African Snail*** Caracol Africano

0 35
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

It is always excellent to be with you, sharing a little of my photographic work, although right now he is quite detained, with the quarantine I cannot go out to portray the world around me. But hey, I can always continue investigating and learning, when reviewing my photo library, I found the images that I will show you today, which I took some time ago on the Isla de Margarita.

Siempre es excelente estar con ustedes, compartiendo un poco de mi trabajo fotográfico, aunque ahorita está bastante detenido, con la cuarentena no puedo salir a retratar el mundo que me rodea. Pero bueno, siempre puedo seguir investigando y aprendiendo, al revisar mi fototeca, encontré las imágenes que les mostraré hoy, las cuales tome hace algún tiempo en la Isla de Margarita.

As it turns out, I was on vacation with my family on the beautiful island of Margarita, Nueva Esparta state. We were staying in a vacation complex owned by the Universidad de Oriente located in the small town of Paraguachí. It was the first night of our stay and I decided to go for a walk in the surroundings.

Resulta, que me encontraba con mi familia de vacaciones en la hermosa isla de Margarita, estado Nueva Esparta. Nos estábamos hospedando en un conjunto vacacional propiedad de la Universidad de Oriente ubicado en el pequeño pueblo de Paraguachí. Era la primera noche de nuestra estadía y decidí salir a caminar un rato por los alrededores.

It had been raining, so everything was humid and the atmosphere was quite cold, while walking a group of snails caught my attention. At first I thought they were Guacara a species of land snail that is common to find in my beloved Carúpano, the city where I was born and raised.

Había estado lloviendo, por lo que todo estaba húmedo y bastante frio el ambiente, mientras caminaba me llamo la atención un grupo caracoles. Al principio pensé que eran Guacaras una especie de caracol terrestre que es común encontrar en mi querido Carúpano, ciudad donde nací y me crie.

As I got closer, I was surprised by the amount there was, I never saw them in such a number, in the grass there were many, I admit that it gave me a little chills. I went a little closer to detail them and of course photograph them, note that they were not the same snails that I remembered from my childhood, their shells were of a different color, yes, they were very beautiful.

Al acercarme más, me sorprendió la cantidad que había, nunca los vi en un número semejante, en la grama había muchísimos, reconozco que me dio un poco de escalofríos. Me acerque un poco más para detallarlos y por supuesto fotografiarlos, note que no eran los mismos caracoles que recordaba de mi infancia, la caparazón de estos era de un color diferente, eso sí, eran muy bonitos.

I took a few pictures and continued on my way back to the cabin because it started raining. The rain continued throughout the night and was very strong to the point that the sewer system collapsed, causing the entire complex to be flooded. I remember that he related the number of snails with the great rain, I thought they were looking to protect themselves from what was coming.

Tome unas cuantas fotografías y seguí mi camino para regresar a la cabaña porque empezó a llover. La lluvia continúo por toda la noche y fue muy fuerte al punto que el sistema de alcantarillado colapso lo que ocasionó que todo el conjunto se inundó. Recuerdo que relacione la cantidad de caracoles con la gran lluvia, pensé que buscaban resguardarse de lo que venía.

After some time, I found the same snails again, this time in the city of Lechería, in the residential complex where my sister lived at that time. The gardens on the ground floor were full of these little animals, they looked like a pest, and however, if the beautiful shell continued to attract my attention, I did not take a picture of them.

Pasado algún tiempo, volví a encontrar los mismos caracoles, esta vez en la ciudad de Lechería, en el conjunto residencial donde vivía para ese momento mi hermana. Los jardines de la planta baja, estaban llenos de estos animalitos, parecía una peste, sin embargo, si hermoso caparazón seguía llamando mi atención, en esa oportunidad no les tome fotografía.

Weeks later, the same snails appeared in the area where I live even my garden was full of them, that's when I found out what it was about, they call them African snails. Their scientific name is Achatina Fulica and they are originally from the African continent, that is the reason for their colloquial name, although in some places in Africa they are known as Lambí.

Semanas después, los mismos caracoles aparecieron en la zona donde vivo inclusos mi jardín estaba lleno de ellos, fue cuando me enteré de que se trataba, los llaman caracoles Africanos. Su nombre científico es Achatina Fulica y son originarios del continente Africano, esa es la razón de su nombre coloquial, aunque en algunos lugares de África se le conoce como Lambí.

It's an endemic species and somehow it got to South America and has been spreading throughout the continent. This situation has been worrying experts because from what I've been researching on the Internet, they host parasites that can be transmitted to humans.

Es una especie endémica y de alguna forma llego a Sudamérica y ha estado propagándose por todo el continente. Situación que ha tenido preocupado a los expertos porque por lo que he estado investigando en internet, hospedan parásitos que pueden transmitir a los humanos

They are hermaphrodites and because of their speed of reproduction, which results in considerable damage to the ecosystems and crops they invade. The International Union for Conservation of Nature included them in its blacklist. This list includes the most harmful exotic species on the planet.

Son hermafroditas y por su velocidad de reproducción, lo que se traduce en daños considerables en los ecosistemas y cultivos que invaden. La Unión Internacional para la conservación de la Naturaleza los incluyo dentro de su lista negra. Dicha lista agrupa a las especies exóticas más dañinas del planeta.

As you can see, this little animal, although very pretty and apparently harmless, brings them, so if you see it, don't even think about it, and grab it because it could bring your health problems. The parasites that it houses in its body and in the slime that it secretes are especially harmful to those whose immune system is delicate.

Como pueden ver, este animalito aunque muy bonito y aparentemente inofensivo se las trae, así que si lo ve ni se les ocurra, agarrarlo porque podría traerles problemas de salud. Los parásitos que aloja en su cuerpo y en la baba que secreta son nocivos especialmente para aquellas cuyo sistema inmunológico es delicado.

Well for now, I say goodbye, I hope you enjoyed the pictures and information I shared with you about these interesting, cute, but at the same time dangerous little animals. Please don't forget to take care of yourself and your loved ones by following the biosecurity measures to the letter and stay home until the next time.

Bueno por ahora, me despido, espero que disfrutaran las fotografías y la información que les compartí sobre estos interesantes, lindos, pero a la vez peligrosos animalitos. Por favor, no olviden cuidarse y cuidar a los suyo siguiendo al pie de la letra las medidas de bioseguridad y quédese en casa, hasta la próxima.

Source
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Achatina_fulica

Content and photographs of my intellectual property

Technical information

Camera: Pentax * istDL

Lens: Pentax 18-55

Lighting: Natural Light

Location: Barcelona, Anzoátegui State, Venezuela

Contenido y fotografías de mi propiedad intelectual

Información Técnica

Cámara: Pentax * istDL

Lente: Pentax 18-55

Iluminación: Luz Natural

Locación: Barcelona, Estado Anzoátegui, Venezuela

4
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @antoniarhuiz
Sponsors of francyrios75
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Comments