Can laughter become a problem?

19 71
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Thursday, 29th of September 2022

Do you guys remember me saying that I got a new day job and it's all nice and dandy? Well, in many aspects it is indeed. Like the people I work with for example. They all like to have a good laugh, which makes for a nice atmosphere at work and I love that about my new workplace.

I never thought the day will come when I say it, but too much laugh can become a bit of an issue too. Especially when you ask for some things to be done and every time you're being brushed off with a joke and the matter gets swapped under the carpet. Eventually all those little grains under the carpet create a pile and someone is bound to slip and fall.

Well that happened with big bang yesterday. For 3 months I have been here I have been asking a couple of my co-workers to train me in the job I was supposed to be doing. With no effect obviously. I spent maybe half a day in total with them to show me how thing should be done and then nothing to practice it on for the next 6 weeks or so. Our financial Director is under the impression that I have already took over that part of responsibilities and I had to open her eyes last week and explain the situation.

Yesterday finally the day has come when the person that usually does this job was off on holiday during our most busy week of the month and... well, sh** hit the fun.

One of my joking co-workers came to our office and asked if I can send 2 off certain parts and I said yes, when I get the paperwork. To which he gave me another joking answer and that's when I lost the remainder of my patience and exploded. In fact there were many smaller and bigger explosions over the course of the day.

First one drew so many people into my office that even though I was fuming, I had to laugh too, because everyone is so nosy and wanted to know what was happening and the guy from the next room was also having a time of his life. The person who got the bad end of the stick yesterday was a salesman, who seems to have an opinion about literally everything and that opinion is usually 'this is sh** idea!'.

Needless to say that once I was on the go, he got some more of me at the emergency meeting called by our Director. I get hair standing up on my neck when I hear someone say 'Not being disrespectful, but...'. Usually the person starting the sentence in such a way is about to disrespect you. So I let him walk into it a bit deeper before I said 'Oh great, so just because I've only been here for 5 minutes does this mean that I know nothing? What about all those companies that I worked at where the standard we're aiming for was actually implemented and in working order?'. I didn't manage to get any further, as our Director rushed to put down the fire.

Once the meeting was over, majority of my co-workers came to say that they agreed with me and also how they enjoyed me telling him off πŸ˜‚ Today the saga continues. Once I shook some walls, people finally have something to talk about. What's even better though, is that things finally get done. I spent most of my day with my young co-worker who's job I am taking over and by the end of the day I was able to finally go through the whole procedure all by myself.

My salesman colleague even sent me a reply to an email he ignored for a week plus he's now taking seriously all my questions. We still have a good laugh at lunch though, because after all I really do like him as much as I like many other of my colleagues. As much as I love to laugh and joke, some things just have to be taken seriously and if an explosion is needed to make it happen, then so be it.

Being a little girl in engineering has never been easy, but over the years I managed to find my ways to survive in this men dominated world. Some years ago a day like yesterday would make me walk away from my workplace with a big bang or at least run away and cry in the toilet. I guess I managed to grow a thicker skin and instead I doodled for the rest of the meeting. I hear my colleagues love my doodles and want me to design a company logo next πŸ˜‚

Until next time πŸ’™

16
$ 3.05
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Erickchristianmontajes
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Comments

Laughter can become a problem, someone was saying something one day at work and I laughed and he got angry about it. She said I was mocking her

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hadd fo say whether it was justified, as I don’t know what you said to her πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A male colleague did something wrong and a female colleague corrected him and I laughed. That's just what happened

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You took that better than I would have done and dealt with it professionally. I would have gone mad and blamed everyone lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha πŸ˜‚ I did go mad, but only at one particular person 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha this is more than a little explosion and I love what you did with that guy. You were still being civil in that meeting, I would have dragged him to the toilet with my savage words πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. I'm glad you are able to get a hang of it and they know where you stand. I like to work when it's time to work and then joke when it's time for joke. There is a time and place for everything. Good one, Mo... I love you even more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was trying my best to stay civil πŸ˜… That work is too close to home and only 4 days a week, I just can’t walk away from it πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha I love that... Of course...you can't walk away from it. I'm glad you gave the guy a dose...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Enjoy your job, job became interesting when the surrounding is healthy. Healthy environment, happy life. Thats why I hate my Job now, surrounded with toxic back biter humanoids πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I had many unpleasant work places before, but this one I like, just with some exceptions that needed to be dealt with πŸ˜‰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy for you, you already had your work, its not important how hard the work is, as long as you are happy and you're in a healthy environment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's no wrong in making jokes but job should be prioritize instead of jokes 🀣 haha that's so great of you Monika for standing up for yourself, not scared to be eaten by wolves but tame them instead.. that's great way of survival haha!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Doing my best to stay afloat sis. That work is too close to home to give up on it because of one or two culprits πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriousness is important in a business, when it disappears, things don't work well. I appreciate what you do

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hey, thank you so much and welcome to my profile. I don’t think we’ve met before ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear😘😘 You shared your post on noiseapp, we meet there https://noise.app/Oblomov4

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ahh I see. I found you there now 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those doodles are great... What is wrong with laughing? It actually attracts positivity when another one laugh because of you hehe..just spread happiness Monika..don't mind the nega 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Only wrong when they laugh at me instead of doing what I tell them πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago