G6PD Deficiency in General

11 27
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

What is G6PD Deficiency?

G6PD deficiency or Favism is the most common inborn metabolic disorder. Glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase or G6PD in the blood is a very important protein that regulates various biochemical reactions in the body. The genitic abnormality that results in an inadequate amount of G6PD in the blood is what we called G6PD deficiency.

Here are the symptoms of G6PD Deficiency:

• rapid heart rate

• shortness of breath

• Dark or yellow orange urine

• fever

• fatigue

• dizziness

• paleness

• jaundice or yellowing of the skin and the whites of the eyes

There are certain foods that individuals with G6PD deficiency should avoid such as red wine, all kinds of beans, blueberries, soya products, tonic water and camphor. Also avoid come in close contact with mothballs (naphthalene).

What complications or problems can G6PD cause?

Most persons positive with G6PD deficiency are asymptomatic (not showing any symptoms). Symptomatic patients can present with neonatal jaundice and acute hemolytic anemia.

 G6PD is responsible for keeping the red blood cell healthy to function properly without enough of it red blood cells will breakdown prematurely and the early destruction of red blood cell is called hemolysis and it can eventually lead to Hemolytic Anemia.

Is G6PD deficiency curable?

Unfortunately, there is no cure for G6PD deficiency, and it is a lifelong condition. However, most people with G6PD deficiency have a completely normal life as long as they avoid the triggers.

It is important to detect early if your child has G6PD deficiency. This can be detected through Newborn Screening which is done 24 hours after the delivery of the newborn child.

I am also a mother and I thanked God my children were both negative to G6PD deficiency. To the parents who have children with G6PD deficiency I hope you can cope up with the said deficiency. Always check and consult your doctor about the condition of your children.

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago

Comments

I suggest that you send the article to a community called healthy life, look for it, and the companion is right, the article has more to do with health and does not focus on raising children as such, excuse me, it is a good article for salt .....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already submitted this to Health community and still waiting for approval. I made myself clear once again, Im sorry for sumbitting such article not related to parenting. My topic is focused more on the illness itself. Im sorry my bad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already submitted this to Health community and still waiting for approval. I made myself clear once again, Im sorry for sumbitting such article not related to parenting. My topic is focused more on the illness itself. Im sorry my bad

ok, wait for approval, do not worry, a suggestion, read the rules of each community for publications ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, Thank you. 😊 I am new here in read.cash and still on the stage of discovering. I will do my very best not to make mistakes once again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The article is very interesting, it is good that the parents know it, the deficiency of that enzyme, I suggest that the title of the article is related to the newborn, and its development as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! 😊 Parents must know this very well so they can avoid foods and drugs that triggers G6PD deficiency and thank you also for your suggestion about the title can you give me an example of a good title for this article? if you dont mind 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

G6PD deficiency in newborns, this would be the title and the development of the publication involves newborns more ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the suggestion! 😊 I will edit my article as soon as possible thanks once again.💗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You wrote a good article but it's not really the kind the community Patenting is looking for. This community is about sharing parenting life.

This illness is no part of your life as a parent. It's more a medical article that should be submitted to a community about health.

If your child, it mainly affects boy, has it the parents will know a few days after the birth. They know what to do and therefore this article is not informative for them. The child is born with this genetic disease it will not show up out of the blue at a certain age or after an accident or contacts with others.

🍀👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry if I made mistakes submitting article that is not related to parenting as you've said but still thank you for your kind words. 😊 I must think of infos related to parenting more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't worry about that. You wrote something good and now you know what is expected. You can find a community about health for this one. If you like you can write for parenting about the blood tests done after birt with your child(ten). Which tests, why, how you felt, etc. In that one you can leave the link to this post and promote ot. 🍀👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago