Do you want to become a VA?

30 25
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

October 24, 2021

Have you aspired to become a VA or virtual assistant so you can work from home and spend more time with your family? But getting hired is almost impossible. Some are lucky enough to get hired in a short manner of time but others waited for months or years to land an online job.

So am gonna give you some tips on how to get started. But first, let me enumerate the advantages of working at home:

My first night as a VA/CustLead with Amrita way back in 2018 with our piggy, Boinkers
  • No need to wake up 5 or 4 hours before the shift because the workstation is just nearby. You don't have to allot 1 to 2 hours for the preparation and 2-3 hours for travel.

  • No need to take a bath or brush teeth unless your PC has a nose. You can work on your PJs, as long as there are no meetings. You can see your loved ones especially kids most of the time. You can bond with them as soon as you're done working or even while working if the work permits.

  • You get to earn in foreign currencies and Paypal, Payoneer, or any other payment services will be your best friend. You're lucky if the exchange rate is high. You can save money for the food and transportation plus you get to eat home-cooked meals. Unless no one cooks and you always go for takeaways.

  • Since you're not traveling, you can set the money aside either for emergencies, savings, investment, etc.

    These are just some of the advantages but how about the disadvantages?

We temporarily lost our internet connection so I wore a makeup to kill the time lol
  • If you're an extrovert then it might not be for you. It's not fun to socialize virtually most of the time or you'll easily burn out if you only work alone.

  • You'll have the first level of stress when you work from home especially with the kids fighting, arguing with a member of the family, or receiving bad news firsthand.

  • You'll deal with distractions either from your kids, parents, partner, your barking dogs, clucking chickens, passing vehicles, loud videoke, fighting or laughing neighbors, etc

  • You got to change your tax status and submit several documents to the BIR. You even have to undergo a seminar and print your own receipts for taxation purposes. I hate this part.

But should you wish to continue on becoming a VA:

  • Know your talents and skills. You can make a list of your skills, the tools, and the systems you are familiar with.

  • Choose a niche. Do you want to take calls like in the BPO or do you like to become a real estate appointment setter? Or do you only want a pure nonvoice job? Data entry or project management? Analysis or social media?

  • Research about the platforms that hire VAs like Upwork, Onlinejobs.ph, Go VA, Cyberbacker, Filipina Homebased Moms, etc. Do you want to be hired directly or use a hiring company?

  • Research about the salary of your chosen job. There are a lot of scammers who would want a free service or offer rates as low as $1/hour. Be made aware.

  • Join VA groups in Social media like FB but be warned about scammers, again. Research about the company that wants to hire you. If the offer is either too good to be true or too low, stay away from the company.

  • Update your resume and cover letter. There are a million ways to make either your resume or cover letter catchy: it speaks a lot about you so make it count. Gone were the days where you can only make a resume through MS Word, make a video. Be resourceful and be creative in selling yourself!

  • Do not be discouraged if you're not hired the first or 100th time, the right client will come at the right time. Learn from your mistakes and be always prepared for the interviews and exams.

  • This is one of the most important tips: invest in good equipment like a sophisticated laptop or PC, a backup Internet like a pocket Wifi and a generator, if possible. You might need to have a dual monitor as well for multi-tasking. Make sure your computer can handle multiple opened apps at the same time. Your equipment specs depend on the nature of your job. Make good research and ask for recommendations from seasoned VAs or computer experts.

I hope this article helped you my friends in pursuing your dream of becoming a VA. Do you have any questions that I might be able to help you with? Let me know by commenting below!

Thanks for your time and I hope you won't get tired of reading my articles.

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much, I owe you one! 🙏🙏

All your likes, subscriptions, and upvotes are greatly appreciated ❤️❤️❤️

"Fill your heart and mind with love, for everything and everyone responds to love, as love draws the very best out of all."-Eileen Caddy, co-founder of the Findhorn Foundation Community

©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex 🔥🐦

All images are mine unless stated otherwise.


6
$ 2.60
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Good way to pass the time while the internet is coming. I was looking for this way of working, but it didn't give good results, I think I'll stick with Readcash.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am sorry about that my friend..Why didn't it give you good results?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of these sites are not available for Venezuela, we had a political problem with the USA, which made many other platforms close their doors to the country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sad to hear my friend. And I wish you will earn BCH here in read :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makakatipid ka ngapo sa oras pag work from home wala ng commute at tipid na sa pamasahe😊 Sana all marunong mag-uphehe

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Haha sana all talaga sis :) Someday magbabalik VA ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have done many freelance jobs from home, but no VA. Working in PJs is tempting, but I try hard not to do it, lol. And I like how you kill time when you lose internet connection, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can try to become a VA friend if you want :) Working in a PJs is one of the best feelings in the world :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know working in PJs is a great feeling, lol But I try to discipline myself and don't do it very often, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe :) If that is what you want lol but yeah I understand, we should still be like wearing something more decent even working at home :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing is that what to wear has become an issue with my teenage son's online classes, lol. So I need to serve as an example, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I get what you mean friend :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's interesting to become one :) Love the part where you had make up on when your internet was out. Nice!

And I somehow relate with you about taxation, lol! I did the same thing way back and even got penalized because I was late filing and having my receipts printed, lol! I was laughing at myself when I found out we can actually skip that part, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Talaga sis you can skip the filing and receipts? Parang ang tedious kasi nung nalaman ko tapos I need to transfer from my former RDO to a Caloocan RDO sakit sa bangs..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure though in your situation kasi baka you have been filing since. In my case kasi when I worked as an online consultant, I should have not registered in BIR kasi they didn't know naman. Yon, after I stopped, I needed to process closure in BIR too. Otherwise, their system would still think I am doing the same thing and would be penalized.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama sis, kahit ako nung nag WFM ako di ko binago tax status ko kasi sobrang hassle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe galing din kasi nila eh. Although online yung ibang transactions ngayon, hassle pa din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, kaya ayoko muna isipin :) Dun muna tayo sa medyo chill chill lang kasi stressful na tong pandemic wag na muna natin pansinin yan..We still pay our taxes dun sa mga products and services at some point naman :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the no commute part and the make up when bored lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha opo kasi I was the only one working for Amrita last time and we added 2 more people a few months after so sometimes it was really boring

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to be VA but I don't have the tools😂🤣maybe if I had I would pursue it. I like the part you don't need to wake up earlyy and even brush your teeth unless the PC or microphone has a nose.🤣🤣🤣🤣😂 thumps up

By the way I am new to this platform and I'm glad if you support my journey here. Thanks in advance❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello po, of course we will support you and welcome to read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis, naku ang hirap pala dito. Galing kasi ako sa kabila may nakita lang ako so ill try kung kaya ko din ba dito.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sang kabila po?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

noise.cash po.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah okay din dun need lang marami subscribers..Pero microblogging lang po dun :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo. 😁😆kaya big success na po kung makagagawa ako ng article na mahaba.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What was that??? I could not stop laughing while reading that line. No internet & you used make up to kill time? 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course my dear, what else would I do? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago