My Van Gogh Immersive Experience

6 61
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

I am a fan of the arts! Both classical and modern ones. I enjoy beautiful and creative things a lot. It inspires me to create too and be more imaginative and vibrant! Today I will share with you my encounter with Van Gogh: The Immersive Experience in London. I have my fellow art enthusiast and friend here, @Moooniac , to thank for supplying me with the idea for this article as I am on a writer's block at the moment. Anyway let's hop along!

My beautiful friend Jennifer. By the entry. We were happy as we arrived really late but was still allowed entry!

I had the pleasure of experiencing Van Gogh in a 360 degree environment for my birthday last year with my friends. The exhibit was held in Shoreditch which is considered as a very arty area in London. We arrived fashionably late as we unfortunately struggled with the transportation in London, it's a nightmare as usual! We remembered being worried of being refused entry and losing the 20£ we paid for the ticket without even getting a glimpse of Van Gogh but the guards were very lovely to have let us in.

Jennifer watching. A presentation about Van Gogh's life story.


Before we entered the exhibit proper, the staff gave us free sips of tea whilst in the queue and sent us along to explore the Van Gogh maze at our own pace.

In the exhibit we saw a lot of Van Gogh's artworks and also learned a lot about his life and his struggles. Van Gogh was quite infamous for his suicide and its underlying cause, which was, his severe manic depression exacerbated by his vices. He suffered a lot of psychotic episodes and at one point he even cut off his own ear. He was also rumoured to suffer a certain type of colour blindness.

Van Gogh sees the world like this.
Couple Watching a slideshow of his artworks.

With this premise, you would really think, this man was born to fail. In his entire living years his art was snubbed and ignored as people have labelled it as a work of a madman. But when he passed away, people started seeing him from a different perspective. He has become "the misunderstood artist." He started inspiring the world and his popularity started to spread like wild fire. Even famous singer Don Mclean ended up writing a masterful song about him.

3D Replica of Van Gogh's bedroom.
Van Gogh's House

It makes me wonder a bit of how much humanity tend to celebrate a tragedy more than a simple triumph. It also makes me wonder if Van Gogh would've ended up this famous if he hadn't killed himself? To an extent I think that he would still have ended up famous, even if he ended up living over 37 years old, as his artworks are very distinct and awakens a certain marvel! But this is something that we unfortunately will never know for sure.

Some of his self portraits. Excuse Mr. Photobomber 😂

My favourite part of the exhibit was the end of it where you can step inside Van Gogh's painting and enjoy a Starry, Starry Night! It was so beautiful and mesmerising I really could stay there all day if we didn't have other plans.

Van Gogh's Sunflowers. They are actually my favourite flowers ❤️
Inside Starry, Starry Night!

The exhibit was memorable to me because I really do love Van Gogh as an artist and it was great to know more about him as a person. It may be a tragedy how he passed but it is also still quite amazing to see how someone of such obstacles and impairment have managed to eventually win the world with his compelling art. Being inside his painting felt so surreal to me. It was a dream come true and I truly hope my article makes you dream of it too. Tell me about your thoughts down below. Cheers!




11
$ 3.62
$ 3.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Andrea1511
+ 6
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

His artworks are really amazing. But he would not have gained so much popularity if he was alive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sheesh! one of my fave artists, I love his back story as well. His Iconic Starry night is god damn good!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Fave ko rin si Van Gogh tho nakakalungkot sobra ung buhay nya. I really hope na makapunta sa mga ganitong museum very soon. 🥰🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He is a very interesting study. I wonder if his mental illness brings out the edge in his art?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh Wow! It's coming to Belfast as well. Tickets will be released on Thursday I think. What an experience!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I saw on Fever ticket website that they are back this year! OMG! Don't miss it. It's a very good experience. A little bit dark but truly intriguing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago