Inside Castle Cornet: An 800 Year Old Castle Part I

Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Hello everyone! I am so excited, as today, I am going to share with you our visit to Castle Cornet, the castle that guarded St. Peter Port's harbour for 8 centuries! That's 800 years guys! It is very ancient! In this post, you will see loads of beautiful photos of the castle interior, as well as, a view of St. Peter Port rarely been seen, which is from inside the castle!

Outside the Castle.
Andrea looking at the map near the entrance.

Castle Cornet is located at the southern arm of St. Peter Port Harbour. We have passed it several times during the pandemic but only ever managed to enter it this year as the restrictions were lifted! Entrance fees are as follows: for adults £ 10.50; children 7-18 years old £3.00; children below 7 years old free. Castle Cornet prides itself for its 4 Museums, battlements, refectory, shop, and amazing views of the island and its neighbouring islands. To make this tour more organised, I will show you around in the order that we visited them in.

Old anchors by the entry point. Just next to the Ticket office.

1. Ticket Office and Gift Shop

Of course the first stop was the ticket office also serving as a gift or souvenir shop, as we did have to buy our tickets and also get a map.

To the left you can see the ticket office/gift shop. To your right you can see the Story of Castle Cornet Museum .

This actually used to be the Guard Room back in year 1850. It is made of bricks with a veranda on cast iron pillars and was used by castle deputy guards.

The building did not look historical at all and looked pretty standard and modern to me.

2. Story of Castle Cornet Museum

From the name itself, this museum is dedicated to telling the castle's 800 year legacy beginning from the 13th century up to the present day. This museum was built back in the mid-eighteenth century and was a lower barracks building.

Right at the entrance of the museum was this statue. This made me quite excited as it looks a bit more interactive and real life than other museums.
Hanging by the entry was this little photo prompt for kids and students to carry so that they can keep notes of the important people in the castle.
Andrea and his mates! This little kid 😂
This is what an 18th century barrack room looks like. To me looks like an older version of a studio apartment 😂

During our visit, there were 2 floors open to public with exhibits varying from creative reconstructions, replicas, models and original artefacts. Working your way up the building, you can follow the castle and its occupants through battles fought during the Hundred Years' War, the English Civil War, the years of conflict with the French, and the Second World War.

Prehistory: Guernsey became an island 8000 years ago, Mesolithic people from this time lived by hunting and fishing.
Pottery from neolithic and bronze ages found during excavations at castle cornet.

This museum also talks about the prehistoric finds within and around the castle site. And also about pasts trading routes and what it brought to Guernsey then.

More archeological digs found around the castle.

Below are some noteworthy wax figures inside the museum. Please read the caption if you are interested to get to know them.

Eliot Baliol, Stonemason Castle Cornet 1374. Stonemasons were required back then to work on "la geant toure rounde" (the round tower/keep).
Lewis Welchman, Arbalister 1374 defending Castle Cornet with his cross bow.
Sir Thomas Leighton, Governor. Arrived in Guernsey during 1570.
Sir Peter Osborne. Was a knight and became governor of Guernsey in 1621.
Daniel Adkins, Royalist Musketeer 1643!
Capt. Thomas Guille, Guernsey Militia 1643.
Gunner William Barber and Gunner Albert Lines.

Here are some more photos of the inside of the Story of Castle Cornet Museum. I think it would occupy a majority of this article , as bless me, I took too many photos and I find them all share worthy and interesting!

Gun stones found during the 1994 excavation in Lambert's Garden
Life in the Medieval Castle.
The Arms of Elizabeth I
Castle Cornet Circa 1600 after a series of rebuilding which began in the reign of Henry VIII.
Firing the Guernsey falcon.
Cannon balls and how much they weigh.
The Great Explosion.
Skeleton excavated. Read photo down below for in-depth description.
Depiction of domestic life at the castle.

So as usual, I find myself in a long winded article as I try not to miss out what I have seen. Our tour of the whole castle lasted 3 hours, more or less, so it is quite hard to fit it in just one article. I'm afraid I must say goodbye for now and ask you to come back another day for part 2. It will be well worth it as we will see more of the surrounding areas of the castle. Bye for now. 😉

To the Germans occupying Castle Cornet it was called Hafenschloss which translates to Harbour Castle.
German military uniforms.
Ancient cigars! Smoking was an old ancient habit.








5
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
$ 0.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Aww, I saw that castle but only in the movie. Thanks for this tour

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are welcome Mr. Moon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting but makes me think we are lucky to be born in a much modern world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We do have a lot of perks these days. No more quills just text 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The statues look real. Especially the one kept in the entrance of the castle and the one's sitting alomg with your friend Andrea. So mamy new things to learn. Keep travelling like this friend

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True I actually got overwhelmed by the facts my friend. Too many interesting things from the past.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really breath taking to see the inside of the castle plus you sharing the whole experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I do appreciate that. I have a problem with oversharing so I struggle as I blog. But having nice comments like this makes me motivated!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I am quite surprised by your positive reaction towards my comment cause most people here report me for spam and currently my comments are hidden with low score, I just email read.cash support. Thanks for showing positivity towards me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is okay I did wonder why it did not display and well I do want to know first what the comment was rather than dismissing it as spam without reading it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much, cheers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago