A different day.

6 36
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

He left home as he did every day, bringing home bread was a daily chore. Tim was the oldest of five siblings. He used to roam the forest every day in search of fruit, hunting or fishing and after spending a good part of the morning picking fruits and berries he decided to spend some time by the pond and do some fishing, after all his activities fishing, besides being an art he liked to practice, were also very good to bring some food home.

After picking the fruits and berries he found he arrived at his beloved lagoon, always so calm, with its waters so clear and surrounded by the thick forest. The clean scent is great, the water washes the plants and gives them such a delicious aroma. He stood in front of his favorite tree, today the mist was very thick, but it wasn’t very cold and the pond was strangely calmer than usual. He took the line from the rod he always used while he rested a bit. He cast the hook with one of his favorite flies and settled down to lie quietly and recline in his beloved tree.

It had been a hot morning and cooling off a bit before heading back was never a bad idea. It wasn't long before he felt something moving near his position. He straightened up and could see in the distance as a silhouetted shape. The mist that had thickened now did not let him look around very clearly and he could not differentiate what the sound was about. He sat up from his position and gradually cleared his eyes to see better what this sound was about, he came closer, until he saw that it was the silhouette of a girl.

From unsplash.

She did not see him coming until he was very close, once she did he could feel her fear, he realized it thanks to her big eyes so he just stopped and told her, at the same time that he extended his hands in her direction…

"Don’t be afraid, I will not hurt you, I am fishing here very close and I felt your presence but if you want I can leave" She looked at him and felt that what he said was true.

She answered him, "No, you can talk but don't come any closer... what are you doing here alone? Apart from fishing" to which he replied –

 "I was looking for berries and fruits for my family and I decided to come and rest for a while and fish for a while. It’s my favorite hobby, gives a lot of food too."

He added, after a moment "And you? What are you doing here? I've never seen you here before. Do you live in town? Because I know my close neighbors and I never knew they had someone like you."

She looked at him with her big blue eyes like the clear sky, stared at him and asked "Do you believe in water fairies…?" to which he stares and laughs nervously, as if trying to hide his discomfort...

"Water fairies?, what's with that question? Do you know anyone who told you that they exist?" And she looked at him fixedly and answered…

"No, no, I wasn't just saying. I just want to talk and I don't know what to talk about. Tell me more about you and your family please."

He spent a long time talking animatedly with her, they laughed and he told her how he used the line to catch fish and bring home some food, he also told her about some of the things that happened to him in the forest as he hunted and took fruit from the wild trees. She listened to him raptly as if she had never heard of such adventures in her life.

But there came a moment when she realized that the mist was dissipating, she then interrupted Tim, "Excuse me but I must go, I arrived with the mist and it is already retreating, so I must leave."

He didn’t understand at first and said "But why are you leaving now? Is it just because the mist is dissipating?" But she was already retreating and stretched out her hand as a sign of farewell "When you want to see again me look for me in the mist very close to the water"

He asked her "But how can I call you if I don’t even know your name?” to which she replied "Call me Blue Fairy and I will be there!" and he could see how she disappeared into the lagoon little by little, the mist dissipating more and more. It wasn’t long until she disappeared into the lagoon completely.

When he didn't see her anymore he was perplexed, thinking "What happened here…? Is this a dream?  Am I asleep on my log while fishing? …It can't be.”

“Was I talking to a fairy? Have I gone crazy or what? If I'm not dreaming I've imagined it, I think I got sunstroke after being in the sun all morning…”

He took his rod, pulled it out of the lagoon, removed his fly and put it away. He put his rod back in the log that always gave him peace of mind and left, but not before turning to look at the lagoon, which was once again very clear with its crystalline waters.

“…She told me to look for her in the mist when I'm back here.”

He left with so many doubts and now that everything was clearer, he looked at the lagoon and couldn’t stop thinking about what had happened.

“I think I'd better take my fruits with me and leave” he thought “And I won't tell anyone about what just happened, I'm afraid they will call me crazy, even I think so too....”

He turned again towards the lagoon as if looking for answers and all was quiet. No mist, but now there was complete silence... he kept walking. Thinking it was crazy but another time he would come to the same place, to the usual place to fish and if there was mist he would call her... the Blue Fairy.

No one else would know about this episode in Tim's life but him.

10
$ 7.42
$ 6.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @lerkfrend
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 5
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

This is amazing! Such a good story. Enjoyed reading it. I let my imagination flow with the lines as I was reading it.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I'm glad you liked it. That's the idea to let the imagination flow to create some fantasy ideas. Thanks for your upvote.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It worked. I would read more like this in the future. Thanks for your upvote too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!! Hahaha that's good to know but sometimes my imagination leads me to very creepy stories, that's why I laugh. But it's all a figment of my imagination. We'll keep reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's okay. If that's what you like keep writing them. You can be really good in what you like and it will not be boring "working" on it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true, thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago