Relaxing massage the "New normal" way

It was a rainy afternoon from where I am. I can't really think of what to write or how should my blog look like. I can't think of any topic to talk about. Then while lying on my bed, a thought crossed my mind. I thought, why not write something that you had a first hand experienced. So I decided to have a "Relaxing massage the New Normal way".

As we all know, Covid - 19 has gotten the best of us. It has been almost 3 months when the quarantine took place and extreme lockdown was implemented to some barangays and municipalities. You might consider that this is a very difficult time in our lives. Stress is all over the place. Anxiousness and worries has been part of our daily lives. And now that quarantine period is lifted, it's time to have some relaxation.

So, I went to this place called "Hapihap SPA". In our dialect, Hapihap means to caress. This spa is just near my place so I just walked. Before I went to the place, I already had a reservation at 3:15PM MNL time. It is still raining but I managed to come on time.

Hapihap SPA

When I entered the spa, I notice that there are new signages at the door. There were advices such as "No Mask, no Entry". And reminders to maintain social distancing. So since I already have a reservation, the receptionist accommodated me right away. There is also plastic shields over the counter and the receptionist is required to wear a face mask. Also, I was asked to fill out a form for contact tracing.

The session started by the massage therapist washing my feet. As a new protocol, it is also a new normal to wash my hands often so she also ask me to wash my hands. After that, I went to the room where the massage will take place. As normal, she gave me time to set up and lay on the bed faced down. I told myself, I ain't gonna sleep just yet because I need to feel this massage.

The message therapist asked me what level of pressure would I like to get. I have 3 options. Soft, moderate, or hard massage. I can't select really so I told her, moderate to hard massage. As normal she put an aroma oil below the bed that made me feel more relax. So she started on my feet, then buttocks, back and arms and lastly my head. Usually, there is also a face massage that I like the most but as the "new normal" the therapist told me that they don't do face massage for the meantime. I was a bit saddened by that because for me that was the most relaxing part of the massage.

Anyway, I wasn't able to stop myself from sleeping so while she was massaging my head, I fell asleep until my time's up. I woke up and dressed myself. Then the massage therapist came in again and gave me a hot lemonade. This is also one of my favorite when having a massage.

This is a lemonade and honey tea. I do not know how to make the picture upright so sorry for this.

Furthermore, they had a price increase which I think is just fair because they can only operate at a limited time and it has been 3 months too that they don't have any earnings. The massage normally ranges only from $5 to $8 USD before but as the new normal it is now ranging from $7 to $12 USD. Anyway, I really like the massage therapist treatment of me so I tipped her $1 USD. I told her that when I come back to have a massage, I'll look for her.

I had a very relaxing afternoon indeed. For 90 minutes I forgot how stressful life is. I think all of us deserves to be pampered once in a while. Though not all can afford. Specially with the expected price increases. But I really suggest that you should find time to relax and recharge yourself to be able to put a fight against all the stresses in life. We can all make it and be used to a lot of "new normal" ways.

Enjoy your day!

:) ellimacandrea

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ellimacandrea
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It feels great if I can relax in that place, I feel like I am there and getting a massage now. hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi. Thanks for visiting my article. I think we al deserve to have a little time to relax. Especially now that it's pandemic. We might get a lot of stress because of it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow hapihap. napaka relax tingnan. so.dapat naka mask.pa rin pag nagmamasahe?hehe..sulit naman yong bayad maam?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sulit na sulit sir. Talaga namang na relax ako. Hindi naman ako naka mask. Kasi hirap kaya huminga. Hahaha. Pero relax tlg.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha.. akala ko.naka.mask pa rin c ate at may mask ka pa.rin.buti naman nag bukas.na.sila. saan ba yan maam?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naka MGCQ na po kasi kami dito sa Camarines sur. Kaya open na halos lahat. Pero yun may mga new normal na na dapat sundin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sarap naman nyan very rwlaxing talaga sa pakiramdam pag namasahe ka talagang ang gaan nag pakiramdam lalo na kung magaling nagmamasahe,napapamasahe lang kasi ako pag may lamig yung likod ko hahahaha....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Minsan lang din to. Ang tagal din kasi ng 3 months diba. Last year pa yata last kong pa massage. Nkaka relax talaga. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice naman, mapapa sana all ka nalang haha. gusto ko din lumabas at makapag relax pero hirap parin dito samin

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ace
3 years ago

Hmmm. Kung GCQ pa kayo medyo strict pa nga yan. Hayaan mo at lilipas din yan soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I liked about this post is you wrote clearly how it all works. I never visited a SPA or had a massage. I wonder why they raised the price. It's still too much money for me but it's good to read it makes you feel better. I wonder if the therapist wears a mask too or only visitors do. You do not need to direct hand before or right after you enter the entrance? That would make more sense to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad that you liked this. Yeah I felt better after the massage. I think the last time I had a massage was last year so I tried it since they just opened again. The therapist wears a mask too. If you check the second photo while she was washing my feet she's wearing a mask.

$ 0.00
3 years ago