My Isle Of Wight Adventures Part I: Town of Shanklin

Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel blog, Travel, Blog, Island, UK, ...
Shanklin Charm ❤️

Hello guys and gals! Today I am taking you to an adventure to the Isle of Wight (IOW), another island in the English Channel! And is the largest and second most populated island of Mother England! My friend Andrea and I visited it 2 years ago, but hopefully it is still as beautiful as I remembered and things on my visit still applies to this day.

From left to right. Andrea, Cyril, and me. Cyril is also a Filipino nurse who lives in the Isle of Wight and served as our welcoming committee.

We boarded a ferry from Southampton to reach the Isle of Wight and we then took a very long bus trip to the town of Shanklin where we opted to stay. We chose to stay in Shanklin because we were both from an Island in the Philippines and we kind of miss the seas and beaches back home. Shanklin is known for being a seaside resort in the IOW. It is also known for its sandy beaches.

My friend Andrea as we head down to the seaside.
A view of Shanklin Esplanade from atop the hill just below our accommodation.
Small Hope Beach

Logistically, it was a bit of a bad decision as Shanklin is quite remote from everything and we both don't drive. So a lot of our trip was spent on buses to get to other attractions. But it was also not all bad since Shanklin itself is a beautiful paradise. Our bed and breakfast was a 10 minute walk to the beach so we were able to enjoy a plentiful of salt, sea, and beautiful sunsets and sunrises during our holiday.

Jurassic Bay Adventure Golf.
Andrea and the sheds 💛
My turn 😂

On our first day, we arrived past noon so we decided to explore what's around us. We headed downhill towards the sea and towards Shanklin Esplanade. From atop the hill we could also see Shanklin's Jurassic Bay Adventure golf. Looks amazing but we didn't go in during our visit as we do not play golf. But we were lucky enough to see what's inside on a birds eye view. The IOW is known today as dinosaur island and is the place to go if you want to see some dinosaur fossils, hence, a lot of dinosaur themed attractions there.

Almost sunset and the sky is turning a bit pink.
Sometimes a little bit of hope is all we need. ❤️
Felt like a sea ballerina 😂😘
I got my dress wet and don't care!

Small Hope Beach has been our favourite hangout whilst staying in Shanklin. We visited it daily for the 3 days we were in the IOW. The array of colourful sheds appeal to my art loving eyes. And of course every opportunity to play with sea water was a treat. Andrea and I were quite lucky to have a swim during sunrise there during our last day in the IOW. It was magical!

Sunrise, sunrise ❤️

Although most of the times during our stay we ate the fish and chips and gelato sold at Shanklin Esplanade, as we were budgeting, we had an evening where we indulged and ate at a Thai restaurant in Shanklin called, Thai Mukda. And there were no regrets there as the food were amazing and tasted authentic!


Before we went home we also paid a visit at The Original Old Village Rock Shop for some souvenirs for our friends. Well that's Shanklin folks. I hope you enjoyed the photos. Stay tuned for my part II of this article to see some cute alpacas and farm animals and other parts of the Isle of Wight. Bye for now! Cheers! There are some more photos below.

Rock Shop






7
$ 0.59
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Ayukyukyu2
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel blog, Travel, Blog, Island, UK, ...
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Ang isda kay murag bulinao hehe. Btaw I miss you two!!! Wish I was there unta magkasuroy napod ta ayy buyag

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha truly. Mura bitaw ug bolinao Chan. I miss you too ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

San ka na naman galing Dora? haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sus if marunong lang akong mag drive you won't see me in one place. I love to gala 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha ikaw si Dora talaga e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for sharing your pictures and adventure. I so want to put put golf at Jurassic Bay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm guessing you are good at golf then? 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not at all putting is fun. Swinging the clubs not so much, lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I actually remember having a fit of range while trying mini golf with my boyfriend. I realise I have no patience with golf.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha it is a game of patience. I'd be like Adam Sandler in Happy Gilmore 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang ganda mo naman ma'am pareho kayo ng anak ko kulot ang buhok,tas ganda pa ng lugar na pinapasyalan nyo enjoy lang.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwww salamat. Medyo mataba nga ako nyan eh kagagaling ng covid isolation. Namimiss ko yung Isle of Wight after writing this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago