A Life Instinct; aquarist

17 76
Avatar for foryoubtc09
2 years ago

It is a hobby to make living things live in our environments, to feed them and to do their best to produce them. It is also a passionate hobby that starts out as a curiosity or enthusiasm and continues for many years. Volunteering and having fun are essential for the continuation of such hobbies, although the sense of curiosity is enough to start this type of business, you have to be passionate to continue it.

The passion for aquariums is my favorite hobby, which started at a young age and never diminished over the years. Yes, I can describe myself as an aquarist. My passion, which started with a lantern and a fish when I was 8-9 years old, continued with having a 50 liter aquarium.

Feeding fish in a lantern is quite easy, but it is a complete torture for the fish being fed. Because the area is very small and especially the oval or round cut of the glasses, both stress the fish and cause the fish to lose their eyes over time. Fortunately, this unconsciousness lasted only a few months, and soon after I had my first 50 liter aquarium.

This time, by increasing the number of fish in it, I entered into new quests to protect the oxygen in the water and to filter the water. I was just a child, while my friends were choosing to play on the street, I was trying to deal with something at home and find solutions. I bought my first aquarium water motor, its task was to circulate the water in the aquarium and to carry oxygen to the aquarium water, thanks to its small hose hanging out of the aquarium. It did this very well, but it was making too much noise. As time passed, the sound and the loss of clarity in the water as a result of insufficient filtering of the water caused my enthusiasm to decrease. Again, I had to think about something and come up with a solution.

In a plastic jar I put fiber, sponge to filter the water, and pebbles to add oxygen to the water. I placed the water motor on the floor of the aquarium and connected the jar with the water motor with a short hose in order to carry the dirty and oxygen-free water into the jar. Its jar is 2-3 cm from the aquarium. I placed it above so that the dirty water from the engine would enter the jar, first filtering through the sponge, then through the fiber, passing through the pebbles and pouring back into the aquarium, this movement in the water meant extra oxygen. Because if the oxygen in the water is low, the fish will get sick. If the oxygen runs out completely, the fish will die. I really enjoyed doing this when I was just 9 years old. I had the sound completely eliminated and my aquarium water stayed clear for weeks. I was already changing 3/1 of the water in the aquarium every month.

I was living my passion for aquaristry to the fullest and at the same time producing new ideas. The 50 liter aquarium was no longer exciting for me. I bought a 200 liter aquarium when I was 12, combining the money I earned from my allowance and some of my work. As I did not have the chance to carry it, it was not possible for me to move it. I got help from the elders in the family in this matter. I carried the water of my first aquarium with plastic bottles, but I did not have such an opportunity. I put the end of the hose that I had attached to the kitchen fountain into the aquarium and opened the fountain all the way, I waited for minutes for the aquarium to fill up. I did the interior decoration of the aquarium myself, using insoluble rocks and sand.

As the aquarium grew, my problems grew. The filter I made myself was not enough to clean this aquarium, I was not giving up on the other aquarium anyway. I couldn't use his equipment here. While I was thinking about how to proceed, I learned about internal and external filters. I was constantly getting new information about the tools and products that provided the filtration. I bought a bigger engine and a 10 liter carboy. I did a similar tactic to the jar here, but this time, since there is more water to filter, I placed the products that will act as filtering more tightly. The result was great, I ran the aquarium empty for a few days. The reason was that the water was ready for me to put the fish. I placed a few guppies in the huge aquarium. I couldn't put in more, the money I had was limited. Fortunately, Guppies were very helpful in reproduction, they reproduced very quickly. After looking at the baby fish in the other aquarium for a while, I was taking them back to the big aquarium, I had hundreds of guppy fish at once. They are very kind and great looking fish. It's an absolute pleasure to watch.

After a few years, I needed a new aquarium and this time I started to talk about 500 liters. Besides, I didn't have the luxury of avoiding expense for him. I bought a beautiful aquarium with a wooden cabinet. After designing and filling the water, I added a few water plants. I used the aquarium empty for a long time for aquatic plants. In terms of filtering, I bought an external filter and used it instead of my own making. I was now a complete professional. I left half of the Guppies I owned in a 500 liter aquarium with aquatic plants. The view was more beautiful because of the plants. It looks different from the previous ones, its size resembled a small pond.

My hobby is still going on, my enthusiasm has not diminished, now I want to set up a more expensive marine aquarium, grow live corals and enjoy the clownfish circulating in it. Since this will be very costly, I will have to wait a little longer. Every moment I wait will allow me to enjoy more when I reach my goal in the future. Knowing this, I even enjoy waiting.

My dream marine aquarium

In my previous article on superstitions, I said that the only superstition I believe in is the evil eye. I have shared pictures and videos of my aquariums and fish in different places before, each time the result was the same. I lost most of my fish, and they all died one after another and remained motionless above the water, with no signs of getting sick. So now I keep them like a mysterious secret. Source of shared images; Google.

Please do not miss to say Mashallah for my fish.

Thank you for reading.

Thank you to all of my sponsors for their support. I also want to thank @Eylz2021 for continuing her support since my first days here. Newcomers @Expelliarmus30 and @scottcbusiness glad to have you. @King_Gozie and @onlymythoughts you're still with me, hope all your business goes well.

20
$ 13.83
$ 13.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @ErdoV
+ 5
Sponsors of foryoubtc09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for foryoubtc09
2 years ago

Comments

Really great post Quite an acquarium you've got It was really nice getting to increase knowledge

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like fishing but sadly i don't know how to catch fish hahahha I also like to put fish in aquarium but they don't survive hehhehe. But you seem like fond of fish and aquarium hehhehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In order for the fish to live in the aquarium, you must prepare the appropriate environment for it. If you do this, they will not die, yes aquarist is a big passion for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

benim de vazgeçilmezlerimden biridir akvaryum.. Diğeri de muhabbet kuşu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have budgies, I received 2 baby incisions last month. The cats have grown a bit and their eyes are constantly in the cage, I've had no problems so far but a momentary mistake or forgetfulness can push the cats and budgerigars into a battle. I hope it never happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have once dreamt of myself having my own aquarium, but I know its impossible coz I have seen the price on the internet and its something I can't afford

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The aquarium hobby is unfortunately a bit of an expensive hobby, I had great difficulties in meeting the needs of an adequately sized aquarium and its internal and external equipment. My dream marine aquarium now costs around 3000 dollars to set up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems like you are really fond of fishes and aquarium. And as you grow up, your aquarium's sizes also changes hihi. As for me, I am not really into fishes because of the thought that I couldn't hold or cuddle them huhuhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your dream marine aquarium is really beautiful. Me I don't have the chance to have an aquarium in our home because it is expensive I think hahahha and also we have lots of cat in our house and they are so naughty hahhahha maybe they will be curious in the aquarium and play with it hahhaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have the cat, but since I've been breeding it since I was very young, it doesn't come as close to the aquarium as possible, maybe it's still in the exploration stage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes because our cats are sometimes naughty that is why we think that they might play with the aquarium. Hahhaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing article, I enjoyed learning about the many aquarium upgrades you had throughout your childhood and even now; I sure hope you achieve your hearts desires. As a marine biology student it's a pleasure meeting somehow, who is just as delighted to admire the creatures of the ocean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your nice thoughts, yes, I am curious and I dream and realize the next one as I get it. I think the marine aquarium will be the last stop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had an aquarium when I was a kid. I was 12 years old. First I started with a jar. Bought it self breathing Beta fish. Meanwhile, the beta fish is attacking the others. He must live alone. Then a small aquarium and of course Guppy fish. Guppies reproduce fast as you said. My guppy fish had many babies, but none survived. They all died. Other fish ate half of the fry immediately after birth. I saved the other half, but they died when they got a little old too. I was very upset when all my other fish in the aquarium died from the disease after a while. Then I stopped feeding fish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beta fish are very beautiful, but they are combative. It is very difficult to live collectively, they often start with the top ten and singly. I had a similar experience with a pigeon, I was getting used to my house and myself, they were dying for some reason. I had finally given up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once tried to start a fish farm when I was little, there was this pond close my my primary school, I would sneak out to the pond just before going home with a bottle to get some of the Tilapia fish, i had little knowledge about raising them and they would often die after a few days leaving me heart broken. Recently, I decided to take up on this passion again, this time with better knowledge on how to raise and feed them properly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see you determined, I hope you succeed. Although they look very delicate, they can be very durable when provided with the right environment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago