A Good Life

0 39
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago

"The purpose of our lives is to be happy." -Dalai Lama

What is a good life?

This had always been a question that is sometimes too difficult to answer. It may seem as an easy question but finding the right answer is somewhat difficult since not everyone has the same definition of what a good life. It therefore comes as no surprise that people are still looking to discover what it truly means to be living the good life.

Every human being aspires to live a good life. The problem is, we all define the phrase “good life” differently. Some are looking to live an honest life, full of integrity, joy and happiness. Others seek wealth, social status and fame, as they hope these aspects will help them to live the good life. In fact, they directly associate the good life with money and material belongings.

When it comes to living the good life, we almost all have a certain idea how such a life should look like. So, what really is a good life? Let me enumerate what a good life is for me.

A good life is:

  • having financial freedom

    When I say financial freedom, it's not just being rich. We can achieve financial freedom even we're not rich. As long as we are able to pay all our bills without worrying about what we eat the next day. As long as we can provide our family's needs and wants as well once in a while, that I consider as financial freedom.

  • having peace of mind

    Sleeping every night without worrying about a single thing or two, that is what peace of mind is. Knowing that you haven't hurt anyone, you are fair, and you don't involve your in such wrong activities, these gives someone peace of mind. Not everyone has peace of mind for some, if not almost everyone, had done something wrong once in their lives.

  • living in harmony with your family and relatives

    We always hear or watch about feud in families, feud that is always caused by money and jealousy. It's so difficult being in a family that doesn't have unity and cooperation, a family that's being ruled by pride.

Living the good life means living a life that sets you free. A life that satisfies and fulfills you, that adds happiness, joy and a sense of purpose to your life. But it also means to live a life that is worthwhile – a life that makes a contribution, instead of being solely self-centered. The good life is a life that is not primarily wasted with mundane activities. Instead, it adds value and contributes to making this world a better place. 

Going back to the question, what is a good life, we can simply say that it is a life that is in balance and fully satisfies and fulfills, a life that is filled with happiness, joy and pleasure over simple things and a life full of gratitude.

So the real question here now is, Am I living a Good life? That I'm not sure.

Ever since I had my own family, these kind of life is what I am hoping to have. Our life as a child was very difficult. My father was a soldier and my mom was a housewife who is also a drunkard. So most of my father's salary that he is sending would always end up being used to purchase liquor , so my mother would always live like a one day millionaire, purchasing liquor here and there for her friends. She would just buy us something for lunch and dinner on that day. So the following days, we will be left with nothing. And when my mother wouldn't have any money left, she would be so hot=headed that she would always beat us. She was always like that. The only time that she would be nice is when our father is around and it would only last a few days. I never had a peace of mind as a child, and there was never peace in our family for I grew up hating my mom. So when I had my own family, I wanted my children to have a good life that I never experienced.

But, sad reality, I still don't feel that I have a good life. Why? I admit that I personally don't have financial freedom yet, since I still asked money from my father and siblings, especially now that I don't have any worked yet. But what really made me say that I'm not living a good life? Ever since me and my husband got married, we never had a very peaceful relationship. We would always end up fighting. There are times that I wanted to call it quits by every time I want to do it, I'm always reminded by our kids. I don't want my kids to have a broken family like me. For the 9 years of us being married, I never had any peace of mind. I'm always at the edge thinking what the future would bring us.

However, I realized one thing. That I am the key of my own happiness. And that every family has its flaws. And I must start being grateful and make the best of what I have right now. My family may not be the best, it's way beyond being good as well, but for everyone to accept and love my family, I need to love and accept it first. I may not be living a good life now but I'm going to make sure that I'll achieve the good life in the future. And I'll start it by being grateful for the family that I have now.

The good life is right in front of you. Seize it and make the most of it

@Eirolfeam2this is my entry for your giveaway challenge.

https://read.cash/@Eirolfeam2/celebrate-my-21st-birthday-with-me

it might not be the best, but atleast I tried. LOL :)))

2
$ 1.58
$ 1.00 from @Eirolfeam2
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jekai_88
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago

Comments