Her story.

26 54
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

My friend Dulce was a very happy woman. Already in her 60's she was doing very well with her children and husband. A fervent Catholic, she attended Sunday Mass and belonged to church groups.

That's where I met her, in a Bible study assistance group. The priest of the church, very charismatic, was the one who taught and he always sent us homework assignments. We were a group of four people.

My honorary lifelong sister, whom I met when I was a teenager, a doctor colleague who was my chief of service when I became an interim doctor in the pediatrics service and my dear Dulce, very charismatic, with a strong character, but very empathetic with the oppressed.

We saw each other once a week, did our homework, the 3 pm rosary, the chaplet of mercy and we would read the verses related to the theme that the priest gave us, all a gift from the Lord.

From unsplash

But it was there that I learned her story. My friend Dulce lived with her husband and two children, a girl and a boy. Her girl had ideas of joining a religious institute and the boy had a Japanese girlfriend who worked in a transnational company here in Venezuela.

One day her husband had chest pains and suddenly died, she was devastated. He was the love of her life. Two or three years later, her daughter decides to go to Spain and she moves there and on the other hand, her son marries his Japanese girlfriend.

Venezuela is going through government problems and the Japanese company sends an order to withdraw all its branches in my country, because the authority of the government is anarchic and the only things done are what the government decrees.

The Japanese girl has to leave and so she goes with her husband, that is, my friend's son. They are waiting for the conditions in Venezuela to change so they can return here... But they don't change.

Four years have passed since they left and things have gone from bad to worse. The country is no longer a government but a dictatorial republic. This is how we have been living for more than 20 years and nothing changes for the better.

My friend, after having a family of 4 people together, was left alone. We were together in our classes until the pandemic separated us. Lack of gasoline prevented us from getting together and everyone was left at home listening to Father's classes on whatsapp.

Now my friend is alone again, but with a lot of prayer at home. Since nothing changes in the country, her daughter who is in Spain leaves the cloister where she congregated and is now in a dependency of the church taking care of the elderly, like the little nuns do.

She talked to her mother who is alone here and convinces her to sell everything and join her in Spain.

My friend is leaving. She leaves just as millions of Venezuelans are doing every day, because they feel alone, helpless. They cannot find a job and they hear others say that in Colombia, Peru, Argentina, Ecuador, Chile and Uruguay the situation is better for them to work. So they leave, many on foot, in caravans, walking like hitchhikers, they go through the border trails, some even go without papers, thinking that they will find it easier to live.

Many have died in the attempt, many have found a way to survive, many have returned, tired and more disconsolate from the places where they have been. Many are settled in other countries waiting to return to the old Venezuela.

But my friend is going to Spain. She is going with her daughter, they are finally going to be reunited after 4 years without seeing each other personally.

My friend Dulce sold all her possessions. Her apartment, her belongings all acquired during her marriage. Everything she loved in those little details she collected while living with her family in union. Now she is leaving, she is sad because she had to get rid of everything quickly now that the open border allows her to do so.

But on the other hand she is happy. She is leaving and I don't think she will come back. Her daughter is already destined for her surrender to God, her son stayed in Japan and she who was alone will now be with her beloved daughter. She is a lady of almost 70 years old. Now she wants to be calm and I ask God to give her the peace she deserves, for being a good Christian, a good friend, a good companion.

I am glad that she will be reunited with her beloved daughter. I pray that she has a peaceful journey, a very happy reunion and the rest of her life in peace with everything she always wanted, to be with her loved ones.

Farewell my dear sister Dulce, we will see each other on whatsapp.

Thanks to all my dear readers and sponsors.

17
$ 12.72
$ 11.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 13
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Sad story. Sad but unfortunately, repeated history. For those who are not from Venezuela, they will not know that all families in this country go through the same thing.Almost 6 million (20% of the population) have emigrated because of the dictatorial regime, leaving broken families. Good that your friend is finally ok.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I pray to God that he does well. But that will be another story she will tell me in due time, at least she will be with her beloved daughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish for all the happiness life can offer to Dulce for she deserves it. Being reunited with her daughter is one of the great happiness she will ever experience

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you. My dear Dulce will finally have the company of her beloved daughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sounds like she's really a good friend to you and you're going to miss her. She's lived quite the life and maybe it's time for her to find happiness and live with her daughter elsewhere. Hopeful for her to find joy and peace in life where ever she goes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your good wishes. I want that for her too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish that Dulce will be safe and happy in her new place. It's hard to sell and leave all the possessions she had, but I guess that's the only choice left. She must enjoy her life at old age.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think like you. I'm sure it was very difficult for her to let go of all her lifelong possessions. But now she will be happier near her daughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope your friend is doing well. And that she can live happily near her daughter.

As you say, a lot of Venezuelans have left with hope, and have returned in worse condition. Others have been lucky, and have done well. It's so sad what they did to our country. :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is very sad. To our people, to our brothers, the separation, the hatred, all this does not allow Venezuela to return, there is too much pain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, friend, there is a lot of pain. Many separated families. We who are so used to families being important, and to have it close. Let's hope for better times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, at least she'll be happy now because she will be reunited with her daughter. And good thing her daughter asked her mother to move with her. I mean, you know some people doesn't really care anymore about their parents once they move with their partner in life

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, it happens very often. But she and her husband raised their children to be very independent. And now my friend was very sad but God sent her this gift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, she raised her daughter very well 😁💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't expect the Venezuela situation to be like that.. I hope you will be safe there always.
And glad for your friend coz she'll finally see her daughter. It's just a bit sad on your part.. But at least, there is WhatsApp where you guys can catch up

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right and I'm happy for her. She will no longer be alone, she will finally see her daughter. And we will write to each other by whatsapp, at least I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an emotional story, when it comes to improving. As I was reading I thought it would not end well. At least she is happy and reunited as a family. I'm glad for her. Happy day, friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The plane leaves today. She is already at the international airport. she must make a stopover in another country and then arrive in Spain. God with her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's v ery pathetic and quite touching as well but I still belive more in making a room for improvement so that that peace you wish her will surely come to be. I can as well see the love you have for her as well being a friend that's dear to you. Tha is what friendship should mean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I thought she will be alone forever but I'm glad that she was given a chance to reunite with her daughter especially that she is getting older. I can feel that you'll gonna miss her so much but of course as a friend , you also want her to be happy. Who knows that in the future, you will see each other again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God has mysterious ways for those of us who trust in him. I hope my friend is happy over there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While it is sad you will be separated from your friend, I am glad for her because in her old age, she won't be alone and will have family with her, even if it is just with one child.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am happy for her. Being in Spain, she can more easily go to Japan to see her other son and her only grandson.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A real good friend you are...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So emotional story,akala kopo talaga malungkot yung end hehe ayaw kopa namam sa mga sad ending haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago