How I make noise?

55 88
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Sunday, 13th of November 2022

Let me be very unpopular here and there, for what I have to say. I am going to say it nonetheless, because I feel the need to share it. Don’t worry, it’s not all that bad or bad at all. It’s just different.

Organic growth

When new noise app was introduced I took my time to grow my account organically. Organic is how I like my food and it also applies to relationships in real and online world alike.

It’s great to have many followers, but it’s more valuable for me to have quality followers, rather than big numbers. I want to be able to interact with them in a meaningful way and as you might understand there are only so many hours in a day and with real life flowing in a nice balance the time spent on social media is limited.

Who do I follow?

When I meet nice people across the platforms I share with them the nicest platforms I participate in, because I know I will like their content. These people I follow instantly, no questions asked.

The same applies when I join new platforms. I check other people’s likes/votes/comments for example to find familiar names that I recognise from other platforms. These will be the names I will follow in first instance.

People who happen to join into other peoples comments section to draw my attention to them are in one of 2 categories:

  • First category person will comment in a meaningful way on my comment, because they have something interesting to add to the conversation or something I said made them laugh or because they recognised my face from another platform and they say 👋. This is totally welcome and I love these types of interactions. I will visit their profile and if I like it or know them already I will follow them.

  • Second category person will say ‘Follow me, because…(whatever the reason). Unless I know someone very, VERY well, you will never see this kind of comment from me anywhere. There are not many people that I know that well, so the chance is you’ll never see my comment of this sort. I’d rather message them privately. Needless to say that I do not follow people from second category. Just my preference 😇

When I have some extra time (definitely not every day) I go to explore section. I do love to meet new people, but above all, interesting people. I don’t scroll through them, smashing that ‘Follow’ button in hope that one day you’ll follow me too. I couldn’t care less! I will look through every person’s profile carefully and see if I like what I see. After 10 minutes I will probably follow 3 people. Who would they be?

  • A person who I already know from elsewhere and I know their content is valuable to me.

  • A person who posts in English. It doesn’t have to be every single post. Of course people love to interact in whatever language they feel confident the most. But if you only post in a language I don’t understand I will definitely not follow you. My time is valuable to me. I don’t wanna use translation app or website to check what you have to say. English is not my native language either. I learned it so well, because of daily practice by interaction in English and because I understand that it is internationally known language.

  • A person who posts quality content. Daily, weekly, monthly, but not every hour or two. Unless you’re attached to your phone 24/7 you can not produce a high quality content every hour or two. If you are attached to your phone 24/7 then your content is probably not so interesting to me, because you have no life 😂 When I visit noise.app I want to see as many different creators as possible in the limited time I have. People who post too often simply break that balance for me.

Who do I not follow?

Simply said it would be the opposite of who I follow, but I guess there are some exceptions here too, so I’ll list them:

  • People who post every hour or two.

  • People who post exclusively in a language I don’t understand.

  • People who’s pictures are obviously google pictures and they present them as theirs. Nothing wrong with using google pics as an illustration of what you have to say with an actual source link.

  • People who ask me to follow them.

  • People who post content I am not interested in viewing.

See? It wasn’t all that bad! Just a bit of integrity applied to everything I do.

Other remarks

Firstly, I don’t run after anybody. If we knew each other well, but suddenly you’re to popular to interact on my content as well as yours, I’ll soon remove myself from your circle. Relationship is a gentle balance of giving and receiving. If I feel the scale is tipping towards one side, I am no longer interested. There are many quality people to interact with on and offline as well as good books to read and songs to dance to 😁

Secondly, I often follow people who will never follow me back. Why?

  • Because they inspire me.

  • Because their content is THAT good.

  • Because they teach me how to be a better version of me.

  • Because I want to be exposed to the information their share and other people who they interact with.

  • Because they fascinate me.

Lastly… who follows me?

Well, clearly YOU who reads this. Whoever you are, I hope you follow me for the good reasons. Not because you hope I will follow you back 😉

Until next time 💙

26
$ 6.27
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.35 from @nomadghada
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 13
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Comments

I know I'm not very active in noise, but I'm glad that there are people who are doing well there and meeting people and interacting.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was there much more while I was on holiday. Now I just try to post at least every other day :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did not have so many patience with noise. But I am happy if it works for you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes, it does. It required a bit more work at first, but later on it flows. I like to be on a few different platforms, so I can cross post my articles and continue to grow my audience 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well this is actually quite clever. Thinking of cross posting my articles on Ecency. How you manage to be so active on so many platforms is a mystery to me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well I'm not. I'm always slacking in one, while interacting with another, so it's not perfect, but I do what I can. As for Ecency, I probably wouldn't post your articles from here there, rather the other way round. I'm still trying to find out what's the etiquette on this, as I've heard many different opinions, but what I know is that there used to be 'Exclusive' mark on our articles here, but that has changed long time ago. SO maybe it's ok to repost our articles from other sites here.

What I meant with cross posting is that I post my links to articles on Noise, Appics, Twitter and if I'm writing on a similar subject on Ecency to what I already wrote here, then I'd add the link there too, but not repost the whole article if that makes sense. 💙

$ 0.06
1 year ago

I see. I was quite not sure regarding plagiarism and originality hence I focus only on article writing here and more micro posts on ecency.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a good way of doing it. Do you include your article links in that micropost? Cause I'm sure that would be ok.

I also asked in the Terminal and guys there said that it is ok to do this, as long as it is first posted on Hive and the source link is included in the repost. Hope that helps 💙

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Very much so Monika :) ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mr. Noise, good to have you revealed that, much friends who are inorganic ends up being unproductive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't tell much about the others, cause I don't know. I can only talk about myself and my approach ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh it's really a good reflection about how to use these social platforms, in a very honest way as it should be done, right? I agree, I thought more less same things when I was on Noise cash, I grew fast with many followers but later I didn't have many likes or comments so I started to think maybe the 90% are bots or something because the real followers/friend/users who liked my content they were there always engaging with me, but after calculating really I realized many don't exist so the final number of followers is irrelevant. Content, inspiring ideas and good engagement with others are more important definitively. That was one of the reasons I gave up with Noise and for now still not much interested in the app...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, that's what I realised too. In the end you only really have time to interact with 10-20 people on a daily basis at an intimate level of knowing each other. You can maybe expand that number if you spread your attention to people every few days instead of every day. But with those who post so often you never get to others because they clutter your wall with so many updates. Ehh.. I'll just continue unfollowing some and hopefully a nice balance will be found in the end. Noise app is a nice place for interaction, but without strict rules we end up just swimming through spam 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes true, sometimes it's difficult because of the time we have, not always possible to interact with so many people so many as we would wish... Good Noise app is better, of course the problem of spam was there, but I mean other things, bad criteria to give or not freetips, i was always posting my own content, all the rules and many times I was blocked and punished and also other extraordinary users with amazing content that also they abandoned before Noise for that unfair treat that never was explained.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think everyone has experienced a dry spell at least a few times. I think it was on a cycle ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with your process. The keep following process is something I need to look at. I read a lot and a few I don't ever see on my blog. I have questioned why read and support them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. You follow people either to read their content or for them to be able to comment on your posts. I see some people winging to follow them so they can comment and then I post and the same 5-10 people always comment. What a waste of time 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I wish it was easier to find noise post on the app. Only way I have noticed is clicking on the name of someone in your messages. We can' t message everybody we want to see post from though 🤣 I guess sooner or later a search will be added

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There is also a section on the left hand side (if using website) where you can go directly to the person you want to read from, but it just takes longer this way to see all the posts you want to see. I just wanna go to my wall and scroll through interesting posts only 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Your talking about the updates section?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am I? Yes, I think so 🤣 Is that not what you wanted to find? Cause from there it's easy to msg whoever you want

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe I have to scroll awhile before I find. I'm sure many more updates will come along. Thanks for your time:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No probs. It can take a while, yes. Usually, while looking for one person I find someone else I want to read from and forget what I was looking for 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True! And I think this applies here and in any platforms too. I hope I could make some noise again... I downloaded the app and delete it again, I got lost. So, we're starting new with the new app?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The app is not available for my phone sis, so I never tried it sis. I use new noise app on my browser, just like the old one. Come join, it's only confusing at the beginning 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Checking it soon. Btw, should i need to open a new account or the old one from the old noise will do?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No sis, the one from old app won't work. You will need a new one. It's invite only, so here's my link: https://noise.app/invite/cjzlhf1w

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You definitely know how to make noise!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks David 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've learned over time to do this having joined a lot of platforms. I have to be honest, I don't follow people right away only those who I know from other platforms or personally know who I have made connections virtually already.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same for me Lee. I love the favourite option on Ecency for that reason. I add people to favourites and read a few of their post and after that decide whether to follow or not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I remember when I was new here Monika. I didn't forget when you told me that I will call you Monika. Until now, I always remember your name. You are one of my good friends here in the platform. Thank you Monika. 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Ramona. You always have a kind word for everyone and yes, your memory is great for remembering that 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I check other people’s likes/votes/comments for example to find familiar names that I recognise from other platforms

This is exactly what I do too and it's what I did when I joined the new noise app when it newly launched, but sadly I haven't been active over there for weeks because of time constraint but I'm going to start being active there again this week

Ps: you didn't add your noise app link so we (I) can follow you 😉

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Being active on multiple websites at the same time is very time consuming. If I’m more active on one then I neglect others and so on. That’s also why I wanted to write this.

My invite link is: https://noise.app/invite/cjzlhf1w

I usually post it at the bottom of every post, but sometimes I forget 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Duly noted 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

https://noise.app/Oblomov4 you are wonderful . I will try to be like you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thi is a right way to follow or subscribe our co-bloggers Ma'am. And I am agree with all you have stated above. Well, I should thank you because I am one of those whom you have followed there and likewise.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha 😂 There is no right or wrong. People with other approaches might be much more popular.

No need to thank me dear, if I follow you it’s because we connected in one way or another and because your content is good, so you thank me every day by being you 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahh!😍❤️ Still, I would love to thank you for being like that too. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You’re a sweetheart 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fair enough Fantagira! That is you being unapologetically you. We aren't trying to befriend and please everyone here. So, do as you please.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Like I said… what I have to say can make me unpopular. It’s the price I am more than willing to pay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just my kind of approach, ah relaxing I don't have to make one of mine lol.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha 😂 You’re TheGuy after all! You might have some interesting points to add to the list too I’m sure 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

one thing for sure that if we can se a good person who is, they follow you, at the same time getting enough information and interesting the way u did

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That’s true 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG i am guilty with some on thr list hahahaha. Specially I keep on posting on our language haha. 🙉🙈🙊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You do post in English too, especially here. I can always catch up with what’s up in your life by reading your articles sis 😉 There are always some exceptions to the rules 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guilty in posting 1 or 2 hours 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some people love it, so I’m sure they’ll follow 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey! Nice article! I follow you ... 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha 😂 I know you do! Plus you sponsor me. Plus you lead me where you see opportunity. Plus you make me laugh 😂

You’re the one I would follow despite you following me or interacting. Cause you’re MVP 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Much appreciated! After all that happened in 2022... inspiring people is the only thing that I have left

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not to worry, inspiring is much more valued. We’ll grow bags of other things together 😁💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago