Hospital Experience: Giving Birth in France

23 43
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

What it feels like to give birth in France?

In this blog post, I will share with you my hospital experience here in France. Just so you know, I've never been hospitalized in my life like being admitted for few days in the Philippines. Thank goodness I don't have to experience that because I could not afford to get sick. Although I experienced as an outpatient for minor surgery in Cebu, I just went home after. But the smells in the hospital, I just don't like it.

In my hospital room in France giving birth to my daughter, the second child

Giving birth is a different experience and the hospital experience here was astounding. It feels like I was giving birth in a hotel. I had my own room with a spacious bathroom. The food doesn't feel like hospital food. I am not sure how to say this but I think most of the people in the Philippines don't like to eat the food prepared in the hospital. They prefer to buy food from different fast-food chains.

Hospital food for lunch

The Hospital Food

There are three meals in a day: breakfast, lunch, and dinner. For breakfast, I had bread, butter, fruit jam, coffee with milk/hot chocolate/hot tea of your choice, and orange juice. For lunch, you always have a starter, the main course, fruits, and dessert. For dinner, it's the same for lunch but the menu will change daily. Sometimes I had couscous, beef, pork, fish, lasagna and other normal French meals.

Cesarean Section Delivery for Both Babies

I have different experiences with C-section deliveries for both kids after giving birth. With my son, the firstborn, it was traumatic for me because I was in labor for 12 hours. The next day, the midwife told me an emergency CS was needed. It took me four days before I was able to get out of the hospital bed. Confined in the hospital for 10 days. Fortunately, my son was perfectly fine. My body wasn't able to recover easily. I felt like I was too lazy to move or do the home chores and just wanted to stay in bed. For several months, I felt so sluggish.

With my daughter, the second-born, I knew already that it will be CS delivery again. I was in labor at home early in the morning without any idea that I was really in labor. Until I asked my friends on FB and told me to go to the hospital. I just waited for my turn to be in the delivery room since there were five moms ahead of me. It was quick compared to my first, around 4 PM, the baby was out. The next day, I got out of bed to go to the bathroom. I stayed in the hospital for 5 days. Now at 2 months postpartum, I can move and do some home chores. Maybe I will have a separate post on this about the details.

I'm Alone in the Hospital at Night

My husband never sleeps overnight in the hospital as he had work to do. Also, he had to attend to our son to give food, give a bath, and change diapers. So he visited me in the morning and in the evening. The midwives were there to give me my meals and I just give them a ring when I need help with the baby. My son never visited me in the hospital because of chickenpox.

Two CS deliveries within Two Years

I felt like I was pregnant for two years straight. There was a time I got depressed because I felt I don't own my body anymore. I lost my freedom. The pandemic made us stay at home and not traveling. The mom-guilt of not taking care of my son because I was in my last trimester. We faced a health crisis: we got covid, I got shingles, my husband and son had chickenpox. It wasn't easy.

Although I really suffered during pregnancies and after giving birth to the first child, somehow I was very chill and relaxed after giving birth to the second. I am fortunate that my two kids are perfectly fine. Right now, I just need to be healthy and improve myself so that I can help my husband doing the home chores.

12
$ 1.72
$ 1.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 2
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations ma'am having a kids is a beautiful and amazing feelings as a woman, if you start in C section you will end C section hehehe but congrats

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa 2 kids and both c section. The thought of being cut open is not enjoyable but good thing the hospital there did a great job. 👍👍👍

French citizen n din pla mga anak m nyan. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep yon kasi gusto ng papa. Buti naka alis ng Pinas before the lockdown happened eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos hehe buti na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agoy. Relax sa jud ayaw sa na pun.e. Naa me baby diria sauna, ako nephew, nagkabuang na gali meg bantay. Hehe. Samot na ng imuha na gasunod.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ug ako ra mahabilin usa, disaster. hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Samot na jud nag mudako na ng isa unya mag ilog nas duwaan. Struggle is real jud ba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i hope di mag ilog. amo tudloan nga need mag share.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving birth to a child has not been easy, I always appreciate women for this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. Appreciate your mother. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napalunok ako ng laway nung nakita ko ma 2 cs in 2 years. Im an eCS mom dn..iba ang challenge and battles sa mommies like us tapos ung ibang or most of the time ung mga may edad they'll give an eye roll sa mga CS mommies kasi di daw inire. Haaaaay. Hugs for us mamsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feb 2020 and Jul 2021 ba naman ako...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe kalami sa ilang food ba... di sad ko ganahan jd sa food sa hospital.. may gani 2 days ra mi ddto... pero tinuod jd na imong giingon, murag di na nato own atong body sa dihang manganak ta... makasad pero makahappy man sad...di masabot..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas nalipay nuon ko nga nanganak nako para mogaan nag balik akong lawas. Sakit lang jud ning bug at kay way tarong tog. Kun sayon lang lage magmabdos ug manganak, magpapuno jud mi. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nalipay nuon ko nga nanganak nako para mogaan nag balik akong lawas. Sakit lang jud ning bug at kay way tarong tog. Kun sayon lang lage magmabdos ug manganak, magpapuno jud mi. Hahaha

hahaha gani noh? paeta pod ning mabuntis uy dugay kau mogawas 9 months pa..then naa pay sleepless nights inig new born

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kun pwede Lang sayon manganak para kita daghan liwat haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kamo maoy maau paliwatan kay half hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ganahan makakitag daghan liwat akong bana ug FIL. Ug pwede daw twins. Haha galisod gani kos usa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

n makakitag daghan liwat akong bana ug FIL.

lols... murag cool ra imong bana..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap nga ng CS sis at dalawang beses pa. Iba kasi pag normal delivery dahil pwde ka agad magkikilos. Wag ka muna mag madali mag gawa ng mga gawain baka mabinat ka. Parehas pala tayo magkasunod na nagbuntis. Parang walang pahinga sa pag aalaga ng bata dahil dalawa ang aasikasuhin. Pero sa awa ng diyos nakaya ko partida dalawa silang bine breastfeed ko. Kaya mo yan sissy. Lavaarn lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lavaarn lang talaga. My son is 19 months old now and he stopped breastfeeding at 13 months. I forced him to. My daughter is 2 months old and sya na lang binibreastfeed ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I'm a male, I know how hard it is to have CS. It's not just the CS that's problematic but the months after that. I've seen a neighbor do CS and after that she got depressed for doing nothing because she's a workaholic but she mustn't move alot. Congratulations to your 2 babies !!!! Also I think the hospital in France is way more better than in Philippines. Hello hello there welcome to read.cash!!! I'm happy to be your 4th subscriber goodluckkkk on your journey

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Yes, I can relate. I love to work doing the job that I love. The transition from workaholic to new momma is not easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago