To my Tatay....

2 7
Avatar for isla_20
2 years ago

It's been 4 years since I last celebrated the Father's Day with my Father. How time flies so fast, it still feel like yesterday when we laughed together with his jokes. It still feel like yesterday when he would tease me with boyfriend stuffs. It still feel like yesterday when he would bring me to the bus stop and would wait for me to go home from school. It still feel like yesterday when he would bring us some food when he got home from all days work. It still feel like yesterday when he would put his arms around my shoulders in front of his friends and brag about how well I've done in my studies. It still feel like yesterday when he would brag about me with his colleagues that someday I'll be his only daughter who have finished a degree. It still feel like yesterday when he would want me to serve his food. It still feel like yesterday when he would share his plans for our family with me.

Yes, we are not like the typical father and daughter. We have this father and daughter relationship which is more like a friendship. My father would share his plans and problems with me. He was so protective when I was still in high school but it all changed when I turned 18. He would let me do the things that I want. He now let me do a sleepover at my friend's house which he forbids me years ago. He can openly joke about me having a boyfriend but not years ago. We would hang out together as a family and talk about life.

Despite the bond that we had there are still things that I was not able to tell him. I wasn't able to tell him that I love him. I wasn't able to tell him that I am proud of being his daughter, that I'm proud for having him as my father. I wasn't able to tell him how thankful I am everytime he would bring me to the bus stop. I wasn't able to tell him everyday to take care of his self. I didn't even greet him "Happy Father's Day". I had all the chances to do such things but I didn't. I was so coward. I wasn't able to show him, them, how much I loved and cared for them. I regretted all of it. If only I can turn those times back again, I would tell them how much I love them, each and everyday. Of only I had known that they will be gone too soon I would behave differently and wouldn't give them headache and heartaches.

Time really is important. Time really is gold. If you can do something right now, right at this moment, do it. Tell your parents that you love them. Tell them that you care for them. Thank them for taking care of you and for providing your needs, even your wants. Hug them tight and let them feel the warmth of your embrace. Listen to what they say. Be proud of them. Do it. Right now. Before it's too late. Before you regret what you never did. Because we never know what tomorrow would bring.

Sponsors of isla_20
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
Sponsors of isla_20
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for isla_20
2 years ago

Comments

Awww. It's really sad when death happens. We always have regrets.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. My biggest regret is that I was not able to tell them how much I love them

$ 0.00
2 years ago