“Unwrapping Happiness”

6 22
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Just a few days ago, we celebrated Christmas day, the date of Jesus Christ’s birth that takes a special space in our hearts, especially to Catholics just like me. And honestly speaking it’s one of the seasons I love the most, simply because I recognize that there are so many things for me to be thankful for.

Also, I could see that humanity during this Holiday season is greater than the other days we have. I could see how other people chose to be forgiving than being resentful, grateful than making complaints, love, peace, and happiness rule above all.

How was your celebration?

Did it go well?

I hope it does. For me, my family just celebrated together in a simple dinner on Christmas eve. Annually, we always have a simple dinner on Christmas eve. Since we’re only a small family we only cook what’s enough for us to avoid wastage of food.

My father visited us a week before Christmas day and he handed me a 500-peso bill. It’s my Christmas gift from him he said. Then he asked me if what would I do with the money, I told him I’ll buy it for my little boy’s necessities (milk and diaper). He just laughed and he said it’s intended for me. But as a mom, kids matter most above anything.

As I grew older, as I get matured and have my family, I never gets excited to receive gifts unlike during my youthful years, I didn’t wish to get anything either. Of course, as years passed priorities change too. Now, what excites me is to buy gifts for the kids. Oh, I’m certainly aging!

If before I was making a wish list to Santa Claus, now I am being the Santa Claus of my kiddos.

I was too excited to see how my kids talk with to me about what presents they would like to receive. They both wanted cars as a gift, they’re boys.

So I told my husband to buy them cars since he is good at evaluating products than me, also he’s a guy so he would know definitely what our boys would love. As he was arriving home he immediately alarmed me to hide him from the kids, so I brought the kids to my cousin’s house so he could hide the items freely at home.

On December 23, as soon as the kids fell asleep we wrapped quickly the gifts he bought for them, after we’re done wrapping, we hid the gifts somewhere the kids wouldn’t know.

On December 24, the most awaited night, for me, lol, I put the kids early to bed so I could put the gifts under the Christmas tree because I let the kids believe that it is where Santa Claus will place the gifts for them.

While celebrating Christmas Eve, my brother went home with his new girl. He’s been away for two months because of his place of work. I’m glad he made it this Christmas, we just enjoyed a simple dinner. My brother bought a Roasted Chicken, while my husband cooked Adobong Puti, and my mother bought a loaf of bread. While my aunt who’s our neighbor gave us a salad for dessert.

We didn’t drink soda since we’re consuming heavy meals.

It was a tiring night, so I lay down in my bed earlier too.

December 25, Christmas day, my little boy woke me up asking for milk, it was 5 in the morning, after that he didn’t get back to sleep, he just watched videos beside me in the bed. It was too early so I decided not to show him the gifts yet.

It’s past 6 am and we decided to go out of the room, at first the two boys didn’t notice what we're under the Christmas tree, but as soon as my eldest son found them he jumped out of happiness and showed what he saw to his little brother.

They were so happy that they kept on saying “thank you, Santa!”.

That laughter and joy couldn’t be measured; I know the feeling of having the thought that Santa Claus did give me a present that I longed for, just like what my boys thought too.

And what melts my heart was when my eldest hugged me and thanked me out of a sudden.

“Thank you, Mama!”

I was silenced when he uttered those words. Has he found out that Santa's just me and his dad?

I asked him, why he thanked me, then he replied,

“Thank you, because you chatted with Santa Claus to give us gifts today.”

As they one by one unwrapped their gifts, they were too innocent and pure. They excitedly play with the toy cars they received from Santa.

Aside from the gifts we bought for them, their grandparents also handed them gifts on that day. I know they might forget those moments but at least it made them so much happy on that day.

Their aunts/ uncles and some Godparents gave them Christmas presents too, they felt they were loved on that day. I’m just grateful my boys appreciated their gifts so much, and every day as soon as they wake up in the morning they will immediately play with their presents and I won’t clean them up until dusk because they were playing all day.

Here are the gifts they received:

These material things aren’t important, they aren’t considered necessary too but somehow, on Christmas day they served as instruments that brought so much joy to my kids’ milestones. As I said in my previous article/s, I also want my kids to experience the tradition that I witnessed as a kid before. And besides, their happiness matters to me the most. My Christmas would be perfect to see my family healthy and happy especially my precious little ones.

I don’t want to spoil them, they aren’t materialistic, and I don’t see this gift-giving as this, it’s the impressions and emotions that I am recognizing, that in each gift being unwrapped, comes happiness being unfolded too. We could always replenish the money we spent but the moment lasts forever.

Thanks for reading. 💖

Happy Holidays once again! Let's welcome the New Year with a blast! 💚

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

12-27-21


3
$ 3.05
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

Merry Christmas mAdam.. Same here . hndi na excited mka receive ng money gift mula sa iba..lalo nat sa iba mapupunta 😂.. Adult life haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy thanks sa upvote hehe. Merry Christmas Jane. 💚💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakin naman nag celebrate din kami ng simple pero masaya. Basta sama sama keri na yarn teheee. Ang sweet din ng mga babies mo UwU. Kala ko nalaman ni I a na ikaw nagbbgay ng gift hindj pala hahaha ang cute.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True heheh basta tlga sama sama at walang away sa pamilya the best na ang pasko nyan. ☺ Akala ko nga din eh, yun pla dahil chinat ko daw si Santa haha natawa nlng ako at natuwa at the same time. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas will always be about giving, whether it is love and union for those who do not have money. It will be gifts for those who have their savings for this date. But there are also families that have both to give, union and gifts and that is very beautiful to share at Christmas. A hug.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's indeed true. What matters most is the love and the care we shared with our loved ones and with other people on this day.☺Merry Christmas, @gertu, and to your family. 💚💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago