Majestic Cliff and Coastal Walks of Guernsey Part I

13 74
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Having a Marilyn Monroe moment as it was a windy day!

"Baonjour" everyone! Nope, it's not a typo and I am not misspelling my French, it is actually the Guernsey way of saying good day originating from the Norman French. I am greeting you in Guernesiais as today we will be talking about one of the best highlights of Guernsey, it's majestic cliff sides and amazing sea views. So grab on your walking boots and prepared to be awed!

Happily counting steps!

1. Jerbourg Point

Jerbourg Point, also known as the Jerbourg Peninsular, is considered as Guernsey's most Southeasterly point. On a nice day, you will be able to view Guernsey's neighbouring islands from here. Some highlights here are the Jerbourg Lighthouse and the massive German bunker built during the World War II since it is quite a strategic location.

Me sitting on top of a German bunker.
Jerbourg on spring time!
Jerbourg during winter. There is a different charm in dead flowers.

It is a lot of ups and downs and the terrain can be a bit thorny depending on the season. But as a consolation prize, if you ever feel peckish you can have amazing cakes at Jerbourg Hotel nearby after your walk.

My friend Ermy on top of the bunker
Cute rock art.
Jerbourg lighthouse from a distance.
I don't know how I got there but I struggled to get down.

I was lucky enough to be able to wake up early once to see the sunrise here. It was magical! For me, that is the best time to visit. But if you are a stargazer then you might want to beg to differ. The night sky should be beautiful here too as Guernsey does not have a lot of light pollution thus making the stars more visible.

Boop! I caught the sun for you.
Chased the sunrise instead of the sunsets for once.
It was so fleeting considering how long I waited for it to rise but it was totally worth it. Photos don't do it justice.

2. Petit Port

This one is a personal favourite of mine as its fine white sands remind me so much of my home, Bohol. Mostly, the beaches and seas here in the UK are comprised of pebbles and rocks and are a bit too painful to walk on.

Spring transforms the paths to almost a fairy tale setting with the wild flowers.
My own personal beach. ❤️
Smile before the stairway down to heaven but feels like hell. 270 steps!
I felt so at peace watching the serene Petit Port Beach down below.

This beach is accessible only through 270 steep steps from the above cliff and is definitely not a beach for the lazy! Because of the challenging access, this beach is most of the times empty which makes you feel like you own it.

Boholana approved beach!

3. Moulin Huet
Moulin Huet is part of the Parish of St. Martin and is known to have inspired fifteen of Renaissance painter, Peirre-AugusteRenoir's artworks. I mean why not? It's turquoise waters and rock formations are certainly remarkable!

I quite find the waves crashing on the rocks both beautiful and scary.
Moulin Huet on a low tide.
Sea life under the rocks.

My friend Ermy and I used to swim here a lot too because it is quite close to where we lived. But I don't really like the rocks as it is painful. To me this place is better to watch the tempest of the sea rather than to swim in.

All over the cliffs of Moulin Huet you can find these frames for you to replicate Renoir's paintings.
Moulin Huet raging waters.
My trek buddy and friend Ermy.
View from the cliffs of Moulin Huet

There are so many more places to explore in Guernsey. I just couldn't write them all in a day! I'll write about them on my next posts. "À la perchoine" is a lovely saying in Guernsey-patois which means 'until next time' or 'until we meet again'. Laters!

First cliff walk fresh out of isolation back in 2020
Beautiful Guernsey sunset. I was trying to go to Moulin Huet beach but google maps led me here.



10
$ 3.41
$ 3.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
+ 2
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Beautiful photos. It's a lovely place. In the past, I lived some years on the Isle of Sark, so I am familiar with this part of the world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh what a small world! I have written about Sark too as I have been to visit that little hidden paradise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for introducing Guernsey @flapiz! I've never heard of this place, but the place you originated from is such a paradise! And of course you too. So so beautiful! <3

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww you're welcome Michelle. I too have not heard of it until I saw a Facebook ad and decided to work there. I am glad you liked it. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautiful place, beautiful author <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you very much! :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lovely pics. Which country is this?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's called Guernsey. It's very small and not really very popular. It is part of the British Channel Isles.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the info. Looks great...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wonder which part of the world is this, I don't travel much but I am really afraid of heights and most especially cliffs. And I guess you are also from st.martins

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is Guernsey it is part of the British Channel Islands just in between UK and France. I used to live in the parish of St. Martin here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beauty is everywhere around us and not just in the eye of the beholder. You captured it well. Great photos you took.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for appreciating. I have so much photo in my gallery actually I find that read cash can be a good travel journal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago