Nafakhum victory on foot

1 22
Avatar for ilias
Written by
3 years ago

Despite my reluctance, I was forced to go to bed shortly after 10:30 pm. The organizer said, take your own kantha-blanket with you. Inexperience was not just ours! This blanket increased the weight of our bag by several kilograms. But in this cottage in Remakri, even in the hotel where I stayed in Thanchi on the third night, there was a clean, odorless quilt-kantha-blanket-pillow. So I never used my own blanket. Everyone in my family scolded me for being rude. But when I woke up the next morning after hearing a knock on the door, I found out that everyone in my family except me was suffering from the cold, and their sleep was not good because of this. Even I was the only one who was sweating a little last night. I was lying in the cottage with the usual blanket.

A hut at Remakri Bazar in the foothills of Dhaka in the early morning fog;

Although not due to the winter, there were several other reasons for sleep deprivation. One of the other guests in our cottage was a group of university students. They were bar-b-queing in the backyard of the cottage and making a lot of noise. Right next to our head was the door of the next room, which some of the students were opening and closing with awkward noises. In line with this noise pollution, when our heads and eyes have been able to concentrate on their own work, just then “catch this! Hold on! Thief! Thief! ” Hearing the screams, I had to eat a lot. Realizing to be a little accustomed, the scream was from one of our team from the room next to ours. At the same time, I heard that the other people in the house, who had not seen the thief, were trying to comfort him by saying that he was "seeing something wrong in his sleep." But when I heard the noise from the yard, I was convinced that the thief had come. He came through the window of the house, which had no bars, and which our brothers had left open to let the lungi dry even in this severe winter. And fled to the top of the railing of the front porch of the house.

Remakri fountain in the foggy morning;

Ready for a colorful dinghy ride along the Remakri market;

Remacreen public life waking up in the fog-covered morning;

In this incident, the sleep of everyone in our house became a bit forbidden. So we start telling stories. But just then one of our brothers in the next room said, “Don't talk anymore, go to sleep now! I'm counting to 1-10, fall asleep in it. ” I was both surprised and angry at the same time. Who is he to say that we will not talk or sleep? Crazy or not? I thought to myself, I will get up in the morning and settle the matter. The solution to this mystery is after that day, that is, after the third dinner. Vaira's threat was aimed at a girl in another house. In fact, we only heard the lines on one side of that conversation. So misunderstood.

Whatever the sleep, I got up very early and got ready for trekking. Everyone means except my mother, cousin and her daughter. It was about 6:30 in the morning when we left. As soon as he left the house, the fog-covered Remakri touched his heart. What an amazing beauty! Really natural! Seeing such a beautiful dawn, I could not wait any longer. Our first destination was Remakri Bazaar, where we had our morning tea and breakfast. After leaving the cottage and walking across the Sangur canal on a winter's morning, the Remakri Bazaar.

A huge steamed cake with sugar is being made;

This laughter was not more than the warmth of the fire in the winter in the morning?

I noticed here that all kinds of sweet foods use some salt. And in a very large hill steamed cake, according to the general rules, sugar is given instead of molasses. Steamed cakes (I ate a few divided meals), parota, fried eggs, semolina pudding (no one actually ate it because it was salty), breakfast with mountain bananas and tea After recovering from these, the main trekking started at around 8 in the morning. In the meanwhile, I try to capture the beauty of this small hilly village surrounded by morning mist and the morning life of its indigenous people.

Nafakhum Trek

This is one of the most special and memorable experiences of my life. An accident in 2011 tore the ligament in my right knee and disrupted my normal life. But at the same time, it has increased my zeal to overcome this obstacle. So no matter how hard it was, I was steadfast - I will finish this trek. I finished - as the slowest and last member of the team. But this long and friendly journey was arranged by nature with its own hands. And with that filled my pocket of experience. But some regrets remain. Even though I had a life jacket, I didn't take it with me for the reason of 'weight gain', so even if I wanted to, I couldn't swim in the water without knowing how to swim. However, the warm clothes worn on the body in the cold weather just increased the weight, after about 10 minutes of walking. We were told, "6-7 hours walk", but neither I nor my sister had any idea that this walk would be so friendly.

The hill woman who won the battle of daily life;

Shortly after the start of the journey, I was hit by a rock behind the bushes, and when I came in contact with the cold water, I realized that it was well. My brother then just finished the eighth grade scholarship exam. And he has no habit of hard work at all. So crossing this path was a great opportunity to increase his morale. But physically he was quite broken. Shortly after the journey, we had to cross water bodies of different depths. A part of it was almost as deep as near my waist. And when we reach the middle of that part, a tribal shepherd with a group of mountain cows crosses the same place. We were shocked to see the physical constitution of the cows. On the way back, I drank a lot of water to quench my thirst. However, to quench the thirst for water, the light sweet, clear, cold water of the mountain springs, even if it matches the thirsty throat, it feels like nectar.

Needless to say, I took numerous pictures. Trekking is not only physically and mentally challenging. Rather, in this type of trekking, it is possible to easily overcome physical disability due to one's own intelligence. At a place very close to Nafakhum, I assumed that the end was probably not over. By the grace of God an alternative and relatively dangerous method immediately came to my mind. And even if I can't see others in the normal way, I can successfully cross that place with risk.

Guide mountain teenager;

The journey is more interesting than the destination; Reaching Nafakhum, I face this truth once again. In winter, we will see the monster-shaped form of the fountain - even if we don't expect it, it feels more adventurous to cross such a difficult path with so much difficulty. On the way back, I saw many groups of tents and fresh chickens moving towards the fountain, which means camping and bar-b-que at night. Seeing them reminded me of a newspaper article I read about Tindu and its surroundings sixteen years ago, where I first came to know about Tindu. I also saw a family of 5-6 year old children and 50-year-old elderly grandparents and middle-aged parents. Seeing them boosts the confidence of all of us. Around 3 pm we finished the trek and reached the cottage in Remakri. Since I did not have much time on hand, I hurried to the tribal house the night before, had lunch with rice, pulses, mash and chicken and started my journey back to Thanchi Bazar by boat.

After dusk, a variety of dried fish stalls are set up at a certain place in this market. I had no idea until then that there are so many types of dried fish in our country. I was most surprised to see sharks of different ages. I still can't express my feelings about it. On the one hand, human livelihood and a completely different food, and on the other hand, the shark population is extinct. I thought, isn't this also like catching hilsa eggs or jatka? I know what! But I was even more surprised when I realized that the blind mother of my chappa shoutki did not even touch a shoutki, far from buying!

Bamboo raft;

Return journey through the middle of the hill;

We took a break twice in total at Thanchi market. Once on the way to get lunch and permission, and the second time on the way back from the trek to Nafakhum, the third night, which we spent in a residential hotel in this market. The height of this hotel is less than two storeys, but more than one storey. Due to this height, these hotels have been arranged like a two-storey hotel with cardboard inside. Arriving at this hotel, I met a local ‘poet’ who was also with us in Nafakhum in the morning, but in a different group. He gave me a book of his own, so that there were more politically influenced pictures than poems.

But thanks to being 'familiar' with him, we could easily get four rooms for rent, which was almost impossible even a while ago. The worst part of all these hotels is their washrooms. So check a little before renting the hotel. And of course try to book in advance, although it will not be as easy as booking at other hotels. There are also a number of restaurants here, where not only tribal, but also ordinary local food is sold. In Thanchi we had lunch on the second day, dinner on the third day and breakfast on the fourth day. Ordinary pulses, rice, chicken, fish, vegetables, bread, parota and fried eggs were on the menu. The taste of the food is fairly good.

On the fourth day, that is, on the last day of the trip, after having breakfast very early in the morning, we started our journey again on the way to Bandarban in the moon car. It was the main religious festival of the Christians - Christmas. Our first stop was the cloud-covered Nilgiris. I can see clouds under my feet - it has been like a fairy tale to me for so long. It was as if we were surrounded by clouds. But the sunlight at 10 in the morning was not at all conducive for taking pictures. It even looked pretty hot. In fact, eucalyptus can be seen more comfortably after sunset in the morning or afternoon. After that, even though it was planned, we did not stop anywhere. Tea break was given only once. After that it was a break to reach the hotel in Bandarban city.

Woman shawl seller woven in loom;

After lunch at a restaurant in the city, we go shopping in groups and explore the city. I got coffee at hand and tasted it twice. After dinner at the same hotel, we started our journey on the Dhaka-bound bus at around 10:30. At 4 in the morning we reached our destination. But the mind stays in the mountains. When we went trekking, there were 3 of our team guarding the luggage. When he came back, he was sad to hear his mother's regret. He wanted to get out of the cottage and visit Remakri. Honestly, we all thought it would be nice to spend the third night in Remakri. That's when I decided that if I survived, I would go back to heaven. The simple life there is really enviable!

Shoes made of rubber are available for trekking. Price is one hundred to one hundred and fifty rupees. It can also be bought from Dhaka, again if you want it can be bought anywhere in Bandarban. We bought it from Remakri Market. The price of shoes did not include the initial cost of the trip at Tk 7,000 per person.

The whole party in the Nilgiris;

Thanks for reading this article for so long.

If you like it Upvote Can give.


2
$ 0.37
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ilias
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

👍👍👍 Sounds good❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago