Start Now. Wherever You Are.

0 49
Avatar for esmeesmith
3 years ago

I remember someone once said to me.

"You are not rich yourself, How can you help other people!".

It hit me pretty badly. I realized that I have a lot of dreams but I am stuck with the chains of the day job. My dreams continue to move ahead till I touched 30s. And still I am not in position to help uplift myself. If I can't help myself how come I can help others who need it.

This is where I realized my mistake. I was just dreaming about getting rich. I was dreaming about being better programmer. I was dreaming about being better employee in the company. However to show all these years I had nothing to show to the world about it.

I had no better coded app which was written on my own. I had no saved money. I had no big job in the product based company. In short, my dreams and my actions were not in the sync. I was just dreaming and passing days ahead without taking the strong action in life.

It was my fault for not taking action. I never took the action that it takes to achieve my dreams. My thoughts were just keeping me in the dream but there was no action.

Image Credit: Unsplash

Problem with many of us is that we don't take action. We end up making choices. We end up dreaming about it. But we don't take action. And that's why what we dream and what we get are two different things in our life.

What we should do to take action and move ahead?

Start now. Take small steps.

How does that solve the problem?

We humans have lizard brain that stops us from taking any actions outside our comfort zone. I wanted to be rich before getting 30s. What did I do about it? Nothing. That consciousness stopped me from taking action. When you take small actions, you come out of that loop of the lizard brain.

How does this work?

Your small action slowly makes you come out of the comfort zone. Take example of crypto currency. You have to download the wallet first then start finding sources for earning the crypto.

Here one small action for you is downloading the wallet. If you skip this you would skip finding sources for earning crypto. So you have to form a process that moves you ahead.

Any action no matter how small if it is part of the process of your goal. You should take it. And slowly move ahead as it would only help you solve your problems. If you don't take action, you stagnate and you remain where you are.

What if I don't have a process?

If you want to make progress, you eventually would be following some process to move ahead in life. You end up making repetitive actions that eventually form a process.

You want to save 1200 in a year? Your first step is to save one dollar or whatever amount you can afford. This first step starts the momentum. And then your mental model forms a process where you aim for the 1200. And then unconscious brain takes over and your actions become part of the process to reach that goal.

If you don't have that process means your mental model is not formed towards the goal. And you don't take action in order. Instead those actions are random and keeps you in a state where you are not moving ahead and are more stagnated.

Why start small?

You start small and you focus on that small part of the job. This would lead to another small job. You move from one to another success and your mind gets addicted to the success. This all starts the domino effect which puts you in control of the situation eventually.

If you want to turn your dreams into reality. You start now. If you want to not live the life of regret and the frustration then you start now. You start and slowly move one step at a time. Just don't stop and look back and feel bad about it. Move ahead.

Don't worry about me. I will listen to Universe more now.

By moving one step at a time. I'll do just fine.

You start now. Wherever you are.

7
$ 0.27
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Anabiya
Sponsors of esmeesmith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esmeesmith
3 years ago

Comments