning money.  But if things go well, they have the potential to be my biggest earners.

I'm just getting started on Medium, so I would appreciate it if you'd follow me there.  Follow Me on Medium.

#2

My second venture is something much, much bigger.  Over a month ago, I began writing a book.  While I will keep the main topic a secret for now and reveal much more later.  I will tell you that it is related to crypto, my own personal situation, how you can find financial freedom, and more.  Something that goes much further into depth than any of my blog articles ever do. Digging into the numbers. What began as a mid-sized project, has ballooned into something much bigger.  I've still got a long way to go before finishing, but I'm really excited about it.  Please look forward to it.

And so without any further delay, let's dig into my earnings during September.

 

Cryptocurrency Blogging

 

Publish0x

Another month has gone by and Publish0x continues to be the platform that I enjoy the most.  It has in my opinion one of the best communities in crypto where people are excited to learn and share.  It is also my most consistent earner, which is something that I've grown to value more during the bear market that we are currently in.  Nearly every month I always end up in the $30-$40 range and this held true in September as well.

As of writing this article I have now reached 6,182 followers on Publish0x.  It is a feat that I'm very proud of.  I remember the days when I first began to write on the website.  I didn't know what I would write about, and if anyone would be interested in what I had to say.  Thank you to each and every person who has read my articles and followed me. I'm truly honored.  Now onwards to 7,000.

Publish0x Total = $39.94

Read.cash

After a few down months on Read.cash, I began to see a recovery in my performance on the platform. As always, I enjoy that we have control of our rewards the moment they hit our account and can withdraw anytime we wish. I would highly recommend anyone who is already writing to use the service as well

Read.cash Total = $44.01

 

Hive / LeoFinance

My performance on Hive and LeoFinance have continued to fall off a rock.  The bear market has pulled down the earnings on this platform.  My articles here have always been either hit or miss.  Unfortunately this month, most of them missed.  Things will eventually recover, and I'm excited to keep posting and building in the meanwhile.

Hive = $20.96 LeoFinance  =  $2.80

Combined Total = $23.76

 

Substack 

As always, I have monetization turned off on my Substack and just view it as another way to share my content.  An avenue where I have a little more control than compared to other platforms.  I continue to see steady follower growth and this could become my dark horse for the future.  Until that time comes, I'm more than happy to keep this blog free.

Substack Total = $0

New Crypto Writing Ventures

Medium And My Book

Two new items are being added to my monthly earnings report.  Medium and my book. I expect to begin earning on Medium relatively shortly, but the book will take some time.  I'm wanting to really take my time with the book, and make something great.  Both haven't earned me anything yet, but I thought it would be fun to add to the list this month.

= $0

 

Cryptocurrency Blogging Total = $107.71

 

Crypto Lending & Staking

 

FTX

0.013261596 BTC = $258.60

0.012632 ETH = $16.80

7.50 USDC = $7.50

For the time being, I am continuing to keep a decent amount of crypto on FTX that is being lent out to earn interest.  This also means that I am taking risks as well. I am watching the market like a hawk for any signs of FUD against FTX.  The moment that I see something, or begin to have doubts, that is the moment that I will withdraw my funds.  With that said, I have had no complaints at all about using FTX, and have actually become a big fan of the exchange recently.  

FTX Total = $282.90

 

Kraken 

0.010363 ETH = $13.78

I continue to stake a portion of my Ethereum on Kraken to earn a weekly interest rate.  My ETH is currently locked into the protocol until a future ETH protocol upgrade is released.  I have had no complaints about using Kraken to stake ETH.  With that said, they do charge 15%.  This means that when my ETH is finally unlocked, I will be shopping around for better options.

Kraken Total = $13.78

 

Nexo 

0.0005573 BTC = $10.86

0.00884134 ETH = $11.75

As always I am continuing to keep some funds on Nexo.  But, that doesn't mean I have confidence in the service.  I am just slowly repaying a loan that I took on the service, and keeping extra crypto here as collateral for that loan.  If things become bearish, I would quickly repay the loan and withdraw my crypto quickly.  But in the meantime, things are going well and I'm happy to earn some small interest rewards just to protect my loans. It's an added bonus for me.

Nexo Total = $22.61

Crypto Lending & Staking Total = $319.29

 

Miscellaneous 

Coinbase Earn

NEAR = $3.00

XCN = $3.00

I was happy to participate in two Coinbase Earn opportunities this month.  Earnings $6 for just a few seconds of my time to answer questions.

Coinbase Earn Total = $6.00

 

Airdrops

ETHW - $75

SWEAT - $25 (unlocked) ($250)

September was also a month when I was able to receive two different airdrops. I received ETHW, from the Ethereum fork.  Which I instantly sold for more Ethereum.  I would have earned more, but a large part of my ETH is locked up in staking, and didn't receive any airdrop for that staked ETH.

I also received the SWEAT airdrop.  If you are not aware, this is a move-to-earn app that is a little similar to STEPN.  The app itself has been around for years, and I have used it semi-regularly.  In the beginning, I liked to use it just to help motivate myself to walk more.  This month they converted their in-app tokens into cryptocurrency and users received airdrops of that exact amount.  The catch is that 90% of the airdrop is vested and locked up, while only 10% is initially available.  This is why today I received $25 in SWEAT that is available but actually received $250 worth.  I don't really believe in the project and will just sell as I earn more SWEAT, and as my vested tokens become unlocked.  Each month I will list the value that I sold during the month.

Airdrops Total = $100

Miscellaneous Total = $106

 

Total September Earnings = $533.00

 

Overall, I'm very satisfied with how the month of September turned out.  Most of my blogging numbers began to recover and I was lucky to receive 2 airdrops, which really helped to boost the earnings numbers. I hope to continue this upward trend into October and harvest even better results.  It will also be interesting to see if writing on Medium will bear any results.

How about you? What have you been doing to earn crypto income?

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Medium

As always, thank you for reading!

Sponsors of johnwege
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 2.89
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @H3ruvim78
Sponsors of johnwege
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for johnwege
1 year ago

Comments

You did quite well on writing. I had kind of 3-4 weeks' holidays and did not write much this month. Made only $10 on p0x and readcash. Did you try to monetize on Quora? You can post links and stuff in there, for another couple of bucks monthly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! That's a great tip, I will be sure to check Quora out! Hang in there! That $10 adds up over time! Keep at it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In such a beer market it's a huge amount you collect in this month in my Pakistani currency it almost 1.5 lakh rupees Congratulation and do work same like your currently doing but I have a question can you tell me little about Leo Finance

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! LeoFinance is an app built on Hive that also pays you tokens. When you post on Hive, if you use a LeoFinance tag when posting your articles, it will also be posted on that blog as well. Essentially allowing you to earn twice for the same article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is it same application like ecency because I am using ecency platform

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, just like the ecency platform

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, $533 September total earnings, that's huge. Congratulations to you. Keep it up, more Earnings for you on the next month.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!! Good luck to you as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's a lot of earning you got. How do you manage you r time?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The passive income doesn't require any time. For my writing, I keep to a strict Monday/Wednesday/Friday schedule. Still having the weekends to relax :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago