How do I save 100K Pesos to travel in 5 countries?

18 43
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago

If you have read my previous blog I made it to 5 countries in 2015, you might be curious about how I actually saved money for it.

Saving 100K Philippine Pesos is not easy but it took me 5-6 years to achieve it. I had no plans to travel back then because I was in a relationship. When I broke up with my boyfriend of 6 years, that's when I decided to travel to cope with a broken heart.

The original plan was to save money for Honda Scoopy and it costs 70K PHP. I want to travel around Cebu on a motorbike. It never happened. So the money for a motorbike was transferred for travel.

How to save 100K Pesos?

Well, there are many ways to save 100K Pesos. But this could be a way to save money for your future needs.

Living a simple lifestyle

When you live a simple lifestyle, it's less expensive. You only live below your means. You don't buy expensive bags and you don't go to a fast-food restaurant to eat. You don't buy too many clothes and too many shoes. Don't be too materialistic.

Apply for a savings account

When you don't have one, please apply for a savings account. Before, I had bank accounts with the following: Bank of the Philippine Islands or BPI, UnionBank of the Philippines, MetroBank, Banco de Oro or BDO.

I had MetroBank when I was working with Jollibee and BPI when I was working with ACS. I have UnionBank when I started working online.

Prepare your requirements such as valid IDs (posted ID, national ID, TIN, passport), 1x1 or 2x2 photo, and money for the initial deposit. Ask your desired bank for more information.

Open a time deposit account

I had savings account on BDO and decided to open a time deposit with them because it was the nearest bank I had from my hometown. I started with 10K Pesos as it was my extra money then put another 10K Pesos. The purpose is not to touch the money for some time. It got an interest every month. It wasn't that big. Ask the bank for more information.

Create a travel fund

Bank accounts nowadays have the capability to let you set aside money through your online bank account. Aside from your main savings account, it can let you transfer money every month. So, I keep it as a travel fund.

You can also open another bank account for the purpose of a travel fund account only. I save at least 20K Pesos.

Invest in the stock market

I have some extra money and invest in the stock market. I bought stocks from JFC or Jollibee Foods Corporation, ALI or Ayala Land Inc, BDO or Banco de Oro. I bought stocks that are blue chips companies.

COL Financial Stock Market Investing – How to Open an Account?

Part-time job as a Wedding Photographer

During my free time, I accepted clients for wedding photography. Most of my customers were classmates in high school and common friends. I bought a Nikon D5100 camera to pursue my hobby of photography. I got enticed by weddings so I took up some workshops about wedding photography.

Also read: I was 22 with my First Home Business - Personalized Mugs, Digital Prin...

Make sure to have an active income

I worked as a Virtual Assistant so read more about it here:

What did I use to do as a Virtual Assistant?

10 months working in the office, 10+ years working online while travel...

Digital Nomad Articles

As a digital nomad, I bring my work with me so whatever happens when I missed a flight, I can still work at the airport.

Why Thailand is the best place for digital nomads?

What is a Digital Nomad?

From a Digital Nomad to a Plain Housewife

Originally published this article at - How I Saved 100K Philippine Peso to Travel 5 Countries?

11
$ 7.83
$ 7.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 4
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago

Comments

Galing. Sana magawa ko rin to..pero enough ba 100K sa 5 countries?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to have an active income while traveling coz I work online. So if gusto ko mag 5 countries dati, at least I need that amount of 100k.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

believe it or not, sa crypto ra jd ko nakasave ug more than 100k money.. salamat sa crypto jd..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao na akong next goal Hahaha kay bago ra jud ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the ideas. Ito mga need ko para makapag save up din ng nice amounts. 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabi sis, you deserve those travels. Kugihan kaayu ka sis and now you are reaping what you sow. Enjoy na enjoy ka sa imong mga travels. Makainspired uy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually planning to travel Singapore this year, I also did the same way like you did to save money. I didn't think it'll work out but yes, I did it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka-inspire naman po. I am now living simply as well to save more money for my travel fund instead of buying stuff.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I prefer the second account as sometimes I forgot and can accidentally touch the main account. Wow multiple sources of income. I do want to travel to most places before the age of 25, thanks for sharing your way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow grabe sis kadaghan ato, Maka inspire uy🥰,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy grabe naman ito ate. Nainspire ako sa paano ka nakaipon ng 100k. But for now, since hindi pa naman ako graduate, take time muna to study. Since lifetime naman ako magwowork after. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you deserve it sis because you are such a hardworking person. Deserve mo lahat ano meron ka today. Kaya patuloy mo lang yan. Sana makapag ipon din ng 100k. Hehehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ka daghan og ganap nimo sis ,pero tan awa ron daghan nakag naabot .Wow ,congrats ,bisan asa na ka mo travel🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Daming ganap sa life mo sis. Hindi talaga basta basta magtravel, magastos, pero yong experience maganda naman. Excited to read more of your linked articles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woww. You are totally a multitasker sis. Galing naman, deserve na deserve ung travel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing, stock market investor ka pala sis.. recently I was planning to enter stock market too. I just don't know what broker is reliable yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I use COL Financial check mo sila

$ 0.00
1 year ago