Christians: It is a blessing.

9 44
Avatar for heartbeat1515
2 years ago
Topics: Thought, Writing, Story, Blog, Blogging, ...

I want to share a few stories that happened to me lately. Recently there too many people at my workplace are detected positive Covid-19 and they needed to be quarantined for 5 to 10 days at least. This brings to the lack of manpower in our whole system. We, the leftover that survives or escaped the infection needs to do a little bit of extra work to cover for them and hang on until everything subsides if it will subside.

If I tell you that it is not tiring, not stressful and not bordering me, I am lying. Every day, we need to be an extra alert, extra cautious and extra precaution. I wonder if all of that does help to prevent the infection.

Naturally, nobody can suppress human needs for freedom. Not everyone can stay at home and continue restricting themselves from doing the things they love such as travelling, recreation, hanging out with friends and family, sports, and a lot more. They deserve to do things that make them happy for the sake of a healthy mind.

What kills people more than a Covid can do?

Mental illness. This illness can make living people look dead or make a happy go lucky person die tomorrow. An unhealthy mind will kill people with or without a vaccine.

I have a patient that we managed to help to stand and transfer to a wheelchair. He is big and tall. It took all our strength to help him bit by bit every day. His daughter is smiling at his father progression in the process. She is one in a million caretaker. A very good one.

The patient is improving well but the day he is supposed to go home to her daughter, his condition changed. Deteriorated by day and not long after he is gone. It is sad for us. He is not here anymore but the memory of him and all the effort we gave him is still lingering in our hearts. I don't ever want to forget this kind and motivated patient.

That is one of the mental depressing causes that we need to face every day. Hopeless and disappointed. Sadness and fear. Will he or she make it? He or she is doing very well. Why? If we keep questioning, we will break down. We learned to let out our emotion at once, let it go and move on. Sounds cruel? It is a need because another patient is waiting for us. We can't give up easily.

Last week.

I was very upset with two of my patient that keep refusing to do their exercises. They have been refusing me for almost a week and I am only able to treat them once in that week.

This week.

I should remember not to be upset next time. Both of the patients are tested positive for Covid and I have to go for a test as required. Luckily my test came out negative and I can continue working.

Back to the tiring situation.

The leftover needs to keep on working on the double. Well, sounds frustrating? It is not.

It is a blessing.

The moment our status changed from 'suspected' to 'Fit work', we are blessed. Being able to keep working is a blessing because we are still safe from the virus. This is what I told my friends and I believe it.

Being rejected by the patients, being able to cover for the quarantined and being able to keep working, is a blessing.

Strong heart.

I changed some of my daily profile names to 'strong heart' as a reminder for myself.

To remind me that if I can't handle my feelings and mix emotion with work, I am going to break down.

I need to work professionally and be strong for those I treat. If I am weak, they will be worse.

It's not going to be easy but I believe I can do the best I can.

That is the only thing I can do.

You should too. Do best you can. We are not going to win this fight alone but we should be able to win this together. No matter who we are.

6
$ 8.41
$ 8.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
+ 1
Avatar for heartbeat1515
2 years ago
Topics: Thought, Writing, Story, Blog, Blogging, ...

Comments

Are you a nurse or doctor? It seems you are in the medical field because you are caring of a patient.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not both. I am only a physical therapist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh physical therapist. Something related to medical though. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, I understand your feeling. Have to display a perfect smile to everyone even after encountering death. Thats so distressing. Stay strong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luckily, now wearing a mask is mandatory here therefore it is easier to do so as long as we can hold in the tears.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get it but you can't hold the pain inside. ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned to let go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The situation that we have all been through due to the consequences of the pandemic is very difficult. But we have had to get used to living in a pandemic, not leaving home much, hanging on vacations. Maybe to miss a few days of work and even do the work of those who are missing because they are infected. But let's not lose hope of someone returning to our routine before. Greetings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will not lose hope and continue hanging on until it is all over. It is supposed to be called our life now due to adaptation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago