Why I Won't Avail Credit Card and Mobile Loans

2 20
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago

There are times that I thought of availing credit card because of its usefulness. When in need of money yet salary is still quite far, using credit card can save you to pay what is due. When I expressed to my wife that I want to have credit card, she told me never to get one.

These past weeks, GCash has been notifying me to avail of the G Credit. I'm not sure how it works well but probably similar with credit cards. I told my wife again, and she responded with a "no" again. I think she is right. She doesn't want me to experience what others are in to due to their debts not yet paid.


First, let's talk about mobile loans

There are times when I needed money badly, and I admit, I thought of borrowing from mobile loans. There are so many apps out there where you can borrow money, and easy to download on Google Play Store. Some of them claim getting approved is easy. However, I decided not to push through.

While watching a news program, there's a report when this person has complained to the authorities regarding the harassment she received for failing to pay her debt at the right time. She received death threats or even hurting her family, and there she decided to go to the authorities.

There are other scary stories of harassments from these mobile loan apps. Of course, it also happens from loan companies. Still, not paying debts is unjustifiable. It is everyone's obligation to pay what is due. Others are even hiding because they cannot pay their debts. They shouldn't have borrowed the money because the company will also suffer for the non-payment. Still, harassment is unjustifiable.

At one time, I received a message from a number that I don't know. Probably from a collecting agency or mobile loan app company. The message is an example of harassment. It says they know my details, and they will expose it if I won't be paying. First of all, the number I'm using that time is just two days old. It's a new SIM card. Further messages mentioned a name I don't know, probably the person who has the credit. Receiving such message triggered my anxiety, at the same time, I felt quite angry. I never had such obligations yet I received such message despite knowing it's not for me. I responded with these words.

"First of all, this phone number is only two-day old, and never used it for calling or messaging yet. Second, I have no debt obligations on you, and I never availed of any loans. If you are a scammer, stop it or you will be reported. Stop harrassing me!"

Yes, there are also stories when people receive such messages but those are scammers. It's a modus operandi, so don't ever fall for their traps.


Regarding Credit Cards

Of course, there are many people out there who fell for huge debts because of credit cards. It might be the interest or what, though some people are too impulsive buying even those unnecessary things.

Meanwhile, I have a friend who was shocked because she has to pay Php21k as appeared on her credit card bill. She remembered that her friend asked if she can pay her order through a shopping app, which she agreed. Of course, it's not the fault of her friend because she paid her for her order. But my friend's card number was hacked, and was used to buy expensive stuff. That's one of the reasons why my wife didn't want me to get a credit card.

There's also this person I know who fell with huge debts with his credit card during the pandemic. He was shocked that his credit is so high that despite the government's ruling to suspend interests with such stuff, which also included electric, water, and internet bills. Collecting agencies go to the barangay, who are going to the house sounding like harrassing the people in the household. However, those living in the house are just the siblings, and they are unaware of the debt. Harassment continued, and the person reached out to the judge who is lose to them. The judge said harassment is illegal, and what the barangay workers are doing is even wrong. Besides, the person who has debt is paying his due already in an installment basis. He already settled one of his bills, yet he received a call from someone telling him to pay his bills or else they will go to his house. The caller knows his details so the person was agitated.

The judge said that it's a modus operandi by collecting agencies even you already paid your bill. It's a kind of a scam that an individual might fall for and pay (despite already being paid) for his safety and his family.

These stories got me scared. How could private details about people are even shared. I'm not sure if banks are even liable for such. Why do collecting agencies are even tolerating such kind of harassment?

Because of these stories, I don't think I will avail of credit cards, mobile loans, etc. It's better to live within means, find other ways that will not compromise your safety and mental health.


Thanks to my sponsor/s below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 8.10
$ 8.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iyanpol12
2 years ago

Comments

it's okay not to get one sir if you don't feel like getting one.. on the other hand, it requires proper education and security if one has one just like us, we had no issues with our credit cards, it's even a way for us to manage our expenses...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay to get one pero kelangan talaga maging mindful sa paggamit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago