Christians: Is it enough?

9 36
Avatar for heartbeat1515
2 years ago

Being born in a Christian family, going to church every Sunday, praying for every meal, praying the rosary every day and reading the bible every night. Is it enough? To be called a Christian? If nothing of the above has been done, is that person being considered not worthy of being a Christian?

Each one of us has our own thoughts and I do not think anybody is wrong. Each of us has our own faith and principle. We deserve to stand for ourselves, but it does not mean that everyone else who has a different opinion than us is wrong.

There is a book that my father gave me long ago. I love that book so much. There is a lot of story in it, and I will share some of it with you.

There were three siblings walking home from their Sunday class and the eldest child ask a question.

"Emily," John said to his younger sister. "Which one of us do you think our parents love the most?"

Emily answered, "Mom and dad love me the most because I am the only daughter they have, but they also love you the most because you are the firstborn child in the family and of course they love peter too because he is the youngest."

According to Emily answer, their parents love them all the same and so is God. He loves everyone the same and He also forgives everyone as equal.

Another story was about four ladies who are washing their laundry by the river. While they are washing, the first lady brags about her beautiful white and soft hands. The second lady does not want to lose and brag about her beautiful tanned hands. The third lady joined in and brags about her clean and fragrant hands while the fourth lady kept quiet.

They did not notice an angel was listening to their conversations. The angel disguised as an old woman come approaching them as a beggar.

"Please dear child, I am hungry and I am thirsty, can any of you give me some food and drinks?" the angel said.

The first lady did not bother to look at the old woman, the second lady tries to chase her away, the third lady stays quiet and watch. The fourth lady ran to her basket and grab a loaf of bread and a bottle of water which is supposed to be her lunch and gave it to the old woman. After the old woman eats and drinks she offered herself to be the judge of whose hands is more beautiful.

Suddenly the three first ladies get interested in the old woman and showed their hand to her. The old woman examined their hand carefully and said that none of the three ladies hand is beautiful. She took the fourth lady hand and said, "This is the most beautiful hand because it gave me food and drink. This hand surely has the key to heaven." After saying that, she turns back into an angel and disappear before their eyes. The four ladies were astonished and speechless.

What do you think of this second story?

A beautiful appearance does not guarantee the pass to enter heaven. Being born in a Christian family does not make someone a Christian until they become one. Reading the Bible every night without being able to dive into its meaning is the same as reading a textbook to pass an exam. Praying the rosary just because it is good, is good enough but won't it be better if we can appreciate the emotions and thoughts about the origin of the rosary itself.

Judging someone before knowing which light is shining inside the person's heart is unavoidable, but it is still possible to put good thoughts first before the bad ones. God will never let anything bad happen without a reason.

This is only a share of thoughts from old memories.

5
$ 17.57
$ 16.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @LeoBeltran
$ 0.02 from @ellimacandrea
+ 1
Avatar for heartbeat1515
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. I hope this article gave you a peaceful mind because you gave me quite an upvote and I thank you for it. God Bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always about our personal relationship with God. The acts of good works are just the outcome of our personal relationship with the Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with that. Some tend to judge others based on obvious things. Fewer people will consider the inside commitment. I used to be one of those who judge until I experience something else other than the usual.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true. Real Christians are those who sincerely follows the will of God . I am guilty of not being good enough as a Christian but I am doing my best everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also not a good one but you know, let God decide whether we are good enough or not. Just be ourself and our faith will guide us. We can always start with simple thing first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered a post in facebook. It says that, "Dear friends, it's not because I always go to church means I don't commit sin, it doesn't mean I can't be low. The church is not for perfect people. it's for the sinners. We go to church because we have sinned."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a kind statement. Not everyone can think like that. It depends on one experiences and ego, I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago