Where Fresh Water Meet The Sea | The Obong Spring (nature and history)

6 155
Avatar for gohenry
3 years ago

You usually seen most of my travel is in the mountain or peak but at this time I will show you one of our pride in my place here in Dalaguete, Cebu and it is the “Obong Spring”. This is located at the last barangay before you will reach the next province which is Alcoy. Obong Spring is popular for its natural pool. You can see that there are old trees which are known as “Dalakit”. There is a history behind these trees. During Spanish time, soldiers were passing a woman who was taking a bath. They asked her what is the name of the place and she misheard it. She thought they were asking for the name of the tree so she said it’s “Dalakit” but commonly as “Dalaguete”.

Shot with Samsung Galaxy Note 9 ( Me ready to dive)

This is the best place to dip in during sunny days because the water is cold and refreshing. Another thing that makes it mysterious is how freshwater meets the sea. By paying only 20 Php ($0.40). , this includes the entrance fee and parking fee, you can now experience how freezing it is and clear the water is. There are cottages for you to rent on. The cheapest one is 100 pesos ($ 2.00) and the special is 200-300 pesos ($3.99 - $5.99) but on my part, to save money, I just put my stuff on the big rocks which I usually do every time I will visit there. I would like to suggest to come on weekdays because it will be too crowded specifically on weekends since this place is one of the most visited spots here in the Southern part.

shot with Samsung galaxy note 9

There are changing rooms to change and toilets for you to go so you will not find it too difficult. One of my favorite snacks to eat there is the roasted banana spread with margarine and poured refined sugar. Only those who can relate to this food will surely miss its good taste. This spring serves as my fiancée’s easy go hub for her to relieve her stress and she really loves to meditate while dipping in the cold water. She likes this place and before the lockdown, we always come here 3 times a week due to her request. I will drive for her wants to refreshen her mind and soul. We drink wine sometimes, play relaxing music and chill.

Shot with Samsung Galaxy Note 9

I can remember a long time ago during my Secondary days, I was able to climb on that “Dalakit “ tree for me to jump in and dive but nowadays they are not allowing anyone because it happened before that there are irresponsible and careless tourists who abused the tree in a wrong way. To show support, so it would be better to close the accessibility to everyone on climbing it. In addition, the sea is available too near the spring. So there are two options for you to dive in. Even though there are renovations done to make it more attractive but the people who maintain it remain its originality and that is the freshwater pool.

This is how it looks like during weekends (Shot with Samsung Galaxy Note 9)

I will never be fed up coming back to this beautiful spring. If it happens I am living near to this spot then there is no single day I will not go here. We have our own way to feel relax and relieve. Some of us want to eat craved foods, movie marathon, go to the massage center, and ours is regularly dipping in this cold spring. To those people who never try to make this as your escapade from stress then do this and for sure, you will love it.


14
$ 0.15
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for gohenry
3 years ago

Comments

Your photos never fail to amaze me, i swear. These are great shots, once again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, dear. Your comment always motivates me to make more articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like seeing your photos, makes me wanna draw some of them, actually

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah! you can use it as a reference in your artworks also, you can tag me on my Instagram also @gohenryeverywhere

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have Instagram so maybe I'll just upload it here too then tag you? I think that would work just fine

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, hehehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago