A Mother's Love

17 35
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Love is a thing that has a lot of definitions for we have more ways than one in showing it. Our way of showing love is unique and it will always be different from the others. But despite all those differences, one thing remains and that is the fact that love is immeasurable. There are no guidelines, directions, formula or whatsoever to measure how we love. We just love and we love in our own way. End of the story.

Aside from the 5 types of showing love which are (1) words of affirmation, (2) acts of service, (3) receiving love, (4) quality time and (5) physical love, another example that I can give to you is the way how mothers love their children.

The give it all type

This type of mother shows her love to her children through giving everything they want. As long as she can, or even if she can’t, she will always find a way just to give what her child wants. This type of mother is someone that you can only ask once and surely, she’ll give in to you. However, she has a tendency to spoil her child too much causing the child lack of discipline.

I can compare this type of mother to my eldest sister who doesn’t even get angry to her child and will always give what her child wants. My niece doesn’t lack discipline though but I admit, she really is spoiled and acts like a baby and throw tantrums when she doesn’t get what she wants so my sister will give in immediately.

The sacrificer

This is the type of mothers who are light hearted. They just can’t see their child suffer so they rather sacrifice themselves than to see their children having a hard time. I mean, all mothers don’t want to see their child suffer but this type of mom take that to a higher level. For instance, the youngest child was tasked by his older siblings to wash the dishes, and he doesn’t want to, so the mother will wash the dishes instead. This is the type of mother who will blender the food for her child so that her child will just have to sip it. Honestly, I was supposed to say ‘munch’ the food for her child so that the child will only need to swallow it but that’s kind of gross so let’s just settle to blender.

This type of mother is where I can relate the most. Not because I’m a mother which I am definitely not, but because this type of a mother is exactly my mom. She’s actually my inspiration for this type of mother and to be honest, I hate to admit it but I’m also the spoiled one. Perks of being the youngest. LOL. But hey, I’m proud that I’m not a brat. Just spoiled, but not a brat.

The disciplinarian

This type of mother is the tough one and her role as a mother must really be tough for her. You see, I really think that mothers will always want to give everything to their children but this type of mother knows the boundaries whether if what’s her child is asking is good for her child’s health or not. For example, the child already had chocolate and the child wants more but enough is enough so the mother will not give the child any more chocolate.

This type of mother is somehow my other sister. She’s not that strict but in terms of things that are not good for her child, she will always say no, and even though my nephew cries, when it’s a no, it’s a no.

The endurer

This type of mother is someone I can compare to mothers who are working abroad or in a far place from their home. They have to endure being away from their children just so they could work and provide for them. This must be really tough for both the mother and the children. For the parents, it’s hard being away for their children and for the children, it must also be really hard to grow up without having your mother on your side.

I cannot imagine the feeling but I do hope time will come that all those parents won’t have to work on a far place anymore and for the child to be more understanding to their parents for not being there at their side.

The one ask away

This type of mother is kind of similar to the give it all type but this one is for a mother whose children are already grown ups. This is the type of mother who still supports, guide and even provide for her children even if they already have their own family.

Few days ago, I encountered this customer who’s already a senior citizen. She asked me to accompany her to withdraw her money from the ATM and while we’re walking to the bank, we had a little chitchat and I found out that she’ll give the money that she’ll withdraw to her son who recently got married. She’s already old and a widow but she still works. On my opinion, it should be the children providing for their parents if they are already old and it should not be the other way around but I guess, I would never understand the point of view of this mother. She just loves her son so much that she will still give him what he needs even though she can barely provide for herself.


I’m sure that there are still a lot of ways how mothers/parents show their love to their children and these types which I have mentioned above are just something that I have observed from the different mothers around me.

As I have said, we have different mothers and they have different ways of showing love. Aside from that, their own way of loving is unique. But one thing is for sure, they love us. Maybe, there are times when we think they don’t because their way of showing love is not the thing that we want. Also, let’s accept the fact that there is no perfect parent, it’s an ongoing and a never ending process so let’s give them an allowance to make mistake and to learn.

I don’t know, this could be biased, I might be wrong, but this is just my opinion. If you’re a mother, can you tell me which type of mother are you? And if you’re the child, which type is your mother? Hmm.

Lastly, to all mothers out there, your role is tough and I salute you for that. Thanks for being a good mother to us and for always trying to be the best mother that we could have.


**my thoughts after writing this: LOL. This looks like a Mother’s Day Special article.

11
$ 10.71
$ 10.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 6
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Nothing beats a Mother's love talaga. The best! Walang makaka measure kung gaano ka laki yung love ng parents natin especially sa mga mama natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kasi naman, walang sukat. iba talaga mother's love kasi, mga bigay todo e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same thought after reading it haha I grew up with a strict, disciplinarian, working mom but she became care-free and like a sister to me when I graduated college. I know she only wants what's best for me. Probably I'd be a give it all mom at times but most of the time, disciplinarian. Maybe a combination of two or three? I always wanted to be someone my future child can lean on, like a best friend kind of mom.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww that's so nice! Mothers should also be a disciplinarian somehow, kids need to be nagged sometimes. Lol

As I've said, love doesn't have an exact formula so maybe a combination of many types would be great. :)

Your mom is cool, btw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

halos lahat ng iyan eh common na sa isang ina, what I mean is asa kanya na ang lahat. Well, hindi ako close sa mother ko eh kaya di ko masasabi anong personality niya as a mom sakin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh, pero kahit papaano naman siguro, love ka din ng mom mo. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I doubt hehe.. pero ok na ung love is sa anak ko na lang ibigay. Kaya ko naman na kahit di nya ko love eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother's love is the best type of love we will experience for the rest our live. Appreciation and a salute for all mothers out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

salute to all mothers! It's not easy, it will never be easy yet they never complain about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Verry vell said, there are lot of types of a mother but one things the same is they give the uncoditioanl love to their siblings. They sacrifice, endure,and give everything they have and what their chikdrwns want for good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very well said too! that's why I really adore every mothers. It's tough to be one and they are doing a great job being a mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother was a disciplinarian but soft-hearted haha, I remember when I was young she always scolded me and even spang me with hanger, but she will fight for my father if he do things to me. Sound amazing sometimes how theloved of that old woman to her child, but differ nakaka-awa siya kasi for sure imbis na bili niya gamit niya bigay nalang sa anak niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how mothers are! Syempre nung bata tayo di natin narerealize yun pero ngayon, pag naiisip mo talaga, literal kasi na isusubo nalang nila ibibigay pa nila satin. Ngayon ko talaga narerealize and naappreciate lahat e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makes me think saan kaya ako dyan. hehehe. But I am a mix one I think, disciplinarian and endurer. Even if my kids will cry for wanting something, if enough na enough na talaga. And I can endure things by God's grace for the family that He has blessed me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praise God! Ganon dapat talaga, enough is enough. Pero on my case, enough is enough nga si ate pero yung tita, which is me ay continue sa pagspoiled sa pamangkin haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed this read showing different love from our mother. But all in all. Our mothers are still the best and we need to give them utmost respect and care for we can never payback all they have given to us when we were younger.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you! We really can't pay them back enough for all the things they've done for us but what we can do for them is to give them respect and to care for them specially that they're not getting any younger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago