Tough decisions have to be made

33 124
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Tuesday, 10th of May 2022

When I was a teenager I always thought that getting a great education and finding a good job is something that will make me happy. I will be earning good money right? With money I will be able to afford more and that will be enough to lead a happy life.

After finishing Uni as a young adult I was keen to start my working life. Every new job would be a better one and better paid. Indeed I was able to afford more and fulfil many of my dreams.

As the years were going by, one burn out came after another and I came to the conclusion that working in a corporate world is making me really unhappy. I was doing my best, working long hours and money was great, but I was spending a lot of that money on physiotherapists, because stress cause huge chronic pain in my neck and I couldn’t help but wonder if there is another, better way.

I really disliked getting up crazy early in the morning, being timed on every task I did as well as having a boss telling me what to do and when. And 4 weeks of paid holiday? Who on Earth can work all year round with just a few weeks of holidays to look forward to?

Since 2016 I was jumping out and back into the corporate jobs. While working I would save up some money to be able to not work for a while and while not working I was always leaving it too late and my debts would grow. A constant cycle of brief happiness and freedom and back into the misery of daily work.

Last time I walked away from a job in engineering was December 2019. The plan was to only take a month break, but then pandemic came in 2020 and I haven’t been back to work since.

While everyone was really unhappy with lockdowns and not being able to work, I was actually very happy. Banks were giving payment holidays very easily and I was happy to take some time off to think about what I really wanted to do.

I decided to take a wild step and become self employed. I had a few ‘great’ ideas… maths tutoring, creating and selling plants arrangements, writing articles, trading crypto. A friend of mine also suggested I would be great as a foster parent and since I have 2 spare bedrooms in my house, the conditions would be ideal.

So the year of 2021 and beginning of 2022 I was working of developing my self employed business as well as going through the complex application process for fostering. Just when the fostering panel was so close I received an email that the panel has been postponed due to more documentation needed.

In New Year I had several meetings with my assigned social workers and the list of things still needed to complete the process was huge! Due to me living in 2 different countries some documents I was unable to deliver and I had to make a tough call to suspend the fostering application.

Yet again I had to re-evaluate my situation and decide on my next steps. Crypto market going bearish and many bad investment decisions didn’t make it easier.

After weeks of stress and I came to the conclusion that I need to go back to ‘normal’ work. Still, for a few more weeks I was resisting taking this step. Going back to a corporate world seemed like such a failure.

What to do though? Bills need to be paid and debts are growing instead of melting. I was toying with the idea of getting a part time job in a local garden centre, but after calculating everything I decided this is not going to cut it. If I’m going back to work, it might just as well be a well paid, full time job in engineering, which will help me clear my debts at a much faster rate.

So engineering here I come!

Today I attended my first interview at a local company. 20 mins drive is the shortest I’ve ever travelled to work. After a nice 1.5 hour chat I came back home in great spirit. After an hour I received the call from the recruiter with a job offer and a salary bigger than what they were initially willing to pay. Looks like they liked me.

Well, I liked them too. I also liked that they are close to home and I can do my 40 hours in 4 days, leaving me 3 days long weekends. So still plenty of time for my daily online activities. I’m not too sure about 6am start though! That will be a challenge.

I haven’t said yes yet, as I still have 1 or 2 companies to see for interviews, but whichever one I will decide upon one thing is sure… My daily life is about to change in a big way. Wish me luck guys. I’m gonna need it to survive this madness called job 😅

Until next time 💙

21
$ 19.70
$ 19.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 14
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Comments

Hey so your degree is related to engineering? What specific course? If you don't mind haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hey, sorry for late reply! My degree is in Maths. I somehow fallen into work in engineering and it stayed that way 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations!!! May you finally find a nice working environment for you!!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I actually managed to find a nice place for myself. I wrote all about it in my todays article 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great! So glad to know about that!:)))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is the problem, that many times we think that money will solve all our problems when in reality it can generate more problems for us, sometimes earning more is spending more when it is not managed.the money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While that’s also true, without money we can not do anything. We all need a place to live in and food to eat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of people wants to be self employed and they feel like they are a prisoner of their company and different jobs, I hope we will find the right permanent job for all of us one day @fantagira

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I loved being self employed, but I wasn’t earning enough to pay all my bills. So I’ll work for a while and think of other ideas 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bills are one of the major reasons why I get up every day even though I don't feel like doing so huhu.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What a sad reality we live in. Getting up just to pay for the room we sleep in…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The decision-making is in your hands, my friend, because life has to work because it will affect the source of life's necessities. The right job is according to ability and educational background because it will make things easier even though it takes a lot of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on your work. And long work is never possible. Occasionally there is a need for long vacations to give yourself time. All the best for your work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I want just the vacations all the time haha 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations and all the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG, wish you all the best. Good Luck and fighting 💪🥳

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Ruffa 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my head I am thinking: this will be temporary and she'll be out of the corporate world again. Also, what if she decides to stay. Seems unlikely. I suppose you gotta do what you gotta do to survive. Plus there days for salsa, among other things. That should keep you sustained. All the best Fantagira

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha, the same is playing in my head… will I stay for longer this time or not? 😅 I guess time will tell. If I like the company then maybe I’ll stay for a few years, who knows?

And yes… having a job will allow me to dance more regularly 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you all the best in those time and hope you are happy too, that is all that matters innit?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely. If we’re not happy then what’s the point of anything?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, when I was young I thought working in corporate world is my dream. I grew up in the countryside so city, tall buildings attracts me. Yet after spening five years I find it tiring😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, after peaking on the other side we realise countryside is what really makes us feel alive ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True! Now I badly go back in the countryside

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck Monika..choose which one has a higher offer and of course, a better environment 😅 not a toxic one

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Think I’ll pick the one where people are nicest 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take a leap of faith and go for what you like!

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Thanks Paul 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck 🤞

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Pantera 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting development of yours. I am sad when I see or hear young people find education (school) and a good job (corporate employment) the ultimate goals of life. I always think, "You'll get disappointed". But one cannot tell them that. Or rather, one can indeed tell them, but it won't change anything and they won't believe it; it must be learned the hard way.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Totally agree. Society makes us believe this Utopia and most people follow. Like you said - it can’t be explained, it has to be experienced.

For me it is another phase that I need to get through for a few years before my soul gets squeezed so much that I will look for another way out 😅 Hopefully I learned something from it all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago