Memories of your life in me.

52 68
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Since yesterday I have in my mind the thought of when I got pregnant. I was finishing my internship for the internal medicine service at my local hospital Aad I was arranging my parents to go to the capital of my country to do a diploma in ultrasound,

But in the back of my mind I was hoping that everything would turn out as I had planned. Being pregnant, studying, and then in my vacations during July and August I would have my baby.

From unsplash.

In Caracas I have relatives and I would be staying there, and so began my odyssey with my pregnancy.

One day I was waiting for my cycle to be fulfilled and it didn’t come. That was the first sign that I was pregnant. Then an unpleasant metallic taste settled in my mouth, water which has always been the best liquid I can drink now gives me a very unpleasant iron taste. I can no longer drink water, at least not a glass in one gulp like I used to. Now it's a sip because it's like I'm smelling iron all the time.

Days go by and now it's the smells, the pleasant aromas that were so necessary in my mornings are now totally unpleasant. Coffee, my nectar of the gods, is now such an unpleasant smell that it makes me nauseous.

I am already in Caracas with all these unpleasant symptoms. I started my ultrasound classes, I have nausea and from time to time I’m vomiting, but I can take it. The days went by and so did my torment.

I could no longer continue with the classes. My rejection of the maturine smells in the classroom was too strong, I couldn't stand them anymore, they make my vomiting uncontrollable. I can't even go shopping anymore and what's the point of going out if everything I eat goes out in 5 seconds.

I quit my classes, moved out of Caracas and went to Maracay where some friends were staying. I stayed there until I could control the vomiting a bit and drove back to a relative's house in Barcelona.

In those days there had been a big flood in the towns near Caracas and on the way back to my city. So I took courage, my things, my car and drove long hours, crossing paths that had been opened so that the cities could communicate again.

The flooded and totally inaccessible roads were the only communication from the central region of the country to the eastern region where I was headed. Therefore, the authorities had to work hard to open soon the communication between the regions and the surrounding towns.

From time to time the vomiting prevented me from driving and I would stop to take out everything I had in my stomach. I didn't eat or drink, what could I get out of there?

I am now 3 months pregnant and my friends told me, in order to console me, that it was only during the first 3 months that I would feel this discomfort and then I wouldn’t have any more.

After 8 hours crossing roads, being 3 months pregnant, and vomiting every half hour, I arrived to my city.

I was already dehydrated, but I was able to take some small ice cubes. I hydrated with solution in my veins and then continued vomiting.

By now I have a new obstetrician who is giving me intramuscular injections as a treatment to calm the vomiting, with the promise that if my hyperemesis continues he would hospitalize me for treatment with alternative drugs.

I didn’t go to the obstetrician. I stayed at home enduring my 5 months of pregnancy and my vomiting.

I had to sleep near the bathroom. My sister-in-law, who took care of me for a few months until I moved back home, would make me little sips of oatmeal. I was happy because after 5 seconds they were still inside my stomach! …But they wouldn't go past 6 seconds, everything would come out again.

I went back to my OB and told her I was better now, by this point I am now 6 months pregnant. The vomiting and rejection of smells still continues. The bad taste in my mouth won't leave me alone. My friends told me that I was lying to them because instead of having a pregnant belly I was thinner than when I left.

My obstetrician told me that I was pregnant with a girl and I believed her. All the things they gave me as gifts came with lots of pink, few in yellow and green.

I made it to the seventh month and now I was no longer vomiting, I was finally able to leave the house. Now I am getting ready to work again, I ran out of the money I saved for my studies, housing and baby. It all went away with what seemed like a terrible 7 month illness and not a pregnancy as desired as mine.

While on call another colleague looked at my abdomen and told me it was a boy. To which I replied that my obstetrician confirmed a female and she just rebuked me and said... "No, that belly looks like it has a boy" She then asked me to come to her office after my shift and so I did. In two seconds I had the frozen image of the two little balls of my baby, it was a boy. My best gift, just as I asked my God, a boy.

I worked for two months. Then my abdomen grew so big that I couldn't even breathe and then came the date of my cesarean section. I was close to 40 years old so it was not a good idea for me to go to the delivery room.

My son was born one morning at the end of July. He wasn't crying, he had the umbilical cord wrapped twice around his neck… He had suffered a little and he pooped himself in my uterus. The obstetrician got him out quickly and the pediatrician resuscitated him. It took him a few seconds to cry, but after he started he didn't stop crying all day and night.

It has been 21 years since those days and I still remember it like it was yesterday.

Thanks to all my readers and above all to those who comment and give me their gifts. Thanks also to my sponsors. Especially to those who are resuming their sponsorships, my dears @ARTicLEE and @Mictorrani .

20
$ 11.57
$ 10.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Every child is a gift. Every woman be fulfilled when they bear a child in their womb. Congrats to us woman for being brave, bearing a child in our womb is not easy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It all depends on hormones. Some women do not present any alteration and have many children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww. It was a blessing and I want you to know how much I appreciate every mother in the world. The sacrifices from carrying the child upto bringing us into this world, they are priceless. ♥️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think that if things are done with love they are not really a sacrifice. The things that are done out of obligation are the things that are done with sacrifice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh... you had a really difficult pregnancy suffering almost all months. I cannot even begin to imagine how hard it had been for you, but glad you went through it all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything is endured because you hope that at the end of it all God will reward you with a life formed within you. And that gets you through all the bad times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The sweet life of a mom indeed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a journey you had to endure. But it has left you not only with a human being you love with all your heart and loves you back, and a strength that is like no other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's how it is my friend. A mother's love breaks boundaries. Nothing is the same. The feeling of wanting to protect all that life is forever. The beloved child will be forever.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was an eventful pregnancy and you were able to go through all that. Both of you were able to go through the cesarean section and survived it. You both are strong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

These are the difficult situations that many pregnant women may experience. But we draw our strength from the love for the life we carry inside us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a very long hardship of being pregnant. I don't think I can ever endure that I mean, vomiting everytime you will eat, is that even normal 😱.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not a normal condition of pregnancy but is a symptomatology that may occur during pregnancy in some women.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the hardest time when I am in a labor room I am pregnant to my son now his 6 years old he is my eldest. I never taught that I will gave birth to him cause I am running out of blood thats why I need to have a lots of medicine to intake in my body to survive.. exactly 5am in the morning sunday june 3, 2015 I was gave birth to a healthy baby boy. I know your pain and struggles with your pregnancy its our best moments of our life when we see our child after of the painful experience its worth all the pain..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's terrible to know how so many women go through such difficult situations during their pregnancies. Only God gives us the courage to go to the end and bring a life we love even without seeing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you for sharing this. it reminded me of my birth story too. i gave birth to my Matti on July 25 last year... I did experience some vomiting but I could endure it. those scents indeed that I love were really disgusting when I was pregnant. I have not loved them again after giving birth..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well I hated the smell of coffee, the smell of bath soap, the smell of my perfume and the smell of others, I hated the smell of gourmet foods, I hated, of sauces, of too many things. But thank God I came to my senses after pregnancy and I love everything again. I could never give up my aromatic coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh glad they came back.. I have never loved the smell of my favorite laundry soap again... i switched to another...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked to bathe with baby soap. Then I had to switch to unscented soap. But I regained my sanity lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

one thing that I have not tried again is seaweed... we were in south korea when i hated its smell..everything was bad.. it was supposed to be a food trip kind of travel vacation but i ended up eating just for the sake of eating and was not really enjoying anything...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you're having a worse time than I am. I already love all the smells I hated. My soaps, the water I hated to drink is back to being the liquid I love to drink the most. My coffee, my soap, my food aahh how tasty the sauces are again and everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness! You have suffered a lot in your pregnancy. And, your child! He is much braver for he was so little that time. Glad he don't have problems by God's grace after his ordeal during delivery

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He is a very smart boy who went through too much during his mother's pregnancy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You two are tough souls. Such a struggle to both of you. I know being a mother is one of the best gifts of all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

God makes us women and gives us the strength to face everything we have to do in our situation as women, to show that we are warriors. Although we do not have the muscles of men, we have the courage of the Amazon warriors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nine months struggle with a fruitful benefit. Once you saw the son for the very first time, you should have completely forgotten what went through in the previous months. Sure, they are the precious gift from Almighty.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing is forgotten. I still remember it 21 years after that moment. What we know for sure is that we did it all out of love for our son.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your suffering has been relieved when your son gets better.. But, did you undergo CS since his umbilical cord wrapped around his neck?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No, I had a cesarean section because of my age. It is a diagnosis for high risk of pregnancy for a 39 year old woman. If my fellow doctors had allowed my son to be delivered he might have died from suffocating in the birth canal with his own umbilical cord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh... I can't wait to see your son grow fast.. But I guess, you want him to grow slow 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My son is already 21 years old. He has grown up very fast. Next year he will finish his studies as a computer engineer. Then he will be able to become independent. And whatever else God has in store for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice memories despite the vomiting and the long journey, my friend. I also vomited a lot during my pregnancy, especially the first 4 months. But being a mom is the most amazing experience of my life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For me, my pregnancy was the most traumatic event of my life. Waking up afterwards with my son next to me was the happiest moment. It was all worth it for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen someone with such a similar situation as yours but she was able to cope giving herself some rest. Therefore, i'd rather You give yourself enough rest ok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have written a very good article. I am grateful to you for sharing and giving us the opportunity to read.But after reading the article, a question is circulating in my mind again and again. When a woman is pregnant, he knows that I have been pregnant for so many days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh..that journey of your fro the 1st month upto the day you son was born is all worth it now ..I can feel it from this article.. Congrats for that and a salute to all mothers out there like you who endure so much of those pains just to deliver us your child ..😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

These stories are for children to learn to value their mothers more. Because someday it may be the story of their own wives. Or of their sisters. Or maybe they're already living it head-on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been through this situation in my life. So I can feel your descriptions.Be well Stay healthy With family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much. Take care of yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A whole journey to never forget my friend. Women are warriors. It is you who give birth to humanity. I loved your story. Happy day!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. This is the story of many mothers. I had many patients with my symptoms many times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my friend. Every mother has a story to tell. But it is all worth it when you look at your child for the first time and hold him in your arms. You know that the journey is just beginning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how it feels because I never become pregnant, but I admire your strength and the rest of the mommies for bearing a child.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God willing, someday you will know what it is like to be a mother. But I wish you an uncomplicated pregnancy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was 15 years old. I remember your belly, I remember some of your symptoms. You once said: "Esta vaina es patológica, no se la remomiendo a nadie" hahahah ("This is pathological, I don't recommend it to anyone"). But I also remember your look of deep love with which you saw (and I'm sure you still see) my cousin. You brought to the family the best cousin I have ever had. I find it hard to believe that that baby I carried in my arms is now a 21 year old engineer. Thank you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow I didn't know you have so much love for my son. You've never told me that before. Thank you for that love. He loves you too. God bless you both.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pregnancy period is a delicate period for women. I don't really like the vomiting symptom and splitting of saliva during pregnancy because because it makes. women in this period to feel uncomfortable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you never go through this with your wife or family members and live very happy pregnancies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pregnancy is truly a blessing and a heavy burden at the same time. I salute all the mothers out there who give up so many resources for their children to have better lives. The part about your son's neck wrapped with an umbilical cord is really scary, truly God's work is always amazing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I thought it was terrible too. When my colleague told me that I almost got depressed thinking that my son could have died. But those were different times and I wasn't spiritually mature enough to think that if it didn't happen why should I care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waooo. en verdad que fue toda una travesía, mi embarazo fue más tranquilo, no me mudé de estado pero si de casa en ambos embarazos.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How nice of you to tell me this. I don't wish this adventure on anyone. I like nice pregnancies without so many disasters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago