A Slice of Me

2 79
Avatar for iamHeavenbound
2 years ago

Let me tell you something about me by telling you some of the things I hate and love. Let’s be more positive so let me talk about the things I love first.

First, I love being free. I decide on my own. I go anywhere whenever I want to. I eat what I want whether it is good for me or not. I go home whenever I want and even wherever I want. I earn and spend also on whatever pleases me. Such a beautiful definition of freedom, ain’t it?

This freedom however is all in the past. In college, I learned to live on my own and do almost everything on my own. I was in fact self-sufficient and I loved it that way. The perks however came with a price. I had to work a lot almost not leaving any time for rest. I had to juggle my tasks as a student and a worker at the same time. It wasn’t easy but I managed. All so I thought.

Now, let’s just say that how I understood freedom revamped. I am now a parent to three amazing children. It’s true I couldn’t enjoy that freedom I once relished but I am not deprived of freedom. In fact, I have more freedom now. While the kids are at their tender years, I am given the privilege to decide for them, hone them and perhaps manipulate them? hahhahahah (evil laugh)

I enjoy my freedom now quite differently. This is because I believe that LOVE is freedom. When we love, we are bound by laws because loving is more outward than inward. Thus, as I show my love to my kids, I am actually enjoying my freedom. While I decide for them, it is also my way of training them to learn to make better decisions when they will have to stand on their own and decide for themselves. As a result, I pray for them to become productive individuals and citizens of worth not only for themselves but for the society as a whole. In the end, freedom will be enjoyed not only by them but also by the people around them. That is real freedom.

Second, I love food.

When I was younger, I was so skinny despite the volume of food I take in. During those days, people would bully me and call me names such bamboo stick, walking stick or just stick. Because of that, I always hated my body built. By the way, I was taller than most of the kids my age. My height was never an advantage for me then especially that I was even taller than the boys. I thought I would never find love because it would be difficult to find a man taller than me. Hilarious right? But that was how I felt then. Consequently, I ate more and anything in the hope of gaining more significant fats to fill in the scrawny body. This was to the point of not being able to control my appetite.

When I got married and had children, I miraculously gained weight and then it didn’t stop. My cravings for food did not subside though but I am trying my best to lose weight now not only to look good but also to maintain good health. Looking back at how people treated me then, I realized that the other people’s judgement about me gave a great impact on how I tried to live my life. I lived full of inhibitions in life while in fact, I was the sexiest then among us all and I even have a very good height had I known earlier. Well, those were all in the past and I still have the present to manage. I am just thankful that I learned significant lessons and I will have to teach them to my kids.

Finally, I love teaching. In fact, I am a teacher and I have been teaching for some time now. At a young age, I always saw my teachers as awesome people for they are a monopoly of knowledge. I thought they are the most intelligent people in this planet as they know a lot; they knew everything. From the beginning then, I have dreamt of becoming one of them. Unlike many who did not pursue their childhood dreams, I did become a teacher. Just after graduation, I managed to get employed as a teacher in an international school with students of various nationalities.

I moved from one school to another looking for my fit place to complete the puzzle. At present, I am not really sure if I am indeed in the right place. I still long for more but only God knows where should I be in the next years to come. I am just lucky that I am not jobless at this difficult time.

What do I hate?

I used to hate a lot. I say ‘used’ because I am trying to trim them down because there would be no room in my heart for love if I fill it with hate. So, let me just talk about one thing I hate.

I hate it when I feel like I couldn’t do anything right. I know you have had this feeling too at some point in your life. I also know that you know how it feels exactly.

As I have said, let us not dwell on those things that do not seem pleasing to us. They could be very stressful. So, I am going to end my self introduction here. There will be more to come as I continue writing.

_________________________________________________

1 Thessalonians 5:18

18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

 

 

 

3
$ 3.06
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @MizLhaine
Sponsors of iamHeavenbound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iamHeavenbound
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing the things that love and hate. I am glad to meet another teacher here. Keep going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, you're a teacher too? nice meeting you. Be reading your articles in a while

$ 0.00
2 years ago