A Journey to Self-Worth: There is No Youer than You

0 28
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

These days, how often do you check yourself's state? Did you always give yourself a break from stress, or give applause after doing well?

No matter how hectic your schedule is, and no matter how you chase your goals and dreams, never forget to check yourself. If you know you are being too much, take a pause. If you know you did well, give yourself a little appreciation. Those are just simple but it matters a lot.

As we grow older, we meet people with different views on life. Some may or may not understand us and sometimes they will evaluate us as a person. But no matter how they define you, that shouldn't matter, how you define yourself matters most.

In this world, we are born imperfectly, we are full of imperfections, we have our weaknesses but despite the weaknesses, we have our strengths, and to recognize that we need to know ourselves better first. You should've known yourself better than the others.

Do you know Squidward in Spongebob Square Pants? He loves being alone and distances himself to whichever or whoever he finds annoying or could ruin his mood, slowly, as I grow older, I understand and could relate myself to him. 😅

Kidding aside, just like any teen, before during my youthful days, I failed to value my worth as a person. I easily get hurt whenever I heard something bad about myself, especially what others said to me that isn't true. I am easily controlled and manipulated by others, and believe them for their lies.

And I recognize, I have bad self-esteem.

When others talked about me behind my back, I felt being stabbed, and it affects me truly hard. I even look down at myself and sometimes cry alone in my room. I am very emotional about the judgment of others about me, that I forgot I should have known myself better than they do.

As years passed and as I get matured enough, realizations hit me hard, that opinions of other people shouldn't be big deal, after all, they only judge on what they wanted to see and can observe temporarily. I know myself better than them.

Slowly, I learned to value myself, it all began when I learned to love myself and I became aware of acknowledging the things that deserve and don't deserve me.

Self-love was my first step before, and it all started when I landed my first job when I was around different people in a place full of strangers to me. It was a fresh start, being with strangers who knew me 0% helped me to endure the process. That's the time where I recognized, I was probably just around with the right people.

Then, I cherished myself even more and gave myself rewards for some little achievements I earned. Before, I honestly have that guilty feeling whenever I am giving myself rewards because I am afraid others will judge me. So I grew up without experiencing celebrating and getting appreciation for my little achievements. So, as soon as I made little accomplishments, I have myself, to appreciate me and my simple deeds.

And as I've mentioned earlier, being surrounded by the right people helped me a lot with the process. I learned to only surround myself with supportive and positive people who understand me and accept me for being just me. Then I recognized that the people around us affect mental wellness badly, that's why always choose to be with the right persons if you truly want harmony and peace of mind.

I also became conscious of myself, of how I look, and how often checks myself's mental state. As I've shared here before, I am so thin, and I always get negative opinions from others about it. Some even made fun of me, teases me, but I am just ignoring them. But then, when I saw an opportunity to be better, I did. And for me, it's one of my best decisions made, to look after myself in the mirror. It gave me extra confidence and gave me strength as well to face other people with my head held high.

And those transitions are some of the greatest decisions I made in life today. It's how we value ourselves that matters and not the opinions of other people. We are the ones who are living our lives and not them. So their words shouldn't make a difference at all, it's up to us on how to accept and comprehend what they throw out.

That's the realization I earned during my journey to self-worth.

That billion of people here on Earth and there is one and only you. If you finally acknowledged your self-worth you can easily look everyone straight in the eye. You have that armor that gives your heart and mind courage and morale others cannot see.

This article is checked in a plagiarism checker duplichecker.com

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀


3
$ 4.17
$ 4.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @NakamotoBch
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments