Audacity.

4 24
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

I like to see people who work by doing dangerous things. I recently saw a documentary about a man who travels to remote countries while looking for river monsters.

This man looks for fish in many rivers of the world trying to find any fish never seen by him. But they are fish that most of the inhabitants of the population already know of, eat and know by their own names. By monster fish he means that they are fishes that he has never seen. What can I say about this attitude? It’s his job. Is it science…? I don’t know.

Then I see other gentlemen who travel to the Brazilian Amazon to look for snakes. They want to look for the strangest snakes in order to find new species. Well, looking at it, these guys at least look for danger in a somewhat inhospitable jungle to find species that can, probably, scientifically bring a benefit.

Others climb mountains, looking for something that others did not see. There’s a woman that climbs a mountain because she wants to be the first to do it.

From Unsplash.

But there is a program that I don’t really understand. I see it as just as any other program and I really don't like it.

In this one there are two people who are left in a jungle to demonstrate their survivalist knowledge, they are left in the jungle naked, just with some things that the show’s staff leave for them to use. Then they must seek their refuge, their food. They must hunt, they must build a place to live in the jungle while they stay there for more than 20 days.

Without clothes, shoes or food I don't see what the logic is here. It’s just one more program I don’t understand.

These are people who know that, when they don’t want to stay there anymore, someone will rescue them, they know that if they get sick someone will pick them up. So what’s the point of that? Well, they’re paid them a hefty sum to do all that but I’m not the kind of person who risks their life to get a certain amount of money.

Nowadays there is so much diversity of documentaries and programs that try to entertain the viewer, there are programs for anyone.

The ones I like the most are the screening documentaries at airports. It’s sad to see how many people are found with contraband or with products that they don’t pay for and that even having enough money to buy they prefer to take the products and not pay until a camera reveals their act… and then the drama begins.

“I didn't do it. I don’t bring contraband. I’m too old to bring drugs. I’m not lying, I never lie. I was going to pay for my products but first I was going to the plane and then after I would pay. That suitcase is not mine. Someone gave me that bag. I was going to do a favor to someone and they gave me that suitcase without me knowing what's inside”

God, those arguments are not convincing at all. Their faces give them away, their uneasiness, their insecurity with which they try to defend the indefensible, all of that just gives them away.

I don't feel bad when I see the behavior of people who are found with contraband. I feel no pity for their tears, for their stories of lonely children, sick mothers, elderly fathers, out of necessity. Nothing really excuses drug trafficking, because those drugs will eventually go to the hands of others who will suffer damage.

That what they consider a job is going to cause misfortunes to others. With that thought in my mind I can't feel empathy for the people who are found with contraband, I can't.

Every time I watch more documentaries on the subject of drug trafficking, I see the different ways that evil has to evolve. They are always one step ahead of the investigator, the bad guys are always better prepared than the people who handle these contraband detection jobs. It's a very sad reality.

3
$ 1.00
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

I rarely watched these kinds of shows, i mostly watched murder and crime documentaries because they're all rather unique in a way plus i do think I'm just strange but there's something interesting going on in a murderer's mind sometimes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nah, they are obvious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do like watching airport security, and I agree, the lies are never convincing. Everyone knows what they are up to, and only a few are ever really innocent, if any at all. It's sad to see people who know the consequences of the illegal risky action still doing it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really do not know if what they are looking for in the adrenaline of the moment or if they really believe that they are so intelligent as to deceive those who have many studies on them. And I say this for the many who are arrested. Many of them can't even read. No way. I don't know how they are persuaded to do such acts of damage to the health of the people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago