The story of my little Morganianum.

6 27
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

This little succulent was once a single leaf. I first saw it in the nursery of a department store, in the gardening area there was a large basket that looked like a fern basket with a large Morganianum hanging from it. I was always struck by the way this succulent grows and this one in particular I stopped to observe.

This succulent is of the Sedum species and grows in the form of a row, each of its leaves closely attached to a hanging stem that can be up to a meter long.

When I looked down at the floor I realized, back then, that there is a small leaf on the floor and I grabbed it in my hand and placed it in the shopping cart. I continued doing my shopping and when I went to pay I saw it again, lying there on top of my purchases. I grabbed it again, paid for my purchases and left. This time I placed it carefully in my hand without squeezing it too much and in the car I placed it in a single place, where I would not forget it again.

When I got home I removed the bags and carried them inside, putting away everything I had, and of course I forgot about the little leaf again. It wasn't until the days passed when I suddenly remembered where I had placed my little Sedum Morganianum leaf and went in search of it, my little leaf. It was wrinkled, pale in color and I was saddened by my forgetfulness.

I took a pot and added some of the same organic compost that I prepare for my plants and I placed my little Morganianum leaf on the damp earth, keeping it away from the sun's rays but not from the clarity of the sun. And there I left it, every now and then I would stop by to see her and she was still green. It stopped being wrinkled and I thought that she would have a chance if she managed to have the will to live. I provided him with the comfort of a good moist substrate and of good luminosity and now everything was left on the part of my little leaf if he wanted to reproduce there.

Suddenly one day when I looked at her I was impressed that she had a little thickening towards the side of where she was held together with her mother. And I realized in that moment that I had in my possession a little Morganianun germinating.

This was over a year ago. This small thickening was strengthened to the point that it took more than a year to become a small bunch of tiny leaves. It looked like a small cluster of microscopic bananas. It was only a little over 0.2mm.

Today it is more than 18 months old and it’s still small but each time its leaves get bigger and now it has this other branch. It’s about 5 cm long, as you can see, it’s not very long yet, but it’s so eager to grow that within a year its story will have something more to tell.

And I will be here day by day watching and taking care of its growth. I am so happy that she wanted to continue growing in the conditions in which she came into my life and in the conditions that I offered her in my little jungle at home, in my garden.

They are photographys of my property.

9
$ 1.64
$ 1.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.04 from @KJPR007
+ 6
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Ohhh so these are called morganianum! I always liked seeing this one, it's a really cute succulent. I wonder how big it can get in your garden though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He is growing more and more. It is still small but increasingly leafy. I think it will grow very large and I will place it in a basket so that it falls around it with all the branches.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing...... More than the planting hand, you got the love. Our surroundings thrive like the love we give. You've been as progressive as that morganianum , just about a billion times more...... Good read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks my friend. Ultimately my articles are only about plants. I don't know what's wrong with my mind, I can't get an idea about a story to tell and it makes me sad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You truly have green fingers @gertu13 and eventhough you forgot about the little leaf, it has fluorished in your hands once you took care of it. They are sooo cute :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, they are cute little green fingers that come out of that little plant. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago