Offensive words.

18 41
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Sometimes people who are upset try to offend others with words that turn out to be rude. Words can be rude because of the meaning we give them, or, depending on the place or the country where we live, there are some words where their meaning can be recognized as rude.

In each region there are words that are adopted by the inhabitants to give a strong connotation to a bad word.

When a person feels offended by another person he then makes use of those rude word idioms to offend the person who has supposedly offended him first and thus return the insult.

From unsplash.

Words have an effect on us if we allow it, in another post I have already emphasized the meaning of the words expressed, that depending on the power that we give to those words their effect will have an action on us.

When a person throws towards us a word that is strong to our ears and that we consider rude it will depend on ourself if we take that word as an offense or if, on the contrary, we let it pass over us without giving it any weight or force or push so that it can do us mental harm.

I remember when my son was younger and in high school one day he told me that someone said a rude word to him that involved me. He got upset with the boy and apparently he returned the rude word back to the person of the mother of the other classmate who offended him.

It was the first time someone had said an insult to him where it seemed that my son must have been offended because it involved me.

I found it an appropriate time to teach my son something so that he would not forget it. So I just asked him what time it was that this student said that word to him and at the same time I told him what I was doing then, when my son was getting upset because of the words of this person, and said…

"At that moment I was at my job, enjoying my work, attending to a person who needed my medical services. That person left very grateful for everything that I did and had calmed down after knowing his diagnosis and left me with many blessings.”

“I want you to know that I didn't feel any change in my mind or in my body when that boy offended my name, and do you know why? Because words only hurt when you give them the power to hurt you.”

“Therefore, I hope you will never tell me again that someone said a word to you that you felt was offensive to you or to me, because at that moment I’ll feel that I wasted my time explaining this to you."

Another moment I always remember is an anecdote of Gandhi when he studied in college. Apparently he was not liked by his professor who always sought to offend him.

I remember reading that the professor was eating in the university dining hall and Gandhi tried to sit next to the professor, who at that moment told him… "Birds and pigs don't sit together to eat".

To which Gandhi quickly replied…" Excuse me professor, I'm flying away now."

Of course this annoyed the professor, who now thought of offending him again, and while taking an exam Gandhi demonstrated his intellect and returned the exam with all the right answers, the professor subsequently gives the results of the correction of his exam to the students and Gandhi gives it to him with the word "IDIOT" written at the top of the paper.

After a while Gandhi turns to his professor and says, "Excuse me professor but you handed me my exam with your signature but now I need you to put my grade on it."

Do you think the professor kept at it or did he change his offensive tactics…? I think he would keep trying to offend but Gandhi was very clear on his point, only he who allows himself to be offended is offended.

This is what I am trying to explain with my posts. We can only be offended if we ourselves allow it. If bad words are expressed against us we should not try to return with the same offense but instead try to not be hurt.

Remember that words have the effect on you according to the strength that you yourself give them, otherwise it falls without strength and has no weight.

Do not fall into provocations. Don't feel alluded to with the badly expressed words towards a group or towards yourself. Don't take words with the meaning that others want, give them your own meaning and make them mean nothing.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela.

15
$ 22.11
$ 21.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 9
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

As they say, words are like knives. They leave scars on your heart. It is so powerful so we should be careful with the words we say.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, exactly. When they are said they can strongly hurt the person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great advice. Agreed with you, words can only hurt us if we allow them. But sometimes, there is a problem when those words, even if we let them pass, can affect our reputation and the perception of others about us, ¡Saludos!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

But in the end the truth prevails. It happened to me once in a job I had. Many people did not treat me well no matter how hard I tried. After a while someone approached me and told me what was going on. Someone spoke badly about me, but then when they saw the way I worked, they saw through their eyes that what they had heard was not true. In the end everyone there took a great liking to me and we made a good working team. So I never said anything to the person who slandered me and she herself found these people as enemies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that you have succeeded and the truth has been known. And very well that you didn't even bother to talk to the person who slandered you. People like that just deserve to be ignored!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Words are so powerful. We should always remember to used it properly. We should speak life and not curse to other people. But there are also times tbat I can't stop my mouth from saying offensive words esepcially when I am not in the mood or furious.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We are human and not perfect. Of course we can say bad words but it is up to us to take them back, isn't it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Words can make or mar a person, its left to us to determine which we'd allow it to do for us. It's left to us to take every word we hear, chew it well and digest it before we react to it. We shouldn't allow the words we hear destroy us by holding on to it angrily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So the words have the power you give them. If you allow them to harm you, those words have it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sticks and stones may break me, but words can never hurt me. I think that's the saying. But it is true, only we can control the power words have over us. Yes, it will hurt when we hear some rude or disparaging remark said about us, but if it's not true, then it is best to let these slide.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know that the truth prevails and carries much more weight than a lie or an offense. It is of God the times. In due time we will see if the words in those people prevail or fall.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. We shouldn't be sad because of what others say to us instead we should act as if we didn't hear it at all. Only words we allow into us would harm us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is the idea. To understand that it is we ourselves who harm ourselves by allowing those bad words to find a foothold in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, When I'm upset I really say something terrible to someone to the extent that later on I just realized that, "What I have done?" I was being eaten by my emotions, maybe..But I felt so sorry afterwards..

And if someone say something to me, I really felt sad, but somehow, I just let it be for the reason that, its just an opinion or something that. Sometimes, I kept in mind but I know, I should just accept it and just act that I don't heard anything at all..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we get angry we say things we shouldn't say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're indeed right with that sir.🙁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Words are so powerful that we can make or break someone. And I'm so guilty of this with my husband especially when I'm in my moons or I'm hungry and tired. Sometimes I can't stop my mouth and I feel very bad after. I will apologize for I know I'm wrong. I shouldn't have said what I said.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, when we are upset we generally say things that we should not say to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago